Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #141  
Old 08-14-2020, 12:47 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,075
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

Of course it is a choice, but so was Waves' before that. Everyone chooses where to throw their money, obviously.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 08-14-2020, 04:13 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

Yep... and we all keep throwing it down the drain with the PT subscription model.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 08-14-2020, 07:06 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,067
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Yep... and we all keep throwing it down the drain with the PT subscription model.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I guess I just don't understand such a self inflicted notion. If you feel your throwing money down the drain you can always stop doing that

My sig line contains what I think is one of most profound things ol' Albert ever said. BUT this one has some relevance also

__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2020.5 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 08-14-2020, 01:14 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,982
Default Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

You’re absolutely right. It is kind of insane. Ha!

Every renewal I think ‘why’... but I still shell out the money. There’s many things that irk me, but there’s still many things I think it does MUCH better than the competition.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Sardi; 08-14-2020 at 06:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 08-15-2020, 02:47 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,067
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
You’re absolutely right. It is kind of insane. Ha!

Every renewal I think ‘why’... but I still shell out the money. There’s many things that irk me, but there’s still many things I think it does MUCH better than the competition.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Well, maybe just the norm in the music bizz , as the Byrds sang so long ago. "Was it it all a strange game, you're little insane"
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2020.5 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 08-16-2020, 10:27 AM
Cutlerbri Cutlerbri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 290
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

Is Pro Tools still considered the "industry standard"? I know that was the thought for a long time. Do big studios only have PT or do they have all the major DAWs?
I would think producers and engineers come in to studios these days with pre-pro on all kinds of platforms. Or do they just come in with WAV stems?
__________________
Brian
See profile page for system details
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 08-16-2020, 10:29 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,075
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

Industry standard means if I hire a studio for recording/mixing I expect it has PT and I can walk in with my demo session and continue from there. I also expect the studio engineer and/or mixer is fluent with PT editing and mixing so I don't need to drink more coffee than my stomach can take.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 08-16-2020, 11:12 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,959
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

”Industry Standard” is such an antiquated expression and I don’t know of ANY big studio for music recording today that uses that frase nor do they only have PT.

A modern studio today has several different DAW’s and most charting songs today are not made with Avid gear nor software.

If I went to a studio today and someone started talking ”industry standard” I would leave and go elsewhere as they probably wouldn’t offer anything new to our sessions with such oldschool mentality.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 08-16-2020, 11:14 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,075
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
nor do they only have PT
Of course any professional studio has all the bells and whistles, but what the so called "industry standard" means is what I just said. If you don't have that you don't have business even if you have every other tool available.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 08-16-2020, 11:16 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,959
Default Re: Is Pro Tools behind the curve?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Of course any professional studio has all the bells and whistles, but what the so called "industry standard" means is what I just said. If you don't have that you don't have business even if you have every other tool available.
Thats BS! When did you work in a professional studio last with modern pop music? And people started talking like old farts? No way brother.

That frase is dead and gone
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EQ Curve spoons Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 6 01-10-2017 04:16 AM
X-curve mr.armadillo Post - Surround - Video 0 04-27-2014 04:32 AM
Pro Tools Learning Curve DJKeys macOS 14 07-19-2011 02:57 PM
Learning Curve for Pro Tools from SX or Nuendo Use musicmanz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-06-2005 04:17 AM
How can I see my EQ curve? uno1234 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-11-2005 02:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com