Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2019, 03:30 AM
Jon_Atkinson Jon_Atkinson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 827
Default PT randomly choosing sound card on startup

Hey all,

I'm on Ultimate 2018.7 and I have a few pieces of gear plugged into my rig which the computer can see as a soundcard, ie Analog Four, Analog Heat, iConnect MIDI interface etc....

It seems that PT has suddenly started randomly selecting one of these as the soundcard on startup, rather than my Orion 32....

I never need to use anything other than the Orion 32 (that's what my monitor controller and monitors are plugged into)....

Any way of fixing this? It seems like a new behaviour, even though I've been on 2018.7 for a while, and the A4 and A Heat have been plugged in like this for a while...

I'm aware that the other 'soundcards' are seen by the computer at an OS level...
Obvs done the usual troubleshooting stuff, but still getting this

Thanks in advance
__________________
Mac Westmere 6 core 3.3Ghz, 24GB RAM, OS 10.13.6, Protools 2018.7 HD, Antelope Orion 32, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, UAD Quad PCIe
AJA I/O Express
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2019, 03:58 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,395
Default Re: PT randomly choosing sound card on startup

When the Orion goes missing from being your default PT sound I/O is it still visible in AMS?
Are you using the Orion as part of an aggregate device?
With all these USB devices are they plugged direct into the cheesegrater? If they are you may want to try changing which USB port the Orion is plugged into. I seem to remember that there were intermittent problems with the front panel USB ports for some people.
Is the Orion turned on before you boot up the computer? I know it shouldn't matter but sometimes my 2012 cheesegrater doesn't see it's sound I/O (11 Rack) if it isn't on before the computer is started.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2019, 07:13 AM
Jon_Atkinson Jon_Atkinson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 827
Default Re: PT randomly choosing sound card on startup

Hey Jack,

Thanks for this.... Yes, the Orion is still available in AMS, and it's actually still available to PT (I just need to select it as a change from whatever PT has decided to use)

The Orion isn't part of an Aggregate (I've always found Aggregate devices to be a bit flakey)

Yes, you're correct about the front panels of the cheesegrater... They're not great (grate..?!) so I don't use them except for plugging the occasional thumb drive in.

The Orion is plugged into it's own non-hubbed USB port on the back of the Mac. The other USB devices are plugged into an Elektron Overhub, but they don't (or at least they're not supposed to) pass audio, just MIDI data etc.

All is behaving exactly as you'd expect, except for PT deciding that it wants to use another piece of hardware as it's soundcard every so often (maybe 25% of the time) on boot up.

All other apps (Ableton, RX etc) are behaving perfectly with the Orion.... I'd say I'm 99% sure it's a PT glitch, but just interesting that it seems localized to my rig.
__________________
Mac Westmere 6 core 3.3Ghz, 24GB RAM, OS 10.13.6, Protools 2018.7 HD, Antelope Orion 32, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, UAD Quad PCIe
AJA I/O Express
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2019, 08:44 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,395
Default Re: PT randomly choosing sound card on startup

I took a look at the compatibility page http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart and strictly speaking PT2018.7 isn't compatible with OSX 10.13.6; the last Avid considers compatible is OSX 10.13.3. This might be part of the problem if not THE problem. Yes it may have worked okay in the past but that's the deal with incompatibilities - they can throw strange things on an oh=otherwise working system.

Something that just hit me - I have a MOTU MIDI Timepiece AVUSB MIDI interface and when it does strange things like not remembering settings it's time to change the CR2032 battery inside. Cheesegraters have one on the motherboard as well. I know on mine I have to pull the video card and the pcie card that has my system ssd on it to get to the battery. You may want to change that battery out - they don't last forever. Any drug store should have them.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2019, 08:50 AM
Jon_Atkinson Jon_Atkinson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 827
Default Re: PT randomly choosing sound card on startup

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
when it does strange things like not remembering settings it's time to change the CR2032 battery inside.
Thanks...! I'll give that a try!
__________________
Mac Westmere 6 core 3.3Ghz, 24GB RAM, OS 10.13.6, Protools 2018.7 HD, Antelope Orion 32, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, UAD Quad PCIe
AJA I/O Express
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 12 randomly freezes at startup / crashing on exit mikex83 Pro Tools 12 6 10-04-2016 04:59 PM
The program does not see at startup sound card divanno Third Party Interfaces 1 01-16-2015 10:43 AM
PTLE8 freezes on startup randomly with new PC domis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-19-2014 02:09 PM
need help choosing proper video card AudioPost Post - Surround - Video 5 10-25-2002 09:25 AM
help on choosing midi sound module tantejo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-30-2002 01:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com