Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-10-2014, 10:12 AM
johnsimmons johnsimmons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Londinium
Posts: 272
Default Re: HDX Latency

Note i've had tracking weirdness when ADC is off but the ADC delay is still anything other than OFF (in PT10).

Also drag the track you are recording on to the top of the session, see if you have same problems - i have had latency on sessions on HDX and also native (with low latency monitoring) where this has helped.... crazy I know
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-10-2014, 10:57 AM
PhilSchroeder's Avatar
PhilSchroeder PhilSchroeder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 84
Default Re: HDX Latency

I was able to duplicate the problem in PT10, so I think it's a hardware issue. Different version, different system drive, same issue.

I'll try dragging the track to the top of the session, 'cause if that works, it might point to something (but what?). It's not optimal, of course.
__________________
MacPro 2013, 12 core, 48G RAM
OS 10.14.4
Apollo x6 & Twin
Pro Tools 2019.5 (buggy!)
Avid Artist Mix
Studio One 4.5
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-10-2014, 11:14 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,893
Default Re: HDX Latency

I have this HDX/ADC issue as well.

I have also noticed it if I duplicate a track and then try to record on it.

Restarting PT usually solves it.

There are also times when the pre-roll section is very out of sync but it's fine in record.

I have pushed this up the chain of command.

I'm still trying to sort out a an acceptable workaround.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-10-2014, 12:56 PM
PhilSchroeder's Avatar
PhilSchroeder PhilSchroeder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 84
Default Re: HDX Latency

So Tom, someone "in there" knows about this?

(Do they happen to know where the missing 777 is too?)
__________________
MacPro 2013, 12 core, 48G RAM
OS 10.14.4
Apollo x6 & Twin
Pro Tools 2019.5 (buggy!)
Avid Artist Mix
Studio One 4.5
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-10-2014, 02:57 PM
johnsimmons johnsimmons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Londinium
Posts: 272
Default Re: HDX Latency

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
I have this HDX/ADC issue as well.

I have also noticed it if I duplicate a track and then try to record on it.

This is also a part of my general workflow. I've never been able to create a session where I can reproduce this problem every time annoyingly. It's generally a) big mix or VI/tracking sessions with overdubs b) not having delay compensation set to off on the Engine AND the delay comp tick ie: recording into an exisiting mix session c) duping my vocalling (empty) track for next takes...

EDIT: btw I really think there should be some easy access bug reporting email/form that doesn't involve ideascale or Avid support cases. and yes I submit all my Avid crash data via Pt11... there's plenty of that as well.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-11-2014, 06:58 AM
Meccanizm Meccanizm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 17
Default Re: HDX Latency

Am Having Latency Issues two
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-12-2014, 05:43 AM
loosestones loosestones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 58
Default Re: HDX Latency

I have a HDX2 system and am having these issues too, mostly when doing what an above poster mentioned (duplicating existing audio tracks sans the audio to record on) For example, I'll have 2 tracks setup to record some rhythm guitars on the left side, then duplicate the tracks to record the right side.

Closing the session, then reopening fixes the issue for me, but it's such an annoying issue (that I did not have on my old TDM system)

Any word on this from the AVID guys?

HDX|2

Matt
Loose Stones Studios
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-15-2014, 07:43 AM
Kaneepa Kaneepa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 108
Default Re: HDX Latency

Same problem in my two different studios .. One HDX2 and one HDX based.
I had the same bug on HD6 too before upgrading..
Sometimes in complex sessions while recording a new track, latency goes crazy high .. My workaround is pressing two times the green input button .
This usually temporarily solves the problem and resets back the latency on the record track to zero ..Usually though a couple of takes later bug will reappear...

Please Avid investigate !
__________________
.....
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-15-2014, 09:28 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,336
Default Re: HDX Latency

First of all, check your session setup window. It will say how many samples of latency your system has. IF it's too big a number, you are using some (perhaps just one) plugin that causes massive amount of latency that needs to be compensated 'cause I assume you have delay compensation activated.

Second, take a look at what your mixer window can show you. There's delay compensation option as well. This will show you which track causes you most trouble. Inactivate plugins one by one and you will know which one is your problem.

I'm 99% sure this advise will help you get things going...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-16-2014, 04:17 AM
loosestones loosestones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 58
Default Re: HDX Latency

Nope, session latency is fairly low on all my sessions where this is happening?
(at most (1500ish) any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automation latency when using plugins that have long latency pyrodave Pro Tools 11 2 01-27-2014 11:22 AM
omni/native latency vs mbox pro latency chrisdee Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 34 03-30-2012 07:24 AM
Latency Issues - changing latency has no effect Kippa-Dee Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-15-2010 08:39 PM
Piano VI's- Latency Latency!! MARVINBASS Virtual Instruments 5 04-27-2006 01:09 AM
Unity DS-1 and Latency... Anyone else feel the latency makes the Plugin unusable? Mt.Everest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 08-26-2001 04:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com