Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-29-2017, 12:27 AM
Downtown_BE Downtown_BE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: switzerland
Posts: 134
Default Re: Mac Pro - higher Single Core Speed or more Cores

Quote:
Originally Posted by powerofeight View Post
i have access to some pretty high-end hardware (how and why is not important) on the workstation and server level and i have conducted this experiment many, many times. I've tried all sorts of set ups, dual cpus, single cpu with high ghz count, single cpu high core count and lower ghz count.


More cores less ghz, or less cores more ghz??? It all comes down to how the application is utilizing multi-cores/multi-threads. It also comes down to how clean the coding of the application is and what technologies are being taken advantage of.

Actually, by the end of the week i'll be conducting the same experiment one more time since windows pro for workstations now allows us to utilize 4 socket cpus on the motherboard on the workstation level instead of needing a server os.

When it comes down to it, although pro tools supports high multi-core setups, when rendering, sometimes i'll see 20% usage across all cores which tells me, the thread counts are splitting up but are not being utilized to the max for each core.

But if you have a 16 core / 32 thread xeon cpu at 2ghz /core vs a 6 core at 3.7ghz a core (i7-8700k) and 4.7ghz burst, i'm going to take the lesser core count at the faster speed to outperform it in pro tools. I'm not coding for pro tools, but it seems that pro tools performs better at faster core than high core/lower ghz. Again, i'm pretty sure this is code-related.

But if for example, you are using vegas 15, or doing 3d or type of video encoding that utilizes all cores to their maximum (vegas 15 absolutely does as it extremely cpu intensive) than multicore is the way to go.

I also have reason to believe given the freshness of amd ryzen / threadripper, pro tools does not get even close to taking full advantage of these technologies despite the insane core /ghz count. (vegas is a program that does seem to do so)

this is a subject actually take a lot of interest in, since i don't believe what i read and i have a coffee lake 8700k coming in this week to test and see how it handles the rendering process in pro tools and vegas.

I'll be testing a quad cpu vs dual cpu, vs single cpu (high ghz) vs single cpu (high core) etc etc.

Should make for some interesting results. My hypothesis is that the coffee lake will end up winning with its insane core speeds.

We will see...
very interesting!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-04-2017, 05:45 PM
spock999 spock999 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ste-Julienne Qc Canada
Posts: 153
Default Re: Mac Pro - higher Single Core Speed or more Cores

I will wait patiently for your next post
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-04-2017, 07:51 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,043
Default Re: Mac Pro - higher Single Core Speed or more Cores

Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerofEight View Post
I have access to some pretty high-end hardware (how and why is not important) on the workstation and server level and I have conducted this experiment many, many times. I've tried all sorts of set ups, dual cpus, single cpu with high ghz count, single cpu high core count and lower ghz count.


More cores less ghz, or Less cores more ghz??? It all comes down to how the APPLICATION is utilizing multi-cores/multi-threads. It also comes down to how clean the coding of the application is and what technologies are being taken advantage of.

Actually, by the end of the week I'll be conducting the same experiment one more time since Windows Pro for Workstations now allows us to utilize 4 socket CPUs on the motherboard on the workstation level instead of needing a server OS.

When it comes down to it, although pro tools supports high multi-core setups, when rendering, sometimes I'll see 20% usage across all cores which tells me, the thread counts are splitting up but are not being utilized to the max for each core.

But if you have a 16 core / 32 thread xeon cpu at 2ghz /core vs a 6 core at 3.7ghz a core (i7-8700k) and 4.7ghz burst, I'm going to take the lesser core count at the faster speed to outperform it in pro tools. I'm not coding for pro tools, but it seems that pro tools performs better at faster core than high core/lower ghz. Again, I'm pretty sure this is code-related.

But if for example, you are using Vegas 15, or doing 3d or type of video encoding that utilizes ALL cores to their maximum (Vegas 15 absolutely does as it EXTREMELY CPU intensive) than multicore is the way to go.

I also have reason to believe given the freshness of AMD ryzen / threadripper, pro tools does not get even close to taking full advantage of these technologies despite the insane core /ghz count. (Vegas is a program that does seem to do so)

This is a subject actually take a lot of interest in, since I don't believe what I read and I have a coffee lake 8700k coming in this week to test and see how it handles the rendering process in pro tools and vegas.

I'll be testing a quad cpu vs dual cpu, vs single cpu (high ghz) vs single cpu (high core) etc etc.

Should make for some interesting results. My hypothesis is that the coffee lake will end up winning with its insane core speeds.

We will see...
This has been my experience as well. I’ve used Vegas Pro and you are correct it uses all Core to there max while Pro Tools works better with a medium rage multi ( 4 or 6 ) core with higher cpu clock speed. It would be nice to see Pro Tools advance to this level but it’s not likely to happen for a long long time.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-05-2017, 04:02 PM
teedeecee teedeecee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 98
Default Re: Mac Pro - higher Single Core Speed or more Cores

I consider the utility "iStat Menus" a vital default application on every mac I run. Instant visual feedback of your machines load and both Drive I/O and network usage.

Its clear to see at a glance what apps are well written for multicore use and those that are not.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-06-2017, 01:07 PM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 363
Default Re: Mac Pro - higher Single Core Speed or more Cores

Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerofEight View Post
This is a subject actually take a lot of interest in, since I don't believe what I read and I have a coffee lake 8700k coming in this week to test and see how it handles the rendering process in pro tools and vegas.

I'll be testing a quad cpu vs dual cpu, vs single cpu (high ghz) vs single cpu (high core) etc etc.
interested in your results!
__________________
my (long-term) travel system
~ Macbook Air 11" / 2gHz dual i7 / 256GB ssd / PT12.5.2 / McDSP+SoundToys / Apogee Duet ~
whole studio (+3 mics) weighs 7 lbs & mixes 24 tracks without a hiccup!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-06-2017, 06:00 PM
PowerofEight PowerofEight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 39
Default Re: Mac Pro - higher Single Core Speed or more Cores

All,

The hardware (i7-8700k) came in Monday. I haven't had a chance to get anything going since this has been a long week. I know everyone is curious to what the results will be.

I'll try to get to this soon.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-06-2017, 06:04 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,780
Default Re: Mac Pro - higher Single Core Speed or more Cores

Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerofEight View Post
All,

The hardware (i7-8700k) came in Monday. I haven't had a chance to get anything going since this has been a long week. I know everyone is curious to what the results will be.

I'll try to get to this soon.
Its ridiculously powerful. Broke 1000 on the Dverb test. It screams past the previous generation 6 core 6800k. It has its shortcomings, but in pure power, it is quite impressive.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance of Pro Tools in multi cores seems the same as in single core whsi Windows 5 02-10-2014 08:58 PM
New Mac Pro 8 Cores slower than Quad and Old Gen. on Single Threaded Tasks 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-11-2009 11:00 AM
Playback at double speed / higher speed in LE? Chris Nelson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-26-2008 09:28 AM
(a) MBox Micro (b) Anyone using PT7+ on Single Cores? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-31-2007 08:52 AM
4 Cores on a Single Processor Yodah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-28-2006 08:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com