Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2013, 07:02 AM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Slow Startup with Microsoft Security Fix

IF PT takes a loooong time to load and you are using Microsoft Security Essentials excluding the plugin files types and/or the PT folders may fix it.
The attached photo shoes the plugin exclusions for PT10 native, the folder settings are just above in the photo.
Attached Images
File Type: png mse fix.PNG (84.2 KB, 30 views)
__________________
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is." - Yogi Berra
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2013, 11:24 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Slow Startup with Microsoft Security Fix

Is it advisable, also exclude any Avid/Digidesign/ProTools - Folder in the settings for "Excluded files and locations" ?

And also exclude file type ".ptx" ?

And also exclude "Pro Tools.exe" in "Excluded processes ?
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2013, 12:24 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,237
Default Re: Slow Startup with Microsoft Security Fix

You shouldn't be needing to run any antivirus or security stuff on a studio computer as such machines shouldn't be running full time, or at all really, on the net.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2013, 01:25 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,702
Default Re: Slow Startup with Microsoft Security Fix

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
You shouldn't be needing to run any antivirus or security stuff on a studio computer as such machines shouldn't be running full time, or at all really, on the net.
Maybe back in the day, but now I couldn't do what I do by having to switch computers when I need to upload a mix or video, or buy a new plugin and need to download it.

More and more things are being moved to the cloud, even PT has an option to send a bounce to Gobbler, you need to be connected to the interwebs to do that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2013, 01:33 PM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: Slow Startup with Microsoft Security Fix

Quote:
Originally Posted by joachim View Post
Is it advisable, also exclude any Avid/Digidesign/ProTools - Folder in the settings for "Excluded files and locations" ?

And also exclude file type ".ptx" ?

And also exclude "Pro Tools.exe" in "Excluded processes ?
My computer worked fine after just excluding the plugins.
Excluding other items made no difference, but your mileage may vary.
__________________
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is." - Yogi Berra
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2013, 04:43 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,237
Default Re: Slow Startup with Microsoft Security Fix

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Maybe back in the day, but now I couldn't do what I do by having to switch computers when I need to upload a mix or video, or buy a new plugin and need to download it.

More and more things are being moved to the cloud, even PT has an option to send a bounce to Gobbler, you need to be connected to the interwebs to do that.
Personally I don't give a darn about putting stuff on the cloud. Just because it's possible is no reason to do it and I don't trust anything on the cloud.

As to your first scenario I use a little known/used thing as sneaker-netting. Files under 250 meg I drop on a zip drive disk and that moves to my internet computer. Larger files I just connect the external drive on my iMac that has the files to my internet Mac and let fly from there. That way I don't have to sweat putting my music machine on the net. Same thing can be done with a Windows machine. Small price to pay for safety. Remember to practice safe hex. Just so happens my internet machine and studio machines sit across from each other.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow startup / Slow opening sessions MrSoliman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-21-2018 12:45 AM
PT 10 HD startup slow Boe Larsen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 10-24-2011 06:19 AM
8.0.3 Slow Startup brandonertman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-15-2010 10:40 PM
Slow startup bigbadhenchman Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 01-21-2006 05:32 PM
Microsoft Security Bulletin MS02-032 Slim Shady 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-28-2002 05:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com