Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2010, 09:55 AM
Nickolas Apostolou Nickolas Apostolou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Athens-Greece
Posts: 1
Smile Standalone For Mac & Windows 7.

Is there any chance to get the software for Mac & Windows 7?
We are so many Mac & Win7 Laptop Users.
It is very necessary to work with Wi-Fi!!!
Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2010, 02:08 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Standalone For Mac & Windows 7.

Hi Nickolas,

The Standalone version of VENUE software appears to work fine with Windows 7. It also works well when using a Mac with Windows under Boot Camp, Parallels, Fusion, etc. There isn't a Mac version of the Standalone software planned at this time, as this would require a complete rewrite of the software. Cross-platform compatibility is something we're very aware of for future platforms we might build, though.

Quote:
It is very necessary to work with Wi-Fi
VENUE systems are controlled remotely using VNC, for which there are many free clients that allow you to use Windows, Mac or even an iPhone or an iPad. The (Windows only) Standalone software is not used to control the software via Wi Fi, so I'm not sure I fully understand your comment.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2010, 06:27 PM
Tragic Dog Tragic Dog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 254
Default Re: Standalone For Mac & Windows 7.

Sheldon, please stickie this post, as there have been a number of this type of post in the last few weeks, and it would be good info to easily reference and find as a sticky.
__________________
Jon Lillie
Behind the Light Productions
PT 10-CPTK-Motu Traveler v1
Mac Pro 2x2.8GHz Quad-Core, 14gigs of ram
Macbook Pro w/Retina Display, 2.3Ghz i7, 16gigs of ram
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2010, 06:35 PM
MartyBee MartyBee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicagoland Area
Posts: 33
Default Re: Standalone For Mac & Windows 7.

The redistridutable +++ link was the trick for me with a fresh install of Windows 7 Pro ...... Now I have the standalone rocking on all of my computers!!!

Marty B
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2010, 08:16 AM
SeanDerMan SeanDerMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 80
Default Re: Standalone For Mac & Windows 7.

Just an idea, possibly a repost(in which case, apologies)
I think it would be good to include wifi built into the systems with some adhoc connection, instead of us having to take an extra router to connect through vnc. or reccommend some settings or certain wifi dongle adapters and build drivers into the venue software.
__________________
i7 920, Asus P6T Deluxe V2, Win 7 64bit Ultimate, Asus NVidia 8400 GS x2, UAD-1, Digi 003R Factory with PTLE 8.03, RME Multiface, Cubase 5 32bit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2010, 01:00 AM
alexfernieaudio alexfernieaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Standalone For Mac & Windows 7.

Anybody else having difficulty with Windows 7, specifically 7 Ultimate running via BootCamp on a Macbook (13" 2007). Standalone 2.8.5 installs fine but won't open, "missing critical component". Have re-installed as OS suggested but no improvement.
Cheers in advance,
Alex.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-11-2010, 01:04 AM
alexfernieaudio alexfernieaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Standalone For Mac & Windows 7.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexfernieaudio View Post
Anybody else having difficulty with Windows 7, specifically 7 Ultimate running via BootCamp on a Macbook (13" 2007). Standalone 2.8.5 installs fine but won't open, "missing critical component". Have re-installed as OS suggested but no improvement.
Cheers in advance,
Alex.
Doh! Found standalone 2.9.1...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-11-2010, 10:19 PM
Kenmillerjr's Avatar
Kenmillerjr Kenmillerjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 597
Default Re: Standalone For Mac & Windows 7.

Sean:

That is a good suggestion, but I think it would be a hard task to ensure ALL drivers for the many different wifi cards/dongles would be a pain for AVID to maintain compatibility on VENUE. Secondly, I don't mind purchasing an additional router for use with VENUE. There are multiple devices I connect (Galileo, wireless mic receivers, IEM transmitters) to a dedicated "closed" wireless network router for use only by the audio engineers which we do not want other Wifi users to accidently stumble upon.

Especially with the release of VENUE Link with ProTools...why not have a router there so we can both link ProTools and control the VENUE remotely.
__________________
Ken Miller, Jr.
Audio Engineer
Southside Baptist Church | Warner Robins, GA

| VENUE Profile 96X64 with MADI Option | ProTools 7.4.2 HD3 Accel PCI | ProTools 10 Native | MacBook Pro 17" OS 10.7.1 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 8GB Ram | Mbox 2 Pro | Mbox 3 Pro | Motu 896mk3 Hybrid |
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-22-2011, 05:37 PM
Mystere1 Mystere1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 59
Default Re: Standalone For Mac & Windows 7.

Sheldon, this may be a bit of a silly question but will the standalone software work on the 64 bit version of windoze 7 or do I need to get a 32 bit version?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-22-2011, 10:45 PM
Tragic Dog Tragic Dog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 254
Default Re: Standalone For Mac & Windows 7.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystere1 View Post
Sheldon, this may be a bit of a silly question but will the standalone software work on the 64 bit version of windoze 7 or do I need to get a 32 bit version?
runs just fine for me on windows 7 64bit, in bootcamp.
__________________
Jon Lillie
Behind the Light Productions
PT 10-CPTK-Motu Traveler v1
Mac Pro 2x2.8GHz Quad-Core, 14gigs of ram
Macbook Pro w/Retina Display, 2.3Ghz i7, 16gigs of ram
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Venue Standalone 4.1 on Windows 8.1 Not Happening for me... killnoise VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 12-15-2013 01:51 PM
Standalone Audio Driver for Windows 7 for Digi 003 snoluvr99@yahoo.com 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-06-2013 06:20 PM
Is standalone Windows Audio Drivers v8.0.3 compatible with WINDOWS XP 64 ? VonHelvete 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-28-2010 11:01 AM
Windows 7 + Mbox Mini + Standalone Drivers = ?? FirstStep 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 11-24-2009 10:33 PM
d24 / 888 IO / windows xp / standalone asio driver (7.3) zeh Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 04-28-2007 09:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com