Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 06-21-2010, 06:13 PM

Default MIDI playback is only staccato note attack

I am relatively new to working with MIDI, so this could be a simple fix, but I have encountered a problem when writing MIDI to ProTools from an external keyboard: The recorded MIDI notes show the full and proper duration they were held down for, yet when I play them back, only the initial attack is played in the form of a quick staccato note and the rest of the duration of the note is silence.

This happens when played through any virtual instrument or setting i have tried (it is not as a result of any ADSR setting on the virtual instrument.) I have also tried writing the same MIDI data from two separate keyboards (Hammond XB-2 and a Yamaha Portatone), both of which produced the same problem (MIDI notes which display as the proper length, but only play back as a staccato attack with no duration to the note.)

I have found that I can make the note duration play properly only by using the trimmer tool to trim back the audio, which reveals an attack note function beneath the full note. If i delete this attack note and slide the duration of the note back to its original location, the note will now play properly in full duration. This is a very tedious task however and I feel like there has to be a simpler solution to get the MIDI to play back the full notes as displayed on the screen.

I am running ProTools 8.0.3 and using an Mbox Pro as my interface.

Thank you,
Kevin
Old 06-21-2010, 07:36 PM

Default Re: MIDI playback is only staccato note attack