Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2020, 01:42 PM
jglunt2112 jglunt2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Simon, AZ
Posts: 158
Default Backwards

I have a situation that is backwards from anything else I've ever heard of. I'm using Pro Tools 12.5 on a Windows 10 computer. I've used this same system with minor upgrades for about 4 years. I took most of December off in the studio, and now that I'm back, I discover that I have audio in Pro Tools but nowhere else. No itunes, no Windows Media Player, no YouTube. Not a peep out of anything except Pro Tools. All of my audio runs through my USB audio interface (a Behringer U-Phoria UMC 1820), so if I hear Pro Tools, I should hear everything, but I don't. Though I took December off in the studio, I did drop in to check out a few things, grab an instrument for a gig, that kind of stuff, but as near as I remember, I didn't do anything to the computer except to maybe turn it on to listen to something on itunes while I did some other work. It worked right then, but not now, Any ideas? (A current Sandra Report is attached). Thanks.
Jim
SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : TheTreeRecordingStudio
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : GigaByte
Serial Number : To be fille***********
Chassis : GigaByte Desktop
Mainboard : GigaByte B75M-D3H
Serial Number : To be fille***********
BIOS : AMI (OEM) F13g 11/21/2012
Intel vPro : 8.1.2.1318
Total Memory : 16GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz (4C 8T 3.79GHz, 3.8GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 8MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1155

Chipset
Memory Controller : Gigabyte Core3 (Ivy Bridge) DRAM Controller 100MHz, 2x 8GB DIMM DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-1600C9-8GXM 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-1600C9-8GXM 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Hewlett Packard HP LV2311
(1920x1080, 23.1")
Monitor/Panel : Hewlett Packard HP LV2311
(1920x1080, 23.1")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GT 610 (48SP SM5.5 1.62GHz/1.15GHz 40% OC, 1GB 998MHz, PCIe 2.0 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GT 610 (48SP SM5.5 1.62GHz/1.15GHz 40% OC, 1GB 998MHz, PCIe 2.0 x16)

Graphics Processor
D3D 11 : NVIDIA GeForce GT 610 (48SP 810MHz/1.15GHz, 1GB 998MHz)
OpenGL : GeForce GT 610/PCIe/SSE2 (1GB)
OpenGL : GeForce GT 610/PCIe/SSE2 (1GB)

Storage Devices
WDC WD5000AAKX-00ERMA0 (500.1GB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (G:)
Crucial CT500MX500SSD1 (500.1GB, SATA300/600, 2.5", SSD, OPAL, SED) : 466GB (C:) (D:) (F:)
Flash Disk (4GB, USB2/NVMe) : 4GB (J:)
TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-224BB (416.5MB, SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 397MB (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
Onboard Data (G:) : 466GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD5000AAKX-00ERMA0 (500.1GB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
System (F:) : 230MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Crucial CT500MX500SSD1 (500.1GB, SATA300/600, 2.5", SSD, OPAL, SED)
WAVES USB (J:) : 2GB (FAT, 32kB) @ Flash Disk (4GB, USB2/NVMe)
Windows (C:) : 464GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Crucial CT500MX500SSD1 (500.1GB, SATA300/600, 2.5", SSD, OPAL, SED)
Hard Disk (D:) : 857MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Crucial CT500MX500SSD1 (500.1GB, SATA300/600, 2.5", SSD, OPAL, SED)
Audio CD (E:) : N/A (CDFS, 2kB, Read-Only) @ TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-224BB (416.5MB, SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller #1 : Gigabyte Panther Point LPC Controller
LPC Legacy Controller #1 : ITE IT8728F
Audio Device : Gigabyte Panther Point High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Audio Device : MSI HDMI Audio stub
Audio Codec : nVidia 001C
Serial Port(s) : 1
Parallel Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : Gigabyte Panther Point 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Gigabyte Panther Point 2 port SATA IDE Controller
USB Controller #1 : Gigabyte Panther Point USB xHCI Host Controller
USB Controller #2 : Gigabyte Panther Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller #3 : Gigabyte Panther Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
SMBus/i2c Controller #1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft Software Printer Driver (300x300, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer v4 (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft Print To PDF (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Peripherals
Media Player : USB Flash Disk (1.87GB)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GbE Family Controller (Ethernet, 100Mbps)
Wireless Adapter : Realtek 8812AU Wireless LAN 802.11ac USB NIC

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 10 Personal 10.0.18363
Platform Compliance : x64
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2020, 02:30 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,391
Default Re: Backwards

Its almost always best on a Windows-based setup to NOT let Windows use the audio interface for playback. Instead, go to Sound Properties and set Windows to use the on-board audio as its "Default Playback Device". That way, Pro Tools has total control over the interface for setting sample rate. There are many ways to get non-PT audio out thru your speakers(but usually, getting Pro Tools working is the priority). Once Pro Tools is working properly, here are a few options for all other audio:

1-use a monitor/source selector(like Presonus Central Station, Audient NERO, Mackie Big Knob, etc) and feed SPDIF or mini-TRS from the computer's on-board audio.
2-route both the interface outputs(for Pro Tools) and the computer's sound card outputs thru a baby mixer(as available from Behringer, Alto, Alesis, etc)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2020, 01:54 PM
jglunt2112 jglunt2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Simon, AZ
Posts: 158
Default Re: Backwards

This worked like a charm. I used a JBL M-patch Active to route the signals and it's much better. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backwards Compatibility kloqwyse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-28-2010 05:11 PM
Backwards compatible nickster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-25-2006 09:09 AM
backwards EQ?? garret Post - Surround - Video 13 11-18-2005 12:37 AM
ProTools with OSX-- Are we going backwards?? Mt.Everest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 174 04-02-2005 02:58 PM
backwards tracks jas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 03-02-2005 11:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com