Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2018, 03:13 PM
Ray Lyon Ray Lyon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Waynesville, NC
Posts: 714
Default Falcon UVI vs NI Komplete

Which of these sampler based VI's make better use of Pro Tools resources and RAM? Does anyone have experience with both?
__________________
Ray Lyon on Facebook
www.raylyon.com

• Mac Pro 5,1 flashed 2009 model 4,1
• 12-core 2.93ghz "Westmere", 64 GB RAM
• OS 10.12.6 Sierra, PT 2018.12
• One plug-in too many, but I really like FabFilter Pro-Q 3
• Avid HDX, 192 I/O "Blue" legacy interface
• Avid MIDI I/O, Avid Command|8
• 256GB SSD, (2) 2TB ext. drive
• NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2048 MB
• Samsung 34" SE790C display (3440x1440), Acer 23" A231H Display
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2018, 03:36 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,076
Default Re: Falcon UVI vs NI Komplete

Have both and my vote is for Kontakt if you are looking for a sample player but Falcon is something more and have soo much tweakability compared to Kontakt so I would use both for different things.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#Nothing Breaks Like a Heart

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2018, 05:47 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,242
Default Re: Falcon UVI vs NI Komplete

That’s not his question though. He wants to know which handles resources better so, efficiency.

Haven’t really had a chance to play much with Falcon, but the code base is newer so maybe it’s more efficient?

Hopefully someone who has been using both platforms for a while can comment on this as I’d be interested to know as well.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2018, 05:47 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,503
Default Re: Falcon UVI vs NI Komplete

Being a now ex-member of the Motunation forum when I was there I read a lot of stuff about Falcon. Upshot is it isn't all that much more efficient at spreading the workload amongst cpu cores than Kontakt. The reason Falcon got/gets a lot of notice over there is that MOTU Mach Five is written by UVI and is essentially the same code with a different gui. And that MOTU has made Mach Five abandonware some of those who used it have moved over to Falcon because it can read the Mach Five expansions.

So Falcon in one form or another has been around for quite some time.

Falcon's one issue is that there's precious little third party support like Kontakt has so if that's important I suggest taking that into account. If you like to create instruments then Falcon is your program. Also keep in mind that Falcon doesn't have a demo version; I'm speaking the Falcon that you can buy from UVI. That's significant because of the expense of the program which is $349 US versus $399 for Kontakt 6.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2018, 04:08 AM
ibbod0 ibbod0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 36
Default Re: Falcon UVI vs NI Komplete

I don't really think this is a practical measurement in any way but my friend was trying to see how many blank instances of Kontakt pro tools could handle and I thought it was fun (=I saw it as a challenge :P) so i joined in too. got to about 128 instances before it was using all my ram so i stopped.

Falcon on the other hand is so lightweight and only uses the resources it needs. I easily got to 1024 instances and seemed like it could keep going to 2000-3000 instances without batting an eye.

Again these are empty so it's kind of a pointless test, but still, the conclusion I got out of this is Falcon is very efficient. I've never been happy with Kontakt's performance in Pro Tools when comparing directly to other DAWs.
__________________
Gigabyte Z97X-UD7 TH / Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.00GHz / G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB / Samsung 850 Pro 128GB SSD / WD Blue 1TB HDDs / Audient iD14 / running Pro Tools 2018.7 on Windows 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: NI Maschine (software), Komplete 8 Crossgrade, Komplete 9 Update apesong Buy & Sell 0 05-01-2018 07:17 PM
Falcon - New VI from UVI DonaldM Virtual Instruments 3 11-09-2015 07:45 AM
Problems upgrading Komplete 8 to Komplete 10 Ultimate in Pro Tools 10.3.9 Freddysdead Pro Tools 10 17 02-12-2015 02:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com