Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2004, 08:58 AM
Vaphoron Vaphoron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,539
Default HD Process to Accel exchange is back

I didn't see any mention of it so I thought I would let everybody know.

http://www.digidesign.com/exchange/accel_price.cfm
__________________
- Jason
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2004, 09:19 AM
jepmus jepmus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Posts: 90
Default Re: HD Process to Accel exchange is back

Thanks Digi!
For all the discussion about Digi leaving early HD adopters out in the cold, this is good news.
Congratulations Digi, and thanks again.
__________________
PT HDX - PT 12.5.2
Mac Pro Trash Can 3.5 ghz 6 core - - 64 GB RAM - - OS 10.11.5 - - HD/IO with A/D Expansion
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2004, 10:12 AM
chuck.dallas chuck.dallas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 192
Default Re: HD Process to Accel exchange is back

Ha! I knew it would be back -- guessed right on this one. For those who did this exchange the first time around, is it worth it? Also, is the Impact compressor decent?

Since I don't hit the limit very often with my HD3 system, I guess I would opt for just 1 HD process to Accel card exchange at this point. Anybody in a similar situation?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2004, 10:49 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,554
Default Re: HD Process to Accel exchange is back

I've got HD2 and I rarely max it out. Largely because I do a fair amount of my mixing on my DMX R100. But 6.4 with ADC is making think about doing this upgrade. I'd like to hear from people that did it before also.
thanks
drew
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-30-2004, 11:17 AM
steins steins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 379
Default Re: HD Process to Accel exchange is back

Quote:
Ha! I knew it would be back -- guessed right on this one. For those who did this exchange the first time around, is it worth it? Also, is the Impact compressor decent?

Since I don't hit the limit very often with my HD3 system, I guess I would opt for just 1 HD process to Accel card exchange at this point. Anybody in a similar situation?

I'm also on HD3, and will probably go for just one Accel card. I seldom max out my system, but there are times where I could need some more power.

Stein Tore
__________________
Stein Tore Sønsteli
Studio at home: Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 (HDN), Mac Pro 5.1 OS X High Sierra, Avid I/O's, D-Command ES 8-fader.
Studio at work: Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 (HDX-1), Mac Mini 2018 OS X Mojave, RedNet/Dante I/O's, S6 24-fader.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2004, 12:21 PM
Scott7543 Scott7543 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 26
Default Re: HD Process to Accel exchange is back

If you upgrade to Accel, don't you also have to upgrade all your plugins? Will the upgraded plugs run on the old HD cards? I have an HD3 and I'm thinking of upgrading just one of my cards to Accel. My concern is that, once I upgrade all of the plugins, they will only run on the new card and the other 2 cards will be idle most of the time. Is that a valid concern?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2004, 12:49 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: HD Process to Accel exchange is back

All my PI upgrades were Free when I moved to Accel from HD as I was all ready on OS X. But beware if you go with Accel kiss OS 9 bye bye for good.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-30-2004, 01:48 PM
Sound Guy Andy Sound Guy Andy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 199
Default Re: HD Process to Accel exchange is back

So it is possible to use Accel and non-Accel process cards in the same system? I couldn't find an answer to this question via a DUC search.


Thanks,
Andre
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-30-2004, 02:51 PM
Vaphoron Vaphoron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,539
Default Re: HD Process to Accel exchange is back

Yes, you can use Accel cards and Process cards in the same sytem. You have to install it in the right order though, which is Core, Accel cards, then Process cards.
__________________
- Jason
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-30-2004, 04:08 PM
michael c michael c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA CA 90027
Posts: 1,073
Default Re: HD Process to Accel exchange is back

Digi: Do you get ProTools 6.4 with the upgrade?

Thanks.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-core (6.1 2015)
Sierra 10.12.6
64 GB RAM
1 TB PCIe flash storage
Pro Tools Ultimate HD 2019.5
HD Native Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Process Card Question... Accel vs non Accel gsilbers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 05-22-2013 02:51 PM
Accel PCI to PCI-e exchange is back fasttraxx Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 28 06-26-2011 04:56 PM
Problem populating HD 4 accel + Process + Process Brandonx1 Post - Surround - Video 6 07-15-2010 05:40 PM
hd process and accel process in same machine? blumediaprojekt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-01-2006 08:51 PM
HD Process to Accel Exchange vs. Mix to Accel Exch Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-20-2004 05:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com