Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2010, 11:26 AM
amolin amolin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 193
Default Is it worth it? (mc control and mix)

Currently I have a mac pro, running pro tools 9 with a Command 8.

I'm looking at getting a mc control and mc mix, and have a few questions:

Is it worth it?
Is it way better than my current C8?

With both controls I would have 12 faders, will the banks in PT then be 12? I mean, will it jump all 12 faders when I shift bank?

Thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2010, 07:42 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: Is it worth it? (mc control and mix)

when I first looked at mc mix (without using it) I preferred command 8

but I bought mc control on ebay very cheap and I have to say - this thing is better than my control24 that I just got rid of

it still seems that there are some functions missing, but I think we can expect some eucon upgrades that will increase functionality soon
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2010, 06:49 AM
amolin amolin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 193
Default Re: Is it worth it? (mc control and mix)

You really like it better than a C24?
Wow
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2010, 03:55 PM
GSlawson GSlawson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4
Talking Re: Is it worth it? (mc control and mix)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amolin View Post
Currently I have a mac pro, running pro tools 9 with a Command 8.

I'm looking at getting a mc control and mc mix, and have a few questions:

Is it worth it?
Is it way better than my current C8?

With both controls I would have 12 faders, will the banks in PT then be 12? I mean, will it jump all 12 faders when I shift bank?

Thanks...
I bought my MCControl almost 2 years ago, and it was OK with ProTools, but fantastic with Cubase, Logic, DP and Final Cut. Now that the new 2.5.6 software has been released for PT9, it is incredible with ProTools. Everything works very well, and I especially like having 32 track buttons available on a screen, and touching the button brings the track onto the 4 faders. I just finished a surround mix for a History Channel show with 100 tracks, and the new software saved me hours of time banking left and right to find a track. I only needed 3 track screens, and I found my tracks quickly. I worked in PT 9 with the MCControl for 8 days, about 10 hours a day, and not 1 crash. I highly recommend the MCControl and if you need the extra faders, the MCMix is great, but how many fingers do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2010, 04:04 PM
amolin amolin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 193
Default Re: Is it worth it? (mc control and mix)

So when doing a 100-track mix you are actually happy with the 4 faders...
Yeah, maybe I can see why...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-26-2010, 07:15 AM
GSlawson GSlawson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4
Default Re: Is it worth it? (mc control and mix)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amolin View Post
So when doing a 100-track mix you are actually happy with the 4 faders...
Yeah, maybe I can see why...
I would prefer more faders, and if I was doing those large mixes more than twice a year it would be worth it to buy more. I am supposed to do a large 6 parter later this year, and I WILL buy the MC Mix to add 8 faders. The best part of adding faders is that you can lock any fader to any track. You can use the 4 faders on the MCControl for your stems, music, sfx, dialogue, VO and keep those locked, then scroll the MCMix faders 8 at a time. Very cool way to work a final mix. Seriously if I had the money to get both when I bought the MCControl, I would have. Hope it works for you, I love the new PT implementation.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-26-2010, 07:27 AM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: Is it worth it? (mc control and mix)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amolin View Post
You really like it better than a C24?
Wow
I am surprised too!
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2010, 03:37 PM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Re: Is it worth it? (mc control and mix)

I too replaced my Control 24 with a MC Control and Mix- takes up a lot less space, the downsizing to 12 faders really hasn't been that big a deal (I mean counting thumbs I only have 10 digits)

The smaller footprint means everything is a lot closer- The C24 meter bridge was nice... but it's on the monitors

my biggest nit is why they couldn't have made a more "traditional" transport instead of the quater-round buttons (but I've adapted to that as well)

and I do wish it would save track assignments as I work from templates that are purposely built the same with respect to drum kit, bass, keys, etc- I'd like to have it remember to just show the drum buss faders, sibnce once the kit levels are set i don't typically go back to them much
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-27-2010, 03:46 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: Is it worth it? (mc control and mix)

Well, it actually does save custom layouts. Whenever I create some layouts Eucon somehow recalls them with sessions later on.
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-27-2010, 05:48 PM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Re: Is it worth it? (mc control and mix)

tell me more?

my requests to Avid have only bounced off an apparent wall of silence.....
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the Artist Mix/Control/Transport worth it? BasketCase Artist Series 7 07-27-2013 06:40 PM
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 01:51 AM
control surfaces..are they worth it? maskedman72 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-30-2005 01:57 AM
Trading my d8b for Control 24/Protools. Is it worth it? Imagine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 04-28-2001 01:06 AM
Machine Control Option is it worth it? hit productions Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 03-29-2001 08:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com