Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2010, 05:04 AM
sytrusze sytrusze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Default Pro tools 8, play onboard soundcard

Dear members,

i have a pair of KRK VXT8 monitors which i've plugged in directly into my onboard soundcard.

My pro tools is not playing any sound now which is obvious..
does anyone know how to configure Pro tools so it will play sound from my onboard soundcard?

I don't want to attach the monitors to the mbox, because the mbox won't let you play sound with multiple applications at one time.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2010, 07:39 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,714
Default Re: Pro tools 8, play onboard soundcard

You MUST connect your speakers to the Mbox. That's just how PT works. While it is quite possible(depending on your system, of which you gave no details) to play computer sounds thru the Mbox, the simple route is to use separate computer speakers, or use a source selector like Samson C-Control(cheapest), Mackie Big Knob(better) or Presonus Central Station(best of these 3).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2010, 10:52 AM
sytrusze sytrusze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Default Re: Pro tools 8, play onboard soundcard

wow, digidesign really f*cked up this time, excuse my language..
didn't expected to pay 300$ for a box that can only be used for pro tools, they could at least modified it so you can play sound from other applications thru it while working in PT.

i can't imagin someone working with PT not wanting to visit youtube or play a windows media player file during pro tools...
when i'm using logic, FL, reason im using youtube/msn constanly
in order to play a simple youtube movie, you have to close PT and restart your browser....

@albee: thnx anyway!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2010, 11:25 AM
rhythmtechnologies rhythmtechnologies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 302
Default Re: Pro tools 8, play onboard soundcard

Quote:
wow, digidesign really f*cked up this time, excuse my language..
didn't expected to pay 300$ for a box that can only be used for pro tools, they could at least modified it so you can play sound from other applications thru it while working in PT.
of course you can play sounds from other apps thru it! just set it up in device manager.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2010, 01:23 PM
sytrusze sytrusze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Default Re: Pro tools 8, play onboard soundcard

as i said, not while working in Pro Tools.
Mbox can only play one app at a time
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2010, 01:51 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,711
Default Re: Pro tools 8, play onboard soundcard

The Pro Tools interface is just that. An interface for Pro Tools, not an interface for everything. Just get a pair of PC speakers for all your system sounds. You can set an interface up for all your sounds in a variety of ways, one of which is using Windows 7 and the 8.0.4b driver which is multi client, but its usually better to keep your interface just for Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2010, 05:00 PM
sytrusze sytrusze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Default Re: Pro tools 8, play onboard soundcard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
The Pro Tools interface is just that. An interface for Pro Tools, not an interface for everything. Just get a pair of PC speakers for all your system sounds. You can set an interface up for all your sounds in a variety of ways, one of which is using Windows 7 and the 8.0.4b driver which is multi client, but its usually better to keep your interface just for Pro Tools.
Okay thnx, basically what you are saying is...

install windows 7
install 8.0.4b driver
plug my monitors into my mbox

and everything should run smooth? or am i misunderstanding you
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2010, 05:54 PM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: Pro tools 8, play onboard soundcard

Why would you want to be working on a mix and have a YouTube video playing in the background? Or whatever. I think it will just affect your performance psychologically ( you won't be paying full attention to your mix) and it will affect the sound, cause you won't even be hearing your mix.
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-2010, 07:38 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,714
Default Re: Pro tools 8, play onboard soundcard

My Pro Tools machine never goes on the internet. I use a Presonus Central Station and have zero issues with listening to anything I want over my studio monitors.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-06-2010, 07:19 AM
sytrusze sytrusze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Default Re: Pro tools 8, play onboard soundcard

I dont want to play youtube on the background and listen to pro tools togheter.....

I mean, if i want to play a windows media player file, i even have to shut off PT in order to listen to the file

Thats bullsh*t
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do I get pro tools 9 to play out my 002 instead of my soundcard Boogie457 Pro Tools 9 7 12-07-2010 11:50 PM
disabling onboard soundcard meldrew21 General Discussion 8 05-19-2006 12:41 AM
onboard soundcard Tuur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-24-2003 12:08 PM
disable onboard soundcard genebadd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-24-2003 12:51 AM
How to access the onboard soundcard via Midi? brendgen Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 12-23-2000 05:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com