Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2006, 10:09 AM
gilmour123 gilmour123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default older sessions crash while loading PT 7.2

Am running PT 7.2 HD2 on Mac OSX 3.4.6, dual processor G4 running at 867mhz, with 768ram. I use external SCSI drives, as I have for years. Any new session is fine, I have recorded 16 tracks at once and had no problem or lag with recording or playback. Any PT 7.1 or 7.2 session loads fine from the SCSI drives, but anything older (and I have sessions running back to 5.1) causes a crash, always. Only ProTools crashes, the Mac says it's fine.
I have tried importing the old sessions into 7.2 rather than opening them, and that crashes as well. I have updated the ATTO firmware for the SCSI interface, and while I haven't gotten the legacy hardware recognized (1622 into a 96io), I don't think either are the problem. 7.2 loads fine by itself when it's icon is clicked. Anyone? Bueller?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2006, 11:56 AM
Delta Music Belgium's Avatar
Delta Music Belgium Delta Music Belgium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sint-Truiden, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 577
Default Re: older sessions crash while loading PT 7.2

I'm having exactly the same problems here, I mailed about it a lot with Digi Tech Support but nobody seems to be able to help me out... It is driving me crazy! I invested more then 150.000 USD in a PT HD 7 Accel and it is not even possible to open any of my older 5.1.3 sessions without crashing, it sucks big time! Sorry but I have to vent sometime...

Marc Schellekens
http://www.deltamusic.be

Mac G4 Dual 1,25 GHz (FW800) + ATTO UL3D + OSX 10.4.7 + PT HD 7.2cs1
PT HD 7 Accel (1 x HD Core PCI + 6 x HD Accel PCI) inside 7-slot 64 bit Digidesign PCI Exp. Chassis
192 I/O + 192D I/O + SYNC I/O + MIDI I/O + ProControl + Avid Mojo
Apogee Big Ben + Apogee Rosetta 200 + Rosendahl Nanosyncs
__________________
Marc Schellekens
Delta Music Belgium - Pro Tools | HDX Studio
http://www.deltamusic.be

Pro Tools | HDX system:
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.14.6 - Magma EB7 - PT HDX3 - PT Ultimate - HD I/O 16x16 - HD I/O 16x16 Digital - 192 I/O - 192D I/O (x3) - SYNC HD I/O - Apogee Big Ben - Rosetta 200 - Avid S3 + Slate RAVEN MTi2 (x2) in a RAVEN CORE Station + 2 RAVEN CORE Station Sidecars - Almost all available AAX-DSP plug-ins
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2006, 12:17 PM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 356
Default Re: older sessions crash while loading PT 7.2

I've had this before, and while I'm sure Digi is working on a fix, here's a way around it.

From my experience, older sessions my contain illegal characters or have minor glitches in the session file that 7x cannot deal with. If you are able to open up the session on an older system that has ProTools 6 on it, there's a pretty good chance that the session will open (session file is fully forward and backward compatible from 5.1 to 6.9). Once it's open, do a 'Save Session Copy In...' and choose .WAV as the file type, 24bit, select +12 faders, and make sure you 'Copy All Audio'. This will ensure that the session file and audio files are quite different from the original.

Now, there's a good chance it will open on 7x.

Give it a shot...
Cheers, eh?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2006, 12:28 PM
Delta Music Belgium's Avatar
Delta Music Belgium Delta Music Belgium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sint-Truiden, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 577
Default Re: older sessions crash while loading PT 7.2

I'm well aware of this workaround, as a matter of fact I still have my old PT 24 MIX 4 with 5.1.3 that I used for the last 6 or 7 years to do this, but I can assure you it is a real hassle to fire up my old rig to do a 'save session copy in' each time I want to use an old session in my shiny new HD 7 Accel...

But I thank you for the tip anyway

Cheers!
__________________
Marc Schellekens
Delta Music Belgium - Pro Tools | HDX Studio
http://www.deltamusic.be

Pro Tools | HDX system:
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.14.6 - Magma EB7 - PT HDX3 - PT Ultimate - HD I/O 16x16 - HD I/O 16x16 Digital - 192 I/O - 192D I/O (x3) - SYNC HD I/O - Apogee Big Ben - Rosetta 200 - Avid S3 + Slate RAVEN MTi2 (x2) in a RAVEN CORE Station + 2 RAVEN CORE Station Sidecars - Almost all available AAX-DSP plug-ins
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2006, 01:19 PM
gilmour123 gilmour123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: older sessions crash while loading PT 7.2

Ooof! That can't be the only solution out there, can it? I'm talking about dozens of sessions I would have to convert and resave. Is there some sort of Force Convert patch in the works? Does it have anything to do with the speed or model of the Mac?
I appreciate the suggestion, horrifying as it is. Thank you.
Why do I suddenly feel all depressed about spending all this money?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2006, 01:57 PM
Delta Music Belgium's Avatar
Delta Music Belgium Delta Music Belgium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sint-Truiden, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 577
Default Re: older sessions crash while loading PT 7.2

I share your feelings, as stated in my initial reply

I do not think the problem is machine or speed related, I managed to track it down to at least one or more of the following events:

- it has to do with AIFF files (most of the time split stereo)

- it has to do with the naming of files (illegal characters)

- when you do a 'Get info' on these files it states 'open with Quicktime' (or iTunes, or logic Pro, etc...), if you change this manually to 'Pro Tools 7.2' sometimes they do seem to load without crashing PT HD 7.2... Btw, no change in PT HD 7.2cs1 !!! (which I hoped for so much)

For the time being this is all I know for sure and the only solution still seems to be to do a 'save session copy in' with PT 5.x or 6.x.
__________________
Marc Schellekens
Delta Music Belgium - Pro Tools | HDX Studio
http://www.deltamusic.be

Pro Tools | HDX system:
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.14.6 - Magma EB7 - PT HDX3 - PT Ultimate - HD I/O 16x16 - HD I/O 16x16 Digital - 192 I/O - 192D I/O (x3) - SYNC HD I/O - Apogee Big Ben - Rosetta 200 - Avid S3 + Slate RAVEN MTi2 (x2) in a RAVEN CORE Station + 2 RAVEN CORE Station Sidecars - Almost all available AAX-DSP plug-ins
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Older sessions opened cause Pro Tools to crash in 10.1.1 B Stewart macOS 3 03-23-2012 09:41 AM
AutoTune 5 Crashing Pro-Tools loading older sessions KingFish Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-16-2010 02:19 PM
Older PT Sessions not loading in 8? Musepro Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 07-17-2009 08:04 AM
Older PT Sessions not loading in 8? Musepro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-17-2009 08:03 AM
Strike not loading in older sessions since moving to PT8 Che_Guitarra Virtual Instruments 2 01-12-2009 02:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com