Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2011, 01:28 PM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Harness issues

I have a 002R, that has had the power supply (and I think the harnesses)replaced in right after I got it- at that time the symptoms were the LED's on the unit would flicker and it would get stuck in "mute" at power up. that was 5 years ago

now I seem to be losing communication with increasing regularity and over the week I had to restart the 002R several times to get any audio out/in, even though PT would launch and the level meters on my Euphonix showed signal...

power harness? or something bigger looming

I 've backed everything up and even exported everything to AIFF in case it fails completely, ....any ideas?
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2011, 09:05 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,315
Default Re: Harness issues

Harness would be guess #1, but I would try a new firewire cable as well. Very often, simply re-seating each harness connection several times will make it work fine for another 6 months(easier and faster than aligning a tape machine)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2011, 06:58 AM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 852
Default Re: Harness issues

Hi,
We just went through this, except with a few more symptoms.
I did the harness on a couple of others, and found that it was not the harness, but oxidation on the male pins that the harness attaches to.
Take the top off, gently pull off the 3 harness connections. (You'll need to pry the clip with a little screw driver)
Spray/coat the pins with Deoxit and use either fine sandpaper or a pencil eraser to burnish the pins.
Pop the harness back on.

Now that you know that you are starting from step one, if the machine still misbehaves, change to a new, high quality Firewire cable. (Not Best Buy or RadioShack, Trust me.)

That should get you back up and running.

We had a Firewire cable go bad for no reason yesterday.
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2011, 03:12 PM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Re: Harness issues

Thanks for the replies- have Deoxit... and I've been inside before... a PITA to pull it out of the rack, but these are desperate times and call for...
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2011, 05:51 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,315
Default Re: Harness issues

Most of us consider the pins to be part of the "harness issue" and its good that you can see oxidation(makes it easy to be fairly confident of what the trouble is). The rack version is very easy to work on and you can always leave out most of the screws for faster access next time(put the extras in a little bag and tape to the inside or rear of the case). I also had a firewire cable fail(why I mentioned it) for no reason(it was only a few months old and had been unplugged and replugged maybe 2 times). +1 for Deoxit
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did 002 RACK have Power Harness Issues? KingFish 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-09-2009 03:15 PM
Wiring Harness issues (?) decaharms 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-04-2008 09:36 PM
Buffering Issues and Pwr Harness? 002R tim carter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-15-2007 10:56 PM
All these power harness issues... FirstStep 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 06-02-2004 08:55 AM
002 Rack replacement and harness issues! anakinskye2769 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-20-2003 10:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com