Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #151  
Old 07-30-2020, 05:16 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,090
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Sure, that's pretty simple.

When:
I want to patch in my Distressor to use as an analog hardware insert to perform some parallel compression on a drum bus.

How:
Access Setup > IO and find the tab called H/W Insert Delay. The values are in msecs. Before you get here you are going to need to PATCH first in the Con section of DADman:

Here's an example of patching in a simple piece of analog outboard gear on channel x:
AD -> patched to DigiLink 1 on channel x
DigiLink 1 -> patched to DA for the same channel

Then find that channel number in the H/W Insert Delay window. The propagation delays are discussed in the manual - so following should work for you:

44.1 kHz = 1.29 ms
48.0 kHz = 1.17 ms
88.2 kHz = .64 ms
96 kHz = .58 ms
176.4 kHz = .28 ms
192 kHz = .25 ms


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #152  
Old 07-30-2020, 10:07 AM
glogulus2003 glogulus2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Sure, that's pretty simple.

When:
I want to patch in my Distressor to use as an analog hardware insert to perform some parallel compression on a drum bus.

How:
Access Setup > IO and find the tab called H/W Insert Delay. The values are in msecs. Before you get here you are going to need to PATCH first in the Con section of DADman:

Here's an example of patching in a simple piece of analog outboard gear on channel x:
AD -> patched to DigiLink 1 on channel x
DigiLink 1 -> patched to DA for the same channel

Then find that channel number in the H/W Insert Delay window. The propagation delays are discussed in the manual - so following should work for you:

44.1 kHz = 1.29 ms
48.0 kHz = 1.17 ms
88.2 kHz = .64 ms
96 kHz = .58 ms
176.4 kHz = .28 ms
192 kHz = .25 ms


Jeff
Thanks so much! That’s really useful! As I understand it this is something that needs to be done on the MTRX S but not on the HDIO,correct?
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 07-30-2020, 01:31 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,090
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Correct. When computing Hardware Inserts - HD IO has known AD DA latency and is compensated for based on that device having been attached.



Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 07-30-2020, 04:33 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,090
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Here’s the larger MTRX video playlist that may be helpful to folks:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...QDeRgOaJw_FSI1


Jeff



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 07-30-2020, 06:24 PM
glogulus2003 glogulus2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Correct. When computing Hardware Inserts - HD IO has known AD DA latency and is compensated for based on that device having been attached.



Jeff
Thanks again for your help! I’m all set now!
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 07-30-2020, 08:47 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 936
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Correct. When computing Hardware Inserts - HD IO has known AD DA latency and is compensated for based on that device having been attached.
Maybe I'm not following this correctly (just jumped in), but the MTRX and MTRX Studio do report their converter latencies correctly to Pro Tools for delay compensation, right? Or do they not? I suppose it's potentially tricky because Pro Tools may not know how things are patched in DADman.
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 07-31-2020, 04:53 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,090
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

We were discussing using hardware inserts, which as I mentioned is automatically computed with HD series interfaces like HD IO, however with MTRX or MTRX Studio requires a manual delay insertion. Currently Pro Tools does not know whether you are sending analog or one of several digital formats into and out via DigiLink. There’s a table posted in the end of the MTRX user guide that shows the delays by format.


Jeff



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 07-31-2020, 05:09 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 936
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
We were discussing using hardware inserts, which as I mentioned is automatically computed with HD series interfaces like HD IO, however with MTRX or MTRX Studio requires a manual delay insertion. Currently Pro Tools does not know whether you are sending analog or one of several digital formats into and out via DigiLink. There’s a table posted in the end of the MTRX user guide that shows the delays by format.
An interesting, suppose I should have read the manual. I don't really use parallel inserts so I suppose it doesn't matter (well, except for reverb, but that's just more pre-delay right?). Something I should fix though!

Do you think DADman and Pro Tools will become better integrated in the future?
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 07-31-2020, 08:16 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,090
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Yes, we are actively working to make it a better experience.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 07-31-2020, 08:42 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 298
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Yes, we are actively working to make it a better experience.

best,
Jeff
That would be most welcome.

Something that would be useful is in DADman, if you could add a switch on the AD side of things (near where Ph and M buttons are) that sends any signal directly to the monitors.

I have a lot of inputs on my MTRX (non-Studio version) and I sometimes want to hear that signal off hardware but I don't want to have to overpopulate the Mon section to do so.
It would also be helpful to have full level control and to be able to pair stereo channels together from there.

What I currently have to do is add all 16 channels in mono and then 8 stereo pairs for my 16 input channels in there too.
It is kind messy.

Overhauling DADman so that the AD inputs can be sent directly to the Mon section with stereo/mono switch and a full level control would be a huge workflow improvement for me.
__________________
James Richmond
http://www.uptheoctave.com
Audio Production Reviews and Technique

Latest article for Pro Tools Expert:
"Why I decided to buy an Avid MTRX"

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...y-to-avid-mtrx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: MTRX 2x 8 Line Input Pristine Card 1x MTRX SPQ Card antonis Buy & Sell 9 04-11-2020 06:47 AM
Still no specs on MTRX Studio Avid? corp Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 51 04-02-2020 05:31 PM
MTRX Studio - No AES?! Ryan Young Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 23 02-23-2020 02:13 PM
MTRX Studio i/o Cheesehead Post - Surround - Video 6 01-31-2020 09:15 AM
analog console, next steps for my studio badperson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-28-2003 08:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com