Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2013, 06:20 PM
berty berty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Brazil
Posts: 2
Default Pro Tools LE 6.8.1 MBP retina 10.8.4

Hello

I trained on a Pro Tools 101 course a few years back and after the course I bought Pro Tools LE with an Mbox 2. However, Digidesign simply informed me that my computer didn't work with either and wouldn't refund. Wasn't overly impressed with the 'Go stuff yourself' attitude.

So, 7 years later I now have a MBP retina (2012) so I have finally pulled my Mbox 2 out of the cupboard and wiped off the dust. I am not bothered in the slightest about having the latest fancy version or plugins, I would simply like to be able to use the PT I bought for the first time and activate an over $4,000 hitherto useless investment I made those years ago (the cost of the course plus the kit).

Can anyone tell me if I have a hope in hell of getting my system working? I do not have a DVD drive on my MBP retina (and wouldn't dream of buying one just for this) so cannot try installing from my own discs. The discs will not copy either from my other machine onto an external HDD.

Would I be licensed to use a later version of LE - which I realise has now been discontinued - with my license? Is there a version I can download?

Any help much appreciated. I have emailed digidesign but if their attitude last time was anything to go by they will take ages to get back and then simply say 'computer says no'!

Peace out,

Berty
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2013, 08:03 PM
groundcontrol's Avatar
groundcontrol groundcontrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 961
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 6.8.1 MBP retina 10.8.4

Unfortunately you'll have to get a version that works with your os which to my knowledge is 10 or 11. Also always make sure your interface is supported with the os and pt version.
(Although since v9 you could work off the computer headphone/line output without any soundcard.)

A simple Google search turned out this:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ility/en419171

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...m-Requirements
__________________
Can you please send yourself over fiber to go spam some other forum?

Darryl Ramm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2013, 11:46 PM
RegenerationMix RegenerationMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 752
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 6.8.1 MBP retina 10.8.4

Pro tools 8.0.5 LE works with 10.7.5, and possibly 10.8. As it is, Pro tools 8.0 would be the oldest version to run on Lion or Mountain Lion.

I doubt you could run Panther or Jaguar OS on a new retina Macbook pro as they are not intel but PowerPC.


For pro tools 7 or 6, it is highly unlikely either will function on Mountain Lion.



Chris
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/RegenerationMix

http://soundcloud.com/regenerationmix

http://twitter.com/regenerationmix


MacBook Pro, 2.4GHZ, 16GB, Intel Core i7, Mac OS 10.9.1 128 SSD internal HD, 750 GB Internal HD, Pro Tools 10.3.8, Digidesign 003r, Waves 8.0, Final Cut Pro 7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2013, 06:15 AM
berty berty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Brazil
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 6.8.1 MBP retina 10.8.4

Thanks for your quick responses.

OK, I see that I would have to work off PT 8,9 or 10. But would PT 9 or 10 work with my Mbox 2?

Best,

Berty
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-16-2013, 01:04 AM
RegenerationMix RegenerationMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 752
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 6.8.1 MBP retina 10.8.4

Pro tools 10 will work with the MBox 2. and Sweetwater and Musicians friend use to sell the MBox 2 with pro tools 9, so 9 should also work.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-a...s-9-crossgrade


I would go with 10 though if i were you. 10 will have a longer life than 9.



Chris
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/RegenerationMix

http://soundcloud.com/regenerationmix

http://twitter.com/regenerationmix


MacBook Pro, 2.4GHZ, 16GB, Intel Core i7, Mac OS 10.9.1 128 SSD internal HD, 750 GB Internal HD, Pro Tools 10.3.8, Digidesign 003r, Waves 8.0, Final Cut Pro 7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro 13" Retina with Pro Tools 11 and Digi 003 Pro Tooley FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 6 04-03-2015 09:05 PM
MacBook Pro Retina 13" with Digi 003 and Pro Tools 11 Pro Tooley FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 0 02-15-2014 10:49 AM
Pro Tools 9 on Retina MacBook graphics issue meisterammac macOS 2 05-21-2013 03:04 PM
Pro Tools 10 + Macbook Pro HD Retina 2.6 Ghz + Edirol UA 25 marcow macOS 0 03-11-2013 06:05 AM
M-Powerd Pro Tools 8.0.5 on Macbook Pro Retina - Need help! JakePlaysDrums Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 07-19-2012 07:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com