Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2020, 11:46 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,281
Default 2020.3 not showing on Avid Link

I was hoping to download and install the 2020.3 upgrade today, but it is nowhere to be found on my Avid Link even though it does show in my Avid account. Not sure why or what to do. Should I just download an install directly out of my Avid account? I thought Avid Link's purpose was to handle all the downloading and installations of updates and upgrades. And my Avid link says its up to date too. ????
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2020, 01:03 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,859
Default Re: 2020.3 not showing on Avid Link

Why not install from avid account? It is the samw file so why would you let a flaky app decide when it wants to work as it should. Appman and link = same unwanted problem software we dont need.

I dont know anyone who doesn’t unistall avid link the second they update PT! We do and all that needs to be updated is when a new PT version drops and that gets pretty much mentioned here.

Plugins and whatnot are the same and the updated versions are no different from the old ones. We still use the plugin bundles from Avid from PT12 and not update until something stop working. And ... we dont use many plugins these days and even mire rare we use any PT stock.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2020, 05:46 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,966
Default Re: 2020.3 not showing on Avid Link

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Why not install from avid account?
Or, just install 2020.3, which includes Avid Link
__________________
Pro Tools 2020.5 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2020, 07:19 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Mt Warning, Australia
Posts: 802
Default Re: 2020.3 not showing on Avid Link

Same happened with me, I just DL from my avid account and installed. Avid Link updated itself after I installed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
I was hoping to download and install the 2020.3 upgrade today, but it is nowhere to be found on my Avid Link even though it does show in my Avid account. Not sure why or what to do. Should I just download an install directly out of my Avid account? I thought Avid Link's purpose was to handle all the downloading and installations of updates and upgrades. And my Avid link says its up to date too. ????
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2020.3-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-05-2020, 04:27 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,425
Default Re: 2020.3 not showing on Avid Link

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
I was hoping to download and install the 2020.3 upgrade today, but it is nowhere to be found on my Avid Link even though it does show in my Avid account. Not sure why or what to do. Should I just download an install directly out of my Avid account? I thought Avid Link's purpose was to handle all the downloading and installations of updates and upgrades. And my Avid link says its up to date too. ????
I never trust update checker programs. Have had far too many that have the same problem you cite - checker says program is up to date but the developer's website says elsewise. I just go to the developer's site and download as necessary.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-05-2020, 09:13 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,281
Default Re: 2020.3 not showing on Avid Link

That's what I'll do. The only installer app I've never had any issues with is East-West's. Its always worked flawlessly for me.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Avid Link 2020.1 - launched today 1/16/2020 marianna Licensing & Accounts 8 01-16-2020 11:43 PM
Avid link showing plugins i dont own. the19thbear Licensing & Accounts 7 06-12-2019 10:14 AM
Avid Link not showing correct PT 2019.5 install status taylor4814 Pro Tools 2019 1 05-18-2019 09:11 AM
Avid Link 19.4 not showing an updated version of Falcon availbale freewind1974 Licensing & Accounts 1 05-13-2019 10:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com