Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2020, 03:06 PM
Songster Songster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Posts: 26
Default Digi 003 and 3rd Gen Focusrite 18i20

I'm currently using a 003 Console with Window 10 and PT- 2018 (I've been holding off upgrading the software until I have a backup plan in place) I have now purchased a Focusrite 18i20 3rd Gen and want to know if anyone has used both that and the 003 Console together? I'd like to keep using the 003 for the control surface and footswitch while using the 18i20 as an additional interface. I'm probably going to purchase a Faderport 8 or 16 at some point, but wanted to try to use what I have first. Any help is appreciated as far as setup, hookup and upgrades. The possibilities I've thought of are using the ADAT i/o, or if the 003 would act like a HUI. I imagine the I/O's are going to take some work too after the switch over. Thanks again for any help

HPZ420, Win 10, 32 gb. Dual monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2020, 10:17 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,066
Default Re: Digi 003 and 3rd Gen Focusrite 18i20

Until someone chimes in to explain how to make both work together, I'm doubtful. The only way I can see is if you can make the Focusrite send its 8 analog inputs out thru lightpipe and feed that to the 003. AFAIK, the 003 doesn't have any way to run as a HUI device(something I would have wanted for when I moved to HDN).

Future options really depend on what you really NEED from a control surface. After some fussing(owned 002 and 003 mixers for the first 8 years of Pro Tooling), all I really needed was transport buttons and a fader for adding touch-automation volume rides. I got that in the old Presonus Faderport(plus a bit more). Oddly enough, one function that turned out to be very handy is the ability to switch between MIX and EDIT windows, and Presonus left this off the new Faderport series I ended up buying another second hand Faderport(original) to get me by until I can afford an S1.

You should also look into adding Eucon on a tablet or iPad. Quite a lot of control options and I got a refurbed Fire 10 tablet off Amazon for around $80 Just use a dual-band wifi router(cheaper routers tend to drop connection too often)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
control 24 focusrite 18i20 Jazzmuzik ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 02-17-2018 06:39 PM
Focusrite 18i20 2nd Gen Shatzer Buy & Sell 1 04-03-2017 05:39 AM
Focusrite 18i20 jkeefauver Third Party Interfaces 1 06-19-2015 11:22 AM
Focusrite 18i20 won't power on. Woodybear Third Party Interfaces 3 04-03-2014 05:19 PM
Focusrite 18i20 MEWCO Third Party Interfaces 17 03-03-2014 10:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com