Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2009, 12:44 AM
Mt.Everest Mt.Everest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,154
Default Quick question about Mix Window group colors

Hello,

I tried a quick search but couldn't find the answer -

Which is the first version of PT HD that has the option to have the full channel-strip in the mix window reflect your group colors?

Like when you make a drum group, the version Im running now 7.4cs10, only colors the little strips at the bottom of the mix window. But at another session running another version of 7.4.x the entire channel in that group was colored as well.

Anyone know off hand which version that is?

Thanks!
__________________
PT|HD4 Accel PCIx w Magma Chassis & 192 I/O
PT HD 9.0.5 - Mac Pro 8-Core 2.4Ghz Westmere 10.6.8
PT|HD 9.0.5 - MacMini Core-Duo, 10.6.8 - ProFire 2626
•••DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE•••
•Use & Trust ø Cancellation!•
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2009, 12:49 AM
Mt.Everest Mt.Everest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,154
Default Re: Quick question about Mix Window group colors

Oh wait, I just did a google search and found this:

To apply the colors of the tracks' (PT 7.3) small color bars to the entire length of the channel strips, hold Ctrl + Start + Alt (Ctrl + Option + Command) as you click on any color in the palette, and drag upward until you achieve the desired intensity.

Is this the only way? I thought I remembered it being a default preference you could choose in the Display Prefs page. But I dont see any choice to select to " always color mix window tracks to reflect your group color " sort of thing.

What am I missing?
__________________
PT|HD4 Accel PCIx w Magma Chassis & 192 I/O
PT HD 9.0.5 - Mac Pro 8-Core 2.4Ghz Westmere 10.6.8
PT|HD 9.0.5 - MacMini Core-Duo, 10.6.8 - ProFire 2626
•••DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE•••
•Use & Trust ø Cancellation!•
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2009, 09:27 AM
Sean Russell Sean Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: Quick question about Mix Window group colors

You got it.

It is PT8 that has the brightness/saturation on/off and sliders in the Color Pallette.
__________________
... but does it help the chorus?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2009, 03:29 PM
Mt.Everest Mt.Everest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,154
Default Re: Quick question about Mix Window group colors

So you're saying that PT8 only, has the slider/saturation thing - But what about just the basic coloring option that Ive seen in PT 7.4.x ?

Is there a global pref that Im missing on the Display page to have the mixer channels reflect the group color?

Thanks!
__________________
PT|HD4 Accel PCIx w Magma Chassis & 192 I/O
PT HD 9.0.5 - Mac Pro 8-Core 2.4Ghz Westmere 10.6.8
PT|HD 9.0.5 - MacMini Core-Duo, 10.6.8 - ProFire 2626
•••DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE•••
•Use & Trust ø Cancellation!•
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2009, 08:27 PM
Sean Russell Sean Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: Quick question about Mix Window group colors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mt.Everest View Post
So you're saying that PT8 only, has the slider/saturation thing - But what about just the basic coloring option that Ive seen in PT 7.4.x ?

Is there a global pref that Im missing on the Display page to have the mixer channels reflect the group color?

Thanks!
There is a color pref in the preferences - but that's a global on/off. From 7.3.1 to 7.4, you use the 'hidden' key combo/drag up or down together more saturation. In 8, they've included sliders and the on/off button directly to the Color Palette.
__________________
... but does it help the chorus?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 7.4 buggy graphics with track/group colors. Culprit? Mt.Everest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-31-2009 05:31 AM
AUDIO window question.. group files via Folders? schpilkas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-03-2006 12:48 AM
quick stupid question...how do you change colors?? ejsongs Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-14-2005 08:45 AM
Quick question about PTLE's editting window... GapeOne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-03-2003 03:21 PM
Enlarging a track in the Edit Window...Quick question Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-03-2001 10:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com