Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2011, 07:14 AM
akhafaji akhafaji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 243
Question RME FF800 to HD Native

Hi,
I am planning to buy HD Native+Omni.
Current setup is: FF800 and PC <Gigabyte Ex58-Extreme & i7 extreme 975 and 12 GB Ram, 3 WD HDD 7200, win 7 Ult x64>

My Questions:

1-If we are going to consider the HD native as 100% Sound quality then what is the % rate for FF800 compared to HD native?

2-Are the Stability / Latency always the same regardless the sample rate <44,48,96 or 192>?

3-Is it worthy this much of money?

Thanks
AK
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2011, 04:17 AM
akhafaji akhafaji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 243
Default Re: RME FF800 to HD Native

any one?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2011, 04:59 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: RME FF800 to HD Native

As for sound quality, its totally a personal judgement. Only YOU can assign any % to what YOU hear. Latency will be slightly different for any given sample rate(higher sample rates usually net slightly lower latency). As for the Omni being worth the money(or not), again, a personal decision(but the reviews have been stellar). Back to latency, word from my local source and the Avid area rep, HD/Native with a buffer of 128 has LESS latency than any firewire interface at 64. This is due to the speed of the PCIe bus as compared to the firewire bus(which has an inherent 3ms latency by design, as it sends all the data twice, to make sure it all actually went). The Omni is a little pricey to me(for only 8 inputs), and I have read reports of loud fan noise. They are sometimes found used for just above $2K, which makes it a better value than full retail. There are other IO options(including a used 96
or 192 IO). I sure wish Avid had made the lightpipe input on the Omni to ork a full 8 channels, in addition to the analog inputs(I would buy it then in a heartbeat)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2011, 12:59 AM
akhafaji akhafaji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 243
Default Re: RME FF800 to HD Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
As for sound quality, its totally a personal judgement. Only YOU can assign any % to what YOU hear. Latency will be slightly different for any given sample rate(higher sample rates usually net slightly lower latency). As for the Omni being worth the money(or not), again, a personal decision(but the reviews have been stellar). Back to latency, word from my local source and the Avid area rep, HD/Native with a buffer of 128 has LESS latency than any firewire interface at 64. This is due to the speed of the PCIe bus as compared to the firewire bus(which has an inherent 3ms latency by design, as it sends all the data twice, to make sure it all actually went). The Omni is a little pricey to me(for only 8 inputs), and I have read reports of loud fan noise. They are sometimes found used for just above $2K, which makes it a better value than full retail. There are other IO options(including a used 96
or 192 IO). I sure wish Avid had made the lightpipe input on the Omni to ork a full 8 channels, in addition to the analog inputs(I would buy it then in a heartbeat)
Thank you albee1952 for your feedback...
I know that the sound Quality is personal judgment, that why I am asking here to see what Most People think ,ex: some might say 70% or 80% etc...

I have read in some forums that the Apogee Symphony sound better than HD but again this personal judgment.

What I am looking for here is some facts about it <advantages, disadvantages >, like what you mentioned about the Price and the loud fan noise...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32 Buffer Size with PT9 and FF800 drjoho Pro Tools 9 2 02-03-2012 10:19 PM
FF800 to FF UFX with PT 9-worth it? b mcgibney macOS 0 07-29-2011 02:51 PM
From PT HD elsewhere... to PT9 native at home: I/O issues with RME FF800 lanstrad Pro Tools 9 1 05-28-2011 09:43 AM
Rme ff800 vs 003+ Raoul23 Pro Tools 9 18 12-08-2010 07:20 PM
RME FF800 & FW 1814 abre Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 7 11-06-2006 04:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com