Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2009, 09:08 PM
ohheyandrew ohheyandrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default Unable to get Pro Tools 8.0 to launch w/ brand new Mac Pro and brand new 003

So this week I bought a brand new Mac Pro and a Digi 003r to give me home studio a complete overhaul and have all the latest and greatest (in my price range).

The computer finally came Wednesday evening. I didn't have time to mess with it because I was going to the NAMM show yesterday.

So today I FINALLY got to getting everything set up. First I upgraded to 10.5.5, installed the Core Audio drivers and Logic 8 (my current DAW of choice) and inspected to make sure everything was working well. For the most part everything works fine. I have had a little bit of trouble getting the Core Audio driver to locate the hardware, but it seems to finally be working well.

I registered my Digi and my iLok downloaded the huge PT 8 upgrade and got ready to start. My great day was rudely interupted by this inconvenient little error.

Pro tools starts to boot up, begins loading plug ins and then: "The application Pro Tool LE quit unexpectedly." I have retried and retried. Reset, reconnected the hardware. No luck.

At first I thought it was because the core audio drive was interfering with the startup, but i reset again and made sure it was off and still no luck. Does anyone know what the problem here could be.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2009, 09:45 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,603
Default Re: Unable to get Pro Tools 8.0 to launch w/ brand new Mac Pro and brand new 003

If it were me(and I am NOT an expert on Mac), I would uninstall everything but Leopard, use the PT uninstall utility to get rid of any Digi stuff, and start by installing PT first. Once you get that loaded, then load in the other stuff. I just loaded PT8 on a new drive with Leopard and PT8 was the very first thing I installed. The install went quite smooth.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2009, 10:18 PM
ohheyandrew ohheyandrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: Unable to get Pro Tools 8.0 to launch w/ brand new Mac Pro and brand new 003

I feel like an idiot, but it looks like this is working. I think that the core audio driver I had installed must've been sending conflicting signals or something along those lines.

The 003 Firmware is updating right now. So I will cross my fingers. Thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools SE doesn't launch at all on brand new Sony VAIO Laptop lpadua Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 5 07-28-2012 08:15 PM
Brand new Mbox, Brand new pro tools LE 7.4. "unable to locate digidesign hardware" eltore23 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-03-2012 10:13 AM
Brand new AMD system locking up at Launch analogboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-04-2008 03:49 PM
The brand new HD with brand new Mac won't launch... Rammelt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 07-18-2007 03:25 AM
Brand new to pro tools Holty99 General Discussion 7 02-23-2005 07:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com