Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-25-2020, 11:15 AM
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West
Posts: 631
Default Re: Pro tools 2020.12 released

Upgraded, no issues here.
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 10.15.7 Catalina
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2020.12
UA Luna 1.1.2.1866
UAD 1.13.0 build 67340
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10

PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-25-2020, 12:29 PM
jpmct jpmct is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro tools 2020.12 released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
Although installing over an existing version of Protools often works, there are many documented instances where this has yielded problems for many. It is usually recommended to do as clean an install as possible to avoid these unexpected but prevalent issues. It is also one of the first troubleshooting steps recommended by everyone, so you may save yourself the trouble by doing that to begin with. SSD's are relativly inexpensive, so having a second drive to make an image backup before any upgrade is recommended. With a good backup strategy, you may continue to try installing over an existing version, since you can always get back to where you were before upgrading. If it works, great. If it has issues, you can proceed to do a clean install—format drive, install OS (test), install Protools (test), install plugins/virtual instruments (test), install any other software (test), etc. (test), Make another working backup of the upgraded system.
I will assume that a "Clean as possible" installation means you will wind up having to reinstall all plugins and re-categorize preferred plugins every 2-3 months??? In this case the bug fixes and "improvements" (you will pardon me if I put that in sarcastic quotes!!) offered in 2020.12 do not seem to make it worth all of that trouble as I do not use MIDI that much. Maybe I will just wait until they offer an upgrade with things that I really want or need to make it worth the trouble!!!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-25-2020, 02:01 PM
jpmct jpmct is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro tools 2020.12 released

OK, I think I have figured out the problem. I run a Windows 10 PC in my studio and - silly me - I keep the operating system up to date. This October, Microsoft upgraded windows to version 20H2, adding a few things of little consequence. I had no issues with running Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11 after the update.

I was getting ready to do a clean install of Pro Tools 2020.12 and just happened to open the Documentation pdf file. To view the compatibility I had to click a link and go to an AVID website and from there I had to select "Pro Tools".

It turns out that Pro Tools 2020.12, as of the "latest" compatibility update on December 16.2020 IS NOT COMPATIBLE with the latest version of Windows 10 (as noted - version 20H2). I guess this explains my problem!!!

Of course, if I try to go back and have Microsoft revert back to the prior version of Windows, that is not allowed after 10 days.

I have to ask this question.....WHO was the brain trust at AVID that decided to release an upgrade of Pro Tools that is INCOMPATIBLE with the latest version of Windows 10???!!!!

I guess I will just have to wait until this little "issue" gets worked out between Microsoft and AVID. I am certainly glad they don't manage the software that flies our airplanes!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-25-2020, 02:58 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,923
Default Re: Pro tools 2020.12 released

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpmct View Post
I will assume that a "Clean as possible" installation means you will wind up having to reinstall all plugins and re-categorize preferred plugins every 2-3 months??? In this case the bug fixes and "improvements" (you will pardon me if I put that in sarcastic quotes!!) offered in 2020.12 do not seem to make it worth all of that trouble as I do not use MIDI that much. Maybe I will just wait until they offer an upgrade with things that I really want or need to make it worth the trouble!!!
It is an individual decision to upgrade or not. Many folks find a stable version and stick with it until some "feature or bug fix" is released and is needed. Then, yes, the cycle of backing up, fresh installs, plugins, testing, etc. starts over. Again, as long as you have a good backup, you can try to install over and existing version. I'm just stating that historically, many people have run into problems installing over a previous version, but not everyone or every time. It is just a good practice and recommended, but one may chose to ignore if one likes.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.7 running Protools 2020.12
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-25-2020, 03:01 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,923
Default Re: Pro tools 2020.12 released

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpmct View Post
OK, I think I have figured out the problem. I run a Windows 10 PC in my studio and - silly me - I keep the operating system up to date. This October, Microsoft upgraded windows to version 20H2, adding a few things of little consequence. I had no issues with running Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11 after the update.

I was getting ready to do a clean install of Pro Tools 2020.12 and just happened to open the Documentation pdf file. To view the compatibility I had to click a link and go to an AVID website and from there I had to select "Pro Tools".

It turns out that Pro Tools 2020.12, as of the "latest" compatibility update on December 16.2020 IS NOT COMPATIBLE with the latest version of Windows 10 (as noted - version 20H2). I guess this explains my problem!!!

Of course, if I try to go back and have Microsoft revert back to the prior version of Windows, that is not allowed after 10 days.

I have to ask this question.....WHO was the brain trust at AVID that decided to release an upgrade of Pro Tools that is INCOMPATIBLE with the latest version of Windows 10???!!!!

I guess I will just have to wait until this little "issue" gets worked out between Microsoft and AVID. I am certainly glad they don't manage the software that flies our airplanes!!!!
I get your frustration. Avid has historically been pretty slow to complete testing with newer OS releases. It is just the way it has been. I make no apologies for Avid and wish it were a faster turn-around-time also.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.7 running Protools 2020.12
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-25-2020, 07:03 PM
lgreen100 lgreen100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 69
Default Re: Pro tools 2020.12 released

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpmct View Post
OK, I think I have figured out the problem. I run a Windows 10 PC in my studio and - silly me - I keep the operating system up to date. This October, Microsoft upgraded windows to version 20H2, adding a few things of little consequence. I had no issues with running Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11 after the update.

