Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2014, 02:53 PM
RokVox RokVox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: .
Posts: 719
Default "Low Latency Monitoring" with 3rd Party Interfaces

Hi AVID,

It's been a while since I've used "Low Latency Monitoring" and couldn't locate the specifics in the PT Manual.

Is this feature only available with Digi/Avid audio interfaces?


I tried using this option with an Apogee "Duet for iPad/Mac" and when I put the track into record... No sound.

It's just a mono vocal track, with no plug-ins on inserts and no bus routing to efx, etc...

I also checked to make sure my I/O routing was set up correctly.

I first tried using the Duet at a buffer size of 64 and was hearing a lot of comb filtering/doubling artifacts. And at a buffer size of 32, the Duet is useless, with pops & clicks.

So I thought I'd try out the PT Low Latency Monitoring option, but no go...


MacBook Pro 15-inch with Retina display (Late 2013), 2.3 GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB SDRAM, 512GB SSD, Mavericks (10.9.1), Pro Tools 11.1.2 (Vanilla).


Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2014, 04:02 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,389
Default Re: "Low Latency Monitoring" with 3rd Party Interfaces

Low Latency Monitoring
(Pro Tools|HD Native, 003, 003 Rack, 003 Rack+, Mbox Pro, Mbox Pro 2, and Core Audio and ASIO Interfaces with Built-in Mixers Only)

Pro Tools|HD Native, 003, 003 Rack, 003 Rack+, Mbox Pro, and Mbox Pro 2 systems can use the Low Latency Monitoring option to record with an extremely small amount of monitoring latency, to as many tracks as each system supports.
Likewise, certain Core Audio and ASIO audio interfaces that have a built-in mixer (such as the RME Fireface or the MOTU 828) can use the Low Latency Monitoring option. Only tracks with inputs set to a physical output (not an internal mix bus) use Low Latency Monitoring.

* If your Core Audio or ASIO hardware does not have a built-in mixer, Low Latency Monitoring does not function. If you do enable Low Latency Monitoring with such hardware, monitoring will not available for record-enabled tracks in Pro Tools.


To use Low Latency Monitoring:
1 Do one of the following:

* For HD Native systems, assign each track to the selected Low Latency Monitoring Path as set in the I/O Setup Output page (see Low Latency Monitoring). Only tracks assigned to these outputs use Low Latency Monitoring.

* For all other systems, assign each track output to either Output 1 or Output 2 (mono), or both (stereo). Only tracks assigned to these outputs use Low Latency Monitoring.

2 Record enable audio tracks by clicking their Record Enable buttons.

3 Select Options > Low Latency Monitoring.

When Low Latency Monitoring is enabled, any plug-ins and sends assigned to record-enabled tracks (routed to the selected Low Latency Monitoring Path with HD Native systems, or to Outputs 1–2 with all other systems) are automatically bypassed, and must remain bypassed. Also, these tracks do not register on meters for Master Faders.

Low Latency Monitoring and Bounce To Disk:
With Low Latency Monitoring enabled, only audio tracks are included with the Bounce to Disk command—Auxiliary Input and Instrument tracks are ignored. To include Auxiliary Input and Instrument tracks, disable Low Latency Monitoring before using Bounce to Disk.

* External input cannot be recorded during a Bounce to Disk. To include external input in your bounce, it must be recorded to new audio tracks before using Bounce to Disk (see Bounce to Disk).


Pgae 425 of the reference guide
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2014, 04:21 PM
RokVox RokVox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: .
Posts: 719
Default Re: "Low Latency Monitoring" with 3rd Party Interfaces

Thanks Manny!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2014, 02:56 PM
Sick Lefty Sick Lefty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 9
Default Re: "Low Latency Monitoring" with 3rd Party Interfaces

Hey all,

I'm getting started with PT using v10.3.6 with 2 Apogee Rosetta 800's. The Apogee Maestro software for setting up the Rosettas does have a software mixer. Using this mixer, I made sure that the Rosetta input fed by my vocal mic was at unity gain, routed my vocal track in PT to main stereo outputs of Rosetta #1 (outputs 1-2 of 16,) record-enabled my vocal track in PT, and experimented with enabling-disabling low-latency monitoring. I've found that I can't monitor the track when low-latency mode is enabled. I also see that the button to the right of record-enable button for the track, where input monitor can normally be selected, is grayed out.

So, is there any way- short of buying new hardware- for me to get input monitoring/low latency monitoring in PT? If not, is this limitation addressed in PT 11?

I'm used to recording in Logic with 32-sample hardware buffer size and low latency mode selected. I thought I was "upgrading" to PT native, but with minimum buffer size of 64 samples and no low-latency monitoring, now I'm not so sure.

Thanks for any advice.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2014, 03:33 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,550
Default Re: "Low Latency Monitoring" with 3rd Party Interfaces

Ah you mean you are using the hardware mixer in a Symphony PCIe card? There is no software mixer in Mastero that I am aware of.

I've never messed around with one to even work out if it should, but i don't think LLM via Pro Tools works to the Symphony card -- happy to be corrected) But even if Pro tools can't talk to the hardware mixer in the Symphony to do LLM you have got Maestro fired any you have the moral equivalent of Pro Tools LLM with it's hardware mixer/Mastero LLM. Just monitor though that not Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2014, 04:29 PM
Sick Lefty Sick Lefty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 9
Default Re: "Low Latency Monitoring" with 3rd Party Interfaces

Thanks, Darryl. I'm gonna scratch my head and figure out how to monitor through the Symphony 64 card directly by reconfiguring Maestro. I think I can figure it out and, if not, I'll contact Apogee on Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2014, 04:40 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,550
Default Re: "Low Latency Monitoring" with 3rd Party Interfaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sick Lefty View Post
Thanks, Darryl. I'm gonna scratch my head and figure out how to monitor through the Symphony 64 card directly by reconfiguring Maestro. I think I can figure it out and, if not, I'll contact Apogee on Monday.
I'm pretty sure the (brief) Mastero documentation runs you though that exact use case.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-25-2015, 01:06 AM
Zio Zio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Evansville
Posts: 2
Default Re: "Low Latency Monitoring" with 3rd Party Interfaces

I am having the same problem in pt 10.3.9 using mac pro apollo for interface. Have u figure it out.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-26-2015, 06:26 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,743
Default Re: "Low Latency Monitoring" with 3rd Party Interfaces

Zio, use your Apollo Console for any Low Latency monitoring .. learn it, own, it, be it .. the Console is your friend ..
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-01-2016, 09:05 PM
DJFretless DJFretless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 17
Default Re: "Low Latency Monitoring" with 3rd Party Interfaces

I'm running a RME Fireface800.

I've assigned anything being recorded to the 1-2 output and I still don't have low latency monitoring. Sound is totally gone in record mode.

I do believe that I have an unresolved issue with my outputs which may need to get resolved first. But in any case, there is no sound coming out through output 1-2 in LLM mode
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Still can't find "Low Latency Monitoring" in my menu options... finalcut Pro Tools 10 13 02-20-2013 12:52 PM
Where did "Low Latency Monitoring" go? finalcut Pro Tools 10 2 12-30-2011 06:53 PM
Low Latency Monitoring with 3rd party interfaces - details? Rich Breen Pro Tools 10 13 10-26-2011 03:19 PM
"Low latency monitoring" which interface? samplaire Pro Tools 9 8 01-12-2011 12:59 PM
How to activate "Low Latency Monitoring" on 003+, LE 8.0.3 aidan7737 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 40 06-11-2010 09:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com