Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2004, 11:27 AM
tim carter tim carter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 318
Default Volumes Unsuitable for Playback

It seems while trashing preferences (which I've never done before) I have really screwed something up... when I went to open a session the 'disk allocation' popped up and asked to check it.. I did and it says 'none' under the root media folder... when I check ok the session opens and the audio files are not there.. the window reads 'the files are on volumes unsuitable for playback' it then asks 'would I like to copy them to a suitable volume' .. when I check yes the 'Choose Folder' appears with the audio files 'blued' out.. I cannot hi-light them to bring them up... any thoughts on what to do.... every session on my hard drive and my external drive is like this. I really need some precise directions on getting this back...Thanks for the help... tim
__________________
Mac G5, 10.5.8, 2 GB, Rosetta 800 w/X-HD Card, Control24, HD2, PT's 8
http://carterbrothersband.com/studio.cfm
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2004, 12:00 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Volumes Unsuitable for Playback

Open the Workspace Window in Pro Tools 6.x and in the A (Audio) column - make sure the drive is set as a Record drive.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2004, 12:09 PM
tim carter tim carter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 318
Default Re: Volumes Unsuitable for Playback

I am having trouble finding the Work Space.. how do I get to it? Thanks..tim
__________________
Mac G5, 10.5.8, 2 GB, Rosetta 800 w/X-HD Card, Control24, HD2, PT's 8
http://carterbrothersband.com/studio.cfm
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2004, 12:14 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Volumes Unsuitable for Playback

Which version of Pro Tools are you running?

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2004, 12:40 PM
tim carter tim carter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 318
Default Re: Volumes Unsuitable for Playback

6.0... sorry I did find my workspace, under the 'A' it is in Playback and under the 'V' is in Record.. is this correct? Thanks again, tim
__________________
Mac G5, 10.5.8, 2 GB, Rosetta 800 w/X-HD Card, Control24, HD2, PT's 8
http://carterbrothersband.com/studio.cfm
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2004, 12:49 PM
tim carter tim carter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 318
Default Re: Volumes Unsuitable for Playback

ok... so I have my audio files back. Thanks soo much Rail. I'm still wanting to know what should be selected under 'V'.. tim
__________________
Mac G5, 10.5.8, 2 GB, Rosetta 800 w/X-HD Card, Control24, HD2, PT's 8
http://carterbrothersband.com/studio.cfm
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2004, 01:17 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Volumes Unsuitable for Playback

V is for Video... I keep mine to Playback.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Volumes are unsuitable for playback mylar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-04-2005 03:55 PM
Volumes Unsuitable For Playback?? rmccam Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-16-2005 12:15 PM
Volumes Unsuitable For Playback?? rmccam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-16-2005 10:22 AM
Warning: Volumes unsuitable for playback Scott Nelson Tips & Tricks 2 02-04-2005 07:07 AM
Volumes unsuitable for playback? dmm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-21-2004 11:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com