Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2019, 10:17 AM
wrichter wrichter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 5
Default Coming back to protools after 6 year hiatus

Hey community!
I would much appreciate some opinions on how to work with my protools in 2019. I am now using protools express, looks like im on version 12.7. I've been out the game since 2013, but have some time again so I bought into protools express, and have been able to get something going.

My setup is relatively simple. I run the 1/4" outputs of my mpc2500 into an old Fast Track Duo which is connected to my laptop (mac running Mojave 10.14.5) via usb. I currently record onto just one track in protools (ie i dont track out) with no major issues.

I wanted to begin tracking out my beats, and was exploring which way I should go. I haven't really used or upgraded my hardware in a long time so I figured I am willing to invest in something new if needed. My understanding is that to best trackout with just 1 set of outputs (I dont want something like digi003), I would need a midi sync so that I could trigger the MPC to play when I hit record on the protools, and then record each MPC track individually to separate tracks in protools. Fast TRack Duo does not have any Midi capability. (I want the sync to avoid having to line up tracks manually)

What can I do here? I'm realizing my hardware is discontinued, so I wouldn't mind buying something new that can also help me with my setup. https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...ould-check-out

Given my simple setup
1. Do I infact need the midi to do what I need? If so, my plan is to see which of these 10 products has midi.
2. If I don't need midi, how should I track out individuals tracks (eg kick, snare, hat)

Thanks for your time,
Walter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2019, 11:18 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,555
Default Re: Coming back to protools after 6 year hiatus

Your problem isn't necessarily going to be the MIDI but compatibility between PT and Mojave. According to the chart on this page: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart the latest OSX PT 12.7 is considered compatible with is 10.12.2 (an early revision of Sierra). You're going to need to solve that first (no pun intended).
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2019, 11:29 AM
wrichter wrichter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 5
Default Re: Coming back to protools after 6 year hiatus

Thx for the comment.

I initially thught the same thing as far as compability between PT and Mojave, but went ahead with the installation anyway. So far no issues that I can tell. I was able to record form my mpc onto single track, and then bounce without any problems.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2019, 12:30 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,555
Default Re: Coming back to protools after 6 year hiatus

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrichter View Post
Thx for the comment.

I initially thught the same thing as far as compability between PT and Mojave, but went ahead with the installation anyway. So far no issues that I can tell. I was able to record form my mpc onto single track, and then bounce without any problems.
You're really going to have to take care of the compatibility issues before going any further elsewise you're just wasting time.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2019, 06:43 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Coming back to protools after 6 year hiatus

How much do you want to spend on an interface?
The Universal Audio interfaces are very nice, but carry a pretty big price tag.
If all you need is two inputs and MIDI, then something simple like a Presonus AudioBox would do the trick. https://www.presonus.com/products/AudioBox-iTwo
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2019, 07:20 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,860
Default Re: Coming back to protools after 6 year hiatus

If you only need 2in2out the Focusrite 2i2 is the one I would get! No brainer. Priced around 150 +/- which is a steal ..
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-2019, 07:22 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,926
Default Re: Coming back to protools after 6 year hiatus

.. or Focusrite Clarett 2PRE. Generally people have found Focusrite support better than Presonus but YMMV of course. Speaking as someone outside USA.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back from hiatus? L-Dogg macOS 0 01-11-2018 10:12 AM
Coming back to PT, is it subscription only now? Flumpton Getting Started 1 01-29-2016 07:21 AM
Coming back to Protools. Flumpton macOS 4 02-17-2015 05:06 AM
Coming back to ProTools stevieleep 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-25-2008 02:44 PM
Stand back! IBM Power4 coming through! Lee Blaske Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-08-2002 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com