Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2012, 01:31 PM
simonyeah simonyeah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 94
Default Monitoring input and track during playback

Hi,
I record vo very often and always faced to a problem: the talent record a track and then wants to listen what he just did, but when I playback, very often, he says things that I cannot monitor as the track is playing and therefore the input is not available.
Is there s a way to achieve this : monitor both the input and the content of a track when playing back?
Thxs in advance
Simon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2012, 01:45 PM
Henchman Henchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Encino, CA
Posts: 865
Default Re: Monitoring input and track during playback

Create an auxiliary input that is also being fed by the mic. Mute that when you record, unmute on playback.
__________________
www.markhensley.tv
IMDB Credit List

Living the dream.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2012, 01:46 PM
tj_davies tj_davies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,219
Default Re: Monitoring input and track during playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by simonyeah View Post
Hi,
I record vo very often and always faced to a problem: the talent record a track and then wants to listen what he just did, but when I playback, very often, he says things that I cannot monitor as the track is playing and therefore the input is not available.
Is there s a way to achieve this : monitor both the input and the content of a track when playing back?
Thxs in advance
Simon
I always habe two tracks when I record vo. First track named "first name.01", the second track right underneath named "sur name.01". Before the vo comes I make sure I have plenty of playlists for the surname track and maybe about 8 for the firstname track.

I record the vo to the surname track, each take a playlist. This track stays Input only throughout the recording time. Whenever the vo or client want to hear a take I pull it up to the first name track. For the next recording I change the first name playlist to .02. This way, I can keep track which takes have been listened to. And I can edit vocal takes straight away during recording, without having to change the input monitoring mode. Punching in is easy as well, as the playback take doesn't sit on the record-armed track. So I don't have to change the recording mode.
Hope this helps,
Timothy
__________________
G5 10.8.5
PT 10.3.9 HD2
www.pearls-music.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2012, 01:50 PM
Dan Smith's Avatar
Dan Smith Dan Smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 115
Default Re: Monitoring input and track during playback

Lots of ways to do this. Here is one. Instead of using his mic as the input to the recording audio track, bring it into Pro Tools on an Aux Input. Then send it to the recording audio track pre-fade. I'll usually keep the Aux muted until I need to playback and hear like (like in the scenario you are describing) Hope this helps. Good Luck
__________________
Dan Smith
Re-Recording Mixer - Warner Brothers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2012, 02:06 PM
simonyeah simonyeah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 94
Default

Great thanks for your tips.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2012, 03:07 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Monitoring input and track during playback

http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home...ng-issues.html

and a pulg for doing automatically
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Track Input monitoring!? realizment macOS 9 11-04-2013 01:51 AM
Input Monitoring: What if you ONLY want to hear playback? EricWillhelm Pro Tools 10 2 10-21-2011 11:05 AM
Playback engine & Input monitoring Stig Eliassen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 12-19-2010 01:24 PM
Monitoring your input during playback with DIGI002 stevethrewup 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-15-2007 04:08 PM
monitoring input with playback brothers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-14-2001 10:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com