Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2017, 02:53 AM
Moviesound Moviesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 186
Default Eddie why not customisable pots and buttons

The best thing, I would argue, about the dock is having the ability to assign different eucon commands to all the buttons and touch strips. Fantastic. We all work differently, impossible for Avid to guess what functions we all want

Would it not make sense to offer this for the allocation of the pots and buttons on those pots via the same way we do this with the soft keys in Eucontrol?

Eddie, you mentioned wanting to have consistency across plugins, when I suggested make a button press control eq Q rather than the fiddly iPad button. Why? Whats the point. Why not let us map our own commands?

Most of the 3rd party plugins are mapped so badly (randomly) that it's far slower controlling them on the dock, than it is to quickly grab the mouse. Impossible for Avid or the manufacturer to map them better, as we all use those plugins in different ways

Please let us chose what's assigned to a pot and it's relative SEL and IN switch on the iPad. This is surely a very quick and simple thing to do in EuControl and would dramatically improve the dock
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2017, 10:25 AM
Anthony_Anz Anthony_Anz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 191
Default Re: Eddie why not customisable pots and buttons

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moviesound View Post
The best thing, I would argue, about the dock is having the ability to assign different eucon commands to all the buttons and touch strips. Fantastic. We all work differently, impossible for Avid to guess what functions we all want

Would it not make sense to offer this for the allocation of the pots and buttons on those pots via the same way we do this with the soft keys in Eucontrol?

Eddie, you mentioned wanting to have consistency across plugins, when I suggested make a button press control eq Q rather than the fiddly iPad button. Why? Whats the point. Why not let us map our own commands?

Most of the 3rd party plugins are mapped so badly (randomly) that it's far slower controlling them on the dock, than it is to quickly grab the mouse. Impossible for Avid or the manufacturer to map them better, as we all use those plugins in different ways

Please let us chose what's assigned to a pot and it's relative SEL and IN switch on the iPad. This is surely a very quick and simple thing to do in EuControl and would dramatically improve the dock

I agree that assigning the knob press to "reset" is not the most efficient use of a knob press. Enabling/disabling things makes more sense..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-28-2017, 02:46 PM
Jazzbass56 Jazzbass56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 447
Default Re: Eddie why not customisable pots and buttons

The comments made hear are very good ones, I too think that being able to assign the knobs would be a big improvement
I now have had my dock for about 4 weeks...and I can't believe how much I 'm digging it...really really like the dock, but improvements can be made..
Cheers
__________________
Intel Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5 GHz Processor
ASUS X99-PRO/USB 3.1 Motherboard,64 GB crucial DDR4 ram
Thunderbolt EX 2
Windows 10 Pro
................................
2013 MacBook Pro Retina i7 Quad-core, 16gb ram.
Mac OSX 10.11.6
...........
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
2.7 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
Memory 128 GB 1866 MHZ DDR3
Graphics AMD FirePro D700 6144 MB

PT Ultimate 2020.12 on Mac
PT Ultimate 2020.12 on Windows
Logic Pro X 10.6
Nuendo 11.0
...........
1_Antelope Audio_Orion Synergy Core Studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2017, 08:02 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,918
Default Re: Eddie why not customisable pots and buttons

I agree being able to map the knobs is a huge gain and its (still) on the list of things we want to do. It is very complicated believe it or not and we are looking at ways to achieve it without sacrificing reliability or other features. I can't promise any time scale.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-08-2017, 03:28 PM
Maro Records's Avatar
Maro Records Maro Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 79
Default Re: Eddie why not customisable pots and buttons

+1,
This... and focus (clicking on plugin activates it in Eucon surface right away)... would change everything 😉
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2017, 01:39 PM
Anthony_Anz Anthony_Anz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 191
Default Re: Eddie why not customisable pots and buttons

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maro Records View Post
+1,
This... and focus (clicking on plugin activates it in Eucon surface right away)... would change everything 😉
AMEN brother. =)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Eddie Kramer Signature Series Guitar plug-in + Win a Free Mix from Eddie Kramer unkJE AAX Plug-ins 2 01-09-2015 04:50 PM
Calibrating Trim Pots, Pots not responding D-Street Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 09-04-2010 11:01 AM
OT: Springsteen, Dylan, Eddie Vedder and ... dr sound Post - Surround - Video 3 12-14-2009 09:22 AM
Springsteen, Dylan,Eddie Vedder... dr sound General Discussion 2 12-14-2009 07:49 AM
Waves Eddie Kramer Collection!! K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 35 08-18-2009 11:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com