Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2006, 03:30 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 597
Default M-Powered vs LE

Hi. I'm currently running pro tools le with the mbox 2 on a macbook pro (intel-mac). I'm interested in buying a control surface and due away with the mbox. I really like the M-Audio ProjectMix I/O, but if I get that I'll have to switch over to the m-powered version. I've heard that the M-Powered software is inferior to the LE, and that you get less plugins. Has anyone used both and have any suggestions? are the plug-ins that come with m-power the same as le's, except less, or does the quaility lack as well?
Thanks,
-Adam
adam79@toast.net
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2006, 04:08 PM
Bill Pillmore Bill Pillmore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 38
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

I switched from PTLE to PT M-powered last year and I have not noticed any difference in the software or the plugins... only the interface is better! I am running 7x on an older G4 and 7.1.1 on my MacBook w/ FW1814 interface.
Bill
__________________
Bill
http://billpillmore.com
MacMini 2 Ghz, 2GB, OSX 10.6.4, PT 9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2007, 12:21 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

Go the Mpowered route. I am selling my 002r. I now have the Lightbridge and Protools Mpowered with Music Production Toolkit. Now I can use any coverter I want with Lighbridge. I use an RME Fireface 800. Now you can do this with the 002R, but only one external converter since there is only 1 adat in/out.

Good Luck.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2007, 12:57 AM
cfb25 cfb25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: California/ New york
Posts: 462
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

So theres really no difference between the Le software and the M-powered? I had the idea it was dumbed down somehow.. Is this totally off base? I have an 002r, and if an 003 doesn't come out at winter namm I may be seriously looking at m-powered and a lightbridge or project mix... Thanks for the help.
__________________
Chris Beaver Music
www.myspace.com/chrisfrankmusic

The Note Music
www.myspace.com/thenotemusic
Dual 2.0Ghz PPC 3gb Ram, Digi 002R
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:40 PM
SeanDerMan SeanDerMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 80
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

There is no DV Toolkit support in MPowered, which means you'll never have timecode in MPowered.
I think... unless 7.3 supports DV Toolkit, but i doubt it.
__________________
i7 920, Asus P6T Deluxe V2, Win 7 64bit Ultimate, Asus NVidia 8400 GS x2, UAD-1, Digi 003R Factory with PTLE 8.03, RME Multiface, Cubase 5 32bit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:52 PM
cfb25 cfb25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: California/ New york
Posts: 462
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

So for everyone that doesn't need timecode.... M-powered is just as good as le...
__________________
Chris Beaver Music
www.myspace.com/chrisfrankmusic

The Note Music
www.myspace.com/thenotemusic
Dual 2.0Ghz PPC 3gb Ram, Digi 002R
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2007, 04:20 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

Unless Digi releases something great at NAMM, there is NO reason to really go the Digi LE route for the vast majority. Mpowered plus lightbridge, let's you use any converter you want. I sold my 002 Rack, bought a Lightbridge and M-powered for less than I sold my 002 Rack. I use my RME FF800 for converters, which I was doing with my 002 Rack as well.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2007, 05:09 PM
edgarbc1 edgarbc1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 388
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

i switched (albeit from an ancient AMIII) to M-Powered ProjMix
and am completely satisfied with the switch. The projmix is big so consider
your work area, but other than that its a good buy. It takes a little getting used
to using the board if you are used to your mouse, you need it close by and accessible
to get the most out of it.. but i like how it frees me from the mouse for certain tasks

If you intend to use other pre-s than what is onboard, i would consider seriously the
FW1814 or the Lightbridge...
__________________
17" MBP i7, 4GB RAM, Profire 2626, PT-MP 8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-2007, 06:49 PM
neiljohnstonii neiljohnstonii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

So the lightbridge is compatible with M-Powered? There is nothing on M-Audio's website that says it is one of the audio interfaces for M-Powered.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-07-2007, 08:35 PM
edgarbc1 edgarbc1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 388
Default Re: M-Powered vs LE

Quote:
So the lightbridge is compatible with M-Powered? There is nothing on M-Audio's website that says it is one of the audio interfaces for M-Powered.
m-audio lightbridge web site
the website says it is compatible with 7.3...

digi compat page
__________________
17" MBP i7, 4GB RAM, Profire 2626, PT-MP 8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-Powered 8 Essential -> M-Powered 8 Upgrade Snowblind Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 08-09-2011 08:05 AM
mac osx, m powered fast track, pro tools m powered singdance6 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 12-22-2010 10:24 AM
Please Advise are Pro Tools M-Powered Essential the same as LE M-Powered? jeremiah0812 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-19-2010 11:10 AM
PT M-Powered with FW400 bus powered audio drive? bruceup Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 07-06-2006 02:32 PM
bus powered interface + bus powered enclosure ? technician Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 03-20-2006 06:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com