Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2018, 04:16 PM
Suddenly Clear Suddenly Clear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 62
Default Studio 1824 with an Eleven Rack

Hi All,

I've posted a few times before on this forum asking questions about an 11R. I owned one for a fortnight before it broke! However, that didn't put me off, I've ended up purchasing a Presonus Studio 1824 (mostly with my two external synths and drum machine in mind) with another 11R. I've connected the 11R through S/PDIF to the Studio 1824. All appears to be working well so far; although I haven't tested it much due to my current track being all soft instruments.

I'm interested in whether there is a way of using the S/PDIF connection to route 1824 inputs through the 11R effects in real time? I use Pro Tools.

Obviously, I don't expect you to know about the Studio 1824, but just typically. It isn't, of course, essential, but would be a nice way of working from time to time.

Studio 1824, Universal Control and inputs:





Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Studio 1824 Inputs.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	51.9 KB
ID:	11016   Click image for larger version

Name:	Universal Control.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	28.8 KB
ID:	11019  

Last edited by Suddenly Clear; 10-30-2018 at 03:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2018, 04:24 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Studio 1824 with an Eleven Rack

The Eleven Rack is as dumb as any box can be. Set its rig input to S/PDIF In and it will process whatever signal you sent to it.. that includes from hardware based mixers in the interface if they can send to S/PDIF out... which it should take you almost no time to work out if yours can. If not then you could route via Pro Tools, at higher latency.

If you are just processing a live Mic or line input you might be better off sending that straight into the Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2018, 04:46 PM
Suddenly Clear Suddenly Clear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 62
Default Re: Studio 1824 with an Eleven Rack

Thanks Darryl. How would this typically be set up in Pro Tools?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2018, 05:05 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Studio 1824 with an Eleven Rack

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suddenly Clear View Post
Thanks Darryl. How would this typically be set up in Pro Tools?
Track output or a send to your interface’s S/PDIF output. Look up hardware insert tutorials on YouTube.

But does the hardware mixer support S/PDIF Out? If so you can go that route for lower latency. And you should still be able to track a dry signal through the mixer as well. (Answer: yes it does. So take your time and work our how to use the hardware mixer included with your interface. Like try: Shut down Pro Tools and work out how to use the mixer to route an input signal through your interface out to S/PDIF and through the Eleven Rack rig so you can hear it in headphones connected to the Eleven Rack. The meters in the front panel rig view of the Eleven Rack are very handy. RTFM time... Everything in simple as possible small steps).

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 10-29-2018 at 05:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-31-2018, 09:32 AM
Suddenly Clear Suddenly Clear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 62
Default Re: Studio 1824 with an Eleven Rack

Yes, I've plugged my headphones into 11R and can get a signal from the 1824 with effects applied. I can only hear the dry signal from the 1824.

Had a little experiment in Pro Tools. When I selected S/PDIF as input or insert I get a, suspected, horrendous feedback loop noise and peaked the meter. I'm obviously doing something wrong. In the I/O all the inputs/inserts/outputs are ticked.

Thanks

Last edited by Suddenly Clear; 10-31-2018 at 10:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-31-2018, 10:52 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Studio 1824 with an Eleven Rack

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suddenly Clear View Post
Yes, I've plugged my headphones into 11R and can get a signal from the 1824 with effects applied. I can only hear the dry signal from the 1824.

Had a little experiment in Pro Tools. When I selected S/PDIF as input or insert I get a, suspected, horrendous feedback loop noise and peaked the meter. I'm obviously doing something wrong. In the I/O all the inputs/inserts/outputs are ticked.

Thanks
You mean Setup>IO paths being ticked? You should not even be looking there or messing with that. Use the default for your interface and leave it alone.

The feedback of an output getting into an input is either coming though Pro Tools or the hardware mixer or a combination. My first *guess* would be the hardware mixer not set up correctly... like you have all output from that hardware mixer going to (or mirrored to S/PDIF Out) and are feeding back in DAW output to that as well.... you need to set up a custom mix to the S/PDIF Out with only the inout you want to go there. And if that is not it them you likely have the S/PDIF Out selected as the monitoring path/main output in Pro Tools.

All the tools to solve this are staring you in the face. You need to take time to work out what is going on. A useful tool can be to get a pad of paper and draw the signal paths for both the hardware mixer and DAW. And eventually be able to just visualize that all clearly in your head as you work on stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-31-2018, 04:32 PM
Suddenly Clear Suddenly Clear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 62
Default Re: Studio 1824 with an Eleven Rack

I think you're right, Darryl, about what's happening, but I'm as yet unable to change it.

I got a little further on. First, learning to switch on my monitors was a good idea because the headphone output doesn't affect the mute/solo/faders on the 1824 control panel.

More importantly, I discovered if I mute DAW1 (DAW return, I think) on the 1824 control panel, the horrible feedback loop isn't present when I select the S/PDIF input on a Pro Tools track. This enables me to record the wet 11R signal in the dark. For a moment I thought the solution was to solo the DAW1, but to my displeasure, this only returned the feedback problem.

It wouldn't be the case of needing a different physical output, would it?

Should you be curious enough to view the Studio 1824 manual, it can be found here:

https://pae-web.presonusmusic.com/do...N_02042018.pdf

Thanks, I appreciate the help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-31-2018, 05:33 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Studio 1824 with an Eleven Rack

If you mute a DAW return and are not getting feedback and then you enable it and are... then you need to find out how the DAW return is feeding back. Which is basically the same suggestions I made before, e.g. like your main output is going into the S/PDIF you are sending to the Eleven Rack or ... *you* need to go look in detail at that signal routing in the mixer. And make sure S/PDIF In to your hardware mixer should be disabled.... (should be obvious why when you think about it).

Sorry, I am not going to do your work for you. And I doubt others will either. You need to work this out yourself, and importantly you need to work out how to work this out.

I've already suggested drawing/visualizing the signal routing. I'm going to guess you have not done that. Or if you have you need to go back over it and confirm that what you've drawn is reality.

Other tools you can use to help understand stuff are meters in the Eleven Rack, and the signal gen plugin drivign a spare output on your interface to inject signals into inputs. Say to drive the hardware mixer while you play with it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-31-2018, 06:38 PM
Suddenly Clear Suddenly Clear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 62
Default Re: Studio 1824 with an Eleven Rack

Darryl, I honestly thought you might be curious about the Studio 1824, as some technically minded people like to get involved, which is why I linked the manual. I wasn't expecting you to do the work for me.

Your help is appreciated. I hope you can see I am slowly working my way through it, which is how I go about most things

Last edited by Suddenly Clear; 11-01-2018 at 03:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-08-2018, 05:01 PM
Suddenly Clear Suddenly Clear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 62
Default Re: Studio 1824 with an Eleven Rack

This is resolved now, thanks to help from PreSonus. I may have got there much quicker if I hadn't have overlooked the main fader on the individual mixes were turned down (not very observant of me). Anyway, thanks, Darryl for attempting to help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Studio 1824 vs Avid/M-Audio Fast Track C400 Suddenly Clear Third Party Interfaces 0 10-06-2018 04:16 PM
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 or PreSonus Studio 1824 its2loud FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 1 08-06-2018 04:36 PM
Eleven Rack has very low output volume on studio monitors Designer66 Eleven Rack 7 05-20-2017 08:11 AM
Eleven Rack and Studio Monitors Sevenand3 Eleven Rack 1 10-09-2016 12:08 PM
Eleven Rack window responds to changes on Eleven Rack, unable to record. pine Eleven Rack 6 08-02-2012 08:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com