Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2010, 03:44 PM
beyoutofull1 beyoutofull1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 15
Default 1 interface, 1 hard drive, only ONE firewire interface?

Howdy folks,

That should read, "only ONE firewire port?" oops.

from
http://aria.digidesign.com/index.cfm...4&itemid=37251

"The late 2008 and early 2009 "unibody" MacBook Pro models have a FireWire 800 port, and no longer have a FireWire 400 port:

The FireWire 800 port on these computers is backwards compatible* with FireWire 400 devices, but requires one of the following configuration options:

1) FW800 port —> FW800 Drive (912 or 924 chipset) —> Out FW400 port on Drive —> Pro Tools LE FireWire audio interface

2) FW800 port —> FW800 to FW400 converter cable —> FW400 Drive (911 chipset) —> Multiple FW400 Drives (911 chipset) as needed for maximum track count —> Pro Tools LE FireWire audio interface"



Then, if you have a single firewire port on your laptop, you can run both the interface and the recording drive through it without issue?


This would be awesome. Otherwise I'll have to get a laptop with a firewire port and an express card 34 slot.

Thanks Gangstas,
Brian

Last edited by beyoutofull1; 02-23-2010 at 08:59 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2010, 06:25 PM
Kevin Windrem Kevin Windrem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Grass Valley, CA, USA
Posts: 76
Default Re: 1 interface, 1 hard drive, only ONE firewire interface?

I have a single FireWire port on both my iMac and Gateway laptop and have discovered stable connections for both a drive and M-Audio ProFire 2626 interface. It does take some experimentation to find a stable connection order and it may not be the same on all computers.

On the iMac, I connect the FW800 port to a FW800 drive (OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro) (Oxford 924 chipset) via FW800 (9-pin) cable, then on to the ProFire via FW400 (6-pin) cable. I get 800 Mb/s speeds to the drive this way. (Connecting to the interface first did not provide a stable connection.)

The PC has a 4-pin FW400 port. A stable connection required connecting to the ProFire interface first, then on to the drive via 6-pin ports on both devices. (Connecting to the drive first (via 4-pin to 9-pin cable) would not provide a stable disk or interface connection.)

Others have reported other connection schemes necessary to provide stable connections.
__________________
Kevin Windrem
Sweet Spot Sound
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2010, 06:37 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: 1 interface, 1 hard drive, only ONE firewire interface?

Quote:
Originally Posted by beyoutofull1 View Post
Howdy folks,

That should read, "only ONE firewire port?" oops.

from
http://aria.digidesign.com/index.cfm...4&itemid=37251

"The late 2008 and early 2009 "unibody" MacBook Pro models have a FireWire 800 port, and no longer have a FireWire 400 port:

The FireWire 800 port on these computers is backwards compatible* with FireWire 400 devices, but requires one of the following configuration options:

1) FW800 port —> FW800 Drive (912 or 924 chipset) —> Out FW400 port on Drive —> Pro Tools LE FireWire audio interface

2) FW800 port —> FW800 to FW400 converter cable —> FW400 Drive (911 chipset) —> Multiple FW400 Drives (911 chipset) as needed for maximum track count —> Pro Tools LE FireWire audio interface"



Then, if you have a single firewire port on your laptop, you can run both the interface and the recording drive through it without issue?


This would be awesome. Otherwise I'll have to get a laptop with a firewire port and an express card 34 slot.

Thanks Gangstas,
Brian
You should be able to daisychain multiple FW devices as described
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2010, 08:38 AM
Wavelabs Wavelabs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: On The Moon
Posts: 267
Default Re: 1 interface, 1 hard drive, only ONE firewire interface?

IMHO - I believe that every company should due away with Firewire-400
and just strictly be Firewire-800 connection only.

They should not even sell any 400's at all.
should be taken off the shelf and thrown away.

As the OP said, FW-800 is backwards compatible anyways.
and 10x better connection anyways,
Plus people would gain faster speeds with FW-800 connections anyways on top of that.

FireWire 400 (IEEE 1394a) 400 Mbit/sec
FireWire 800 (IEEE 1394b) 800 Mbit/sec

Many companies doing these FW devices that still use Firewire-400 connections,
is just mind blowing and I just still can't believe it that they are still using the 400 version.

Its like they dont want to move forward or something.
All the FW-400 should be obsolete completely.

It takes the world so damn long to move forward, its just incredible.....

Thats my little rant and 3cents.


.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 940 w/ CoolerMaster V8 Cooler - GigaByte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P - ATI Radeon 6850x2 (x2) - Win7 x64-bit - AMS Venus-T5 with 1-TB x5 Drives
Kingston Hyper-X DDR3-1066 2gig x4 (8gig Ram) - WD SATA VelociRaptor 300 (x4) - XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX - Groove Tubes GT-66 & 55 Microphones - BBE 422-A - Aphex 104 C2
Vantec MRK250ST w/ Win7 x64-bit (HotSwaped for ProTools v8.0.4 Unit) - Acer v223w (x2) LCD Screens - Events 20/20 - Avantones - Mackie HR824 - AKG P220 - HS50m's
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2010, 01:16 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,035
Default Re: 1 interface, 1 hard drive, only ONE firewire interface?

I don't disagree about FW800 but the current bottleneck now for audio streaming is the hard drive. When we get to using SSDs things will likely have to change some.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-22-2010, 05:08 PM
sdevino sdevino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derry, NH USA
Posts: 410
Default Re: 1 interface, 1 hard drive, only ONE firewire interface?

Keep in mind that if you have a firewire interface, it can control the and manage the audio flow over the firewirebus. In other words the computer's clocking and data management are controlled by the FW interface actually the computer just caches the audio samples to the FW interface and it manages all the clocking).

So with CoreAudio FW interfaces it makes sense to use the USB2 for your external audio storage and retrieval. This frees up the FW capacity for multiple audio interfaces running at high sample rates and eliminates leaves data caching to the CPU and drive.

Those of us using high end FW devices with other non PT DAWs in the past have learned this. Now you can do the same thing with PT9.
__________________
Steve Devino
Granite Rocks Live
Authorized Metric Halo Dealer
1-603-867-6843
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you run an interface, and an external hard drive through one firewire port? beyoutofull1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 7 03-11-2010 09:52 AM
cannot chain my firewire drive through my interface Chris98 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 9 12-23-2009 10:57 AM
Daisy chain Interface and hard drive??? mutley Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 09-20-2009 08:40 PM
Firewire vs USB interface Jeff E Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 08-12-2008 07:16 AM
firewire interface kav 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-01-2004 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com