I was getting ready to do a clean install of Pro Tools 2020.12 and just happened to open the Documentation pdf file. To view the compatibility I had to click a link and go to an AVID website and from there I had to select "Pro Tools".

It turns out that Pro Tools 2020.12, as of the "latest" compatibility update on December 16.2020 IS NOT COMPATIBLE with the latest version of Windows 10 (as noted - version 20H2). I guess this explains my problem!!!

Of course, if I try to go back and have Microsoft revert back to the prior version of Windows, that is not allowed after 10 days.

I have to ask this question.....WHO was the brain trust at AVID that decided to release an upgrade of Pro Tools that is INCOMPATIBLE with the latest version of Windows 10???!!!!

I guess I will just have to wait until this little "issue" gets worked out between Microsoft and AVID. I am certainly glad they don't manage the software that flies our airplanes!!!!
I am running PT 2020.11 on Windows 10 Home version 2004. Avid says this version of Pro Tools is not compatible with this version of Windows but I have been running PT 2020.11 without issue.

Just as a suggestion, it pays to not run the latest version of Windows until you are forced to. I try to stay one version behind as Microsoft takes their time working out all the bugs in the current version
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-25-2020, 10:28 PM
Newstart Newstart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pro tools 2020.12 released

Hi, I am new to Pro Tools, only purchased in July this year. My current version is 2020.5.0. Can someone please advise how I upgrade to the latest December release ? Do I just download the dmg file and install ? Thanks.

MacBook Pro running Mojave 10.14.6
16GB memory
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-26-2020, 02:28 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,239
Default Re: Pro tools 2020.12 released

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpmct View Post
OK, I think I have figured out the problem. I run a Windows 10 PC in my studio and - silly me - I keep the operating system up to date. This October, Microsoft upgraded windows to version 20H2, adding a few things of little consequence. I had no issues with running Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11 after the update.

I was getting ready to do a clean install of Pro Tools 2020.12 and just happened to open the Documentation pdf file. To view the compatibility I had to click a link and go to an AVID website and from there I had to select "Pro Tools".

It turns out that Pro Tools 2020.12, as of the "latest" compatibility update on December 16.2020 IS NOT COMPATIBLE with the latest version of Windows 10 (as noted - version 20H2). I guess this explains my problem!!!

Of course, if I try to go back and have Microsoft revert back to the prior version of Windows, that is not allowed after 10 days.

I have to ask this question.....WHO was the brain trust at AVID that decided to release an upgrade of Pro Tools that is INCOMPATIBLE with the latest version of Windows 10???!!!!

I guess I will just have to wait until this little "issue" gets worked out between Microsoft and AVID. I am certainly glad they don't manage the software that flies our airplanes!!!!
Thanks for the heads-up. I guess the best thing for now is to revert to 2020.11 for anyone on the latest build of Windows.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2020 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-26-2020, 03:56 AM
mandal mandal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norway, Mandal
Posts: 257
Default Re: Pro tools 2020.12 released

thanx - Avid

2020.12 works for me
__________________
Avid OMNI PCIe
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12
Avid HEAT
Dell 43" 4K LED P4317Q
CPU: Intel Core i9-10980XE
Motherboard: Gigabyte X299X AORUS MASTER E-ATX
Cooler: Be quiet! Dark Rock PRO 4
RAM: 64 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4
Screen card: MSI GeForce GTX 1660 VENTUS XS OC
Cabinet: Fractal Design Define 7 XL Black
Disk1: Samsung 970 PRO 1TB M.2 SSD
Disk2: Samsung 840 PRO SSD
Disk3: Samsung 860 EVO SSD
Power: Corsair RM750x, 750W PSU
Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit OEM DVD
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-26-2020, 05:47 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,165
Default Re: Pro tools 2020.12 released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newstart View Post
Hi, I am new to Pro Tools, only purchased in July this year. My current version is 2020.5.0. Can someone please advise how I upgrade to the latest December release ? Do I just download the dmg file and install ? Thanks.

MacBook Pro running Mojave 10.14.6
16GB memory
Go to your Avid user account and download the file from there and install right over your existing installation. This assumes you are eligible for updates per whatever PT version you have (subscription, perpetual and paid up on update/support plan, etc.)
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to uninstall Pro Tools 2020.11 and revert to 2020.9.1 ArKay99 macOS 10 02-27-2021 03:41 PM
EUCON 2020.11.1 Released EddieJones Avid S6 20 01-15-2021 07:32 AM
EUCON 2020.11.1 Released EddieJones Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 4 01-06-2021 12:44 PM
EUCON 2020.11.1 Released EddieJones Artist Series 5 12-02-2020 12:53 PM
Pro Tools 2020.5/2020.3 Compatibility with Catalina 10.15.4? derrickhou macOS 4 07-26-2020 08:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com