Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #101  
Old 11-06-2015, 03:16 PM
stevegalante stevegalante is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Montreal, QC (Canada)
Posts: 1,725
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

Let's report here if this is still happening in 12.3
__________________
http://www.stevegalante.com
System details :
ProTools Native card, Ultimate 2019.5, MacPro 5,1 12 Core 3.33GHz, 64Gb RAM, Mojave 10.14.4, Lynx Aurora(n), Raven MTi
  #102  
Old 11-07-2015, 10:49 AM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 468
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

It's still too early for me to be convinced, but I haven't had a noise blast yet in 12.3. I'm getting more 6101 errors than before though...at least those won't blow your speakers! But they are equally annoying. I still have this nervous feeling though, like I'm afraid to turn it up in fear of the impending blast.
__________________
2018.3 HD, MacPro 5.1 12core 3.46, 24gig ram, OS 10.12.6, 2014 MPB 2.8, OS 10.12.6
  #103  
Old 11-07-2015, 10:56 AM
Arionas Arionas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Athens
Posts: 75
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by dankin View Post
It's still too early for me to be convinced, but I haven't had a noise blast yet in 12.3. I'm getting more 6101 errors than before though...at least those won't blow your speakers! But they are equally annoying. I still have this nervous feeling though, like I'm afraid to turn it up in fear of the impending blast.
My friend I understand you very well... I'm in the same position of fear...
Let's hope now it went far away.... however I didn't read anything about on 12.3 release notes and bug fixes...
  #104  
Old 11-07-2015, 10:59 AM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 468
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arionas View Post
however I didn't read anything about on 12.3 release notes and bug fixes...
That's why I'm fearful:) Since they've finally acknowledged it exist, surely they would mention it if they fixed it.
__________________
2018.3 HD, MacPro 5.1 12core 3.46, 24gig ram, OS 10.12.6, 2014 MPB 2.8, OS 10.12.6
  #105  
Old 11-08-2015, 11:51 AM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 468
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

Just had my first 12.3 noise blast...so it's still there. So ready for this to be fixed!!!!
__________________
2018.3 HD, MacPro 5.1 12core 3.46, 24gig ram, OS 10.12.6, 2014 MPB 2.8, OS 10.12.6
  #106  
Old 11-08-2015, 08:30 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

This all raises an interesting question.

Considering this bug appears in various versions of Pro Tools, will those who are not entitled to get Dot releases, be entitled to this retrospective bug fix when it eventuates or will it only be a v12 release?

In other words, would one have to upgrade to 12 to get the fix.

Assuming Avid actually get around to ever fixing it!
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro

Last edited by zedhed; 11-08-2015 at 08:52 PM.
  #107  
Old 11-08-2015, 09:14 PM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 468
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

I would hope they are taking this issue seriously.
__________________
2018.3 HD, MacPro 5.1 12core 3.46, 24gig ram, OS 10.12.6, 2014 MPB 2.8, OS 10.12.6
  #108  
Old 11-09-2015, 10:22 AM
miknoypinoy's Avatar
miknoypinoy miknoypinoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: la palma, ca
Posts: 40
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

Another confirmation of noise blasts in 12.3. Minimal automation on two aux tracks. Just muting and un-muting the tracks.

Funny thing is the blasts only appeared at the end of the song after bouncing the song was complete.
__________________
im not afraid. . . YOU WILL BE. . . YOU WILL BE

mike g. . .
  #109  
Old 11-09-2015, 12:56 PM
stevegalante stevegalante is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Montreal, QC (Canada)
Posts: 1,725
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

I can confirm it's happening in 12.3 too.
It seems to happen only (or more often) when I hit play very soon after I hit stop.
Hope they fix it right away...
__________________
http://www.stevegalante.com
System details :
ProTools Native card, Ultimate 2019.5, MacPro 5,1 12 Core 3.33GHz, 64Gb RAM, Mojave 10.14.4, Lynx Aurora(n), Raven MTi
  #110  
Old 11-19-2015, 04:23 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,280
Default Re: Noise Blasts in PT 12

Hey guys, I can't remember - did we rule out using VIs as a cause?

I only ask as I normally almost always run at least one or two VIs per mix (drum triggers and what-have-you), but I've just finished a mix where I committed the triggers to audio first, and didn't get any noise blasts at all.

To extrapolate further - I've no idea how ProTools is programmed but is it possible that the MIDI playback runs in tandem with the audio playback and sometimes gets little glitchy...resulting in a mass of "127" MIDI Notes for split second? You know like if you're in play, and you go to rename a few clips (I use shift-apple-r), sometimes the MIDI stops running but the audio carries on, and then when you've finished the MIDI will just suddenly crash back in with an almighty "BANG"....?

I know, I know, I should be working, not thinking up random theories.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noise Blasts in PT12.5 TrentWilliams Pro Tools 12 22 04-21-2016 03:15 PM
Noise blasts on ProTools 12.2.0.152 Marcus86 Pro Tools 12 3 09-15-2015 11:18 AM
F'n furious noise blasts Jenk2k 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 03-20-2010 04:16 PM
White Hot M-BOX Noise Blasts! Please Help! Derek Doublin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 03-17-2004 11:47 AM
Protools 6 white noise blasts - little help? roryrok 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 29 03-07-2003 12:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com