Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2009, 09:56 PM
jdjurado jdjurado is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 30
Default Hardware Recommendations

What do you guys recommend for hardware improvements? I just installed Protools LE 8 and it runs just a bit slower than I'd like. Here is what I currently have:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core (4800) 2.5Ghz
4 GB RAM
ATI Radeon X1200 Series Video Card 256 MB memory
640 GB, SATA 3 Gb/s, 32 MB Cache, 7200 RPM Western Digital Hard Drive
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 bit Service Pack 2

Thanks for any input!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-16-2009, 12:43 AM
mano111 mano111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,267
Default Re: Hardware Recommendations

What do you mean by "slower"?
Do you have a dedicated audio drive? (its a requirement)
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.4GHZ -- Intel DP67BG B3 -- 8GB DDR3 1600 -- Crucial SSD
PTLE 8.0.4cs2 -- DIGI 003R -- DV toolkit -- Waves 9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2009, 06:20 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Hardware Recommendations

I don't know if Digi has approved SP2 yet. The intel quads (Q9550 or i7 920) stomp all over any dual core system. Using a second internal SATA drive will perform better than firewire. I generally only use firewire drives to transfer to other studios.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2009, 11:23 AM
jdjurado jdjurado is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 30
Default Re: Hardware Recommendations

Quote:
Originally Posted by mano111 View Post
What do you mean by "slower"?
Do you have a dedicated audio drive? (its a requirement)
Do you mean a dedicated Hard Drive for audio files for Protools to use?
By slower, I mean that, compared to Cubase LE 4, my computer seems to be a bit overwhelmed in terms of CPU resources being taken up
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2009, 11:24 AM
jdjurado jdjurado is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 30
Default Re: Hardware Recommendations

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I don't know if Digi has approved SP2 yet. The intel quads (Q9550 or i7 920) stomp all over any dual core system. Using a second internal SATA drive will perform better than firewire. I generally only use firewire drives to transfer to other studios.
Albee, so you're saying that a quad core is definitely recommended? How about a better video card, would that do anything for me?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-16-2009, 11:29 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Hardware Recommendations

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdjurado View Post
Albee, so you're saying that a quad core is definitely recommended? How about a better video card, would that do anything for me?
Quad core is just better for obvious reasons than what u have to be candid(as I usually am)...

as for a better vid card, it would NOT do it for u...

As in comparing Cubase & PT8 STOP IT!

@ totally different things & remember, or know if u don't, that PT is a REAL-TIME sample based DAW unlike any other which is why it would need more power & ur Cubase can run fan on what u have...Its not REAL-TIME...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-16-2009, 11:32 AM
jdjurado jdjurado is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 30
Default Re: Hardware Recommendations

lol, i appreciate your candidness :) I promise i will never again compare Cubase and PT. Thanks for the tip on the quad core; I just wanted to make sure PT actually took advantage of multiple cores
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-16-2009, 11:34 AM
jdjurado jdjurado is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 30
Default Re: Hardware Recommendations

Well I already have an AMD motherboard, so what do you guys think of a AMD Phenom II X4 940?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-16-2009, 11:37 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Hardware Recommendations

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdjurado View Post
lol, i appreciate your candidness :) I promise i will never again compare Cubase and PT. Thanks for the tip on the quad core; I just wanted to make sure PT actually took advantage of multiple cores
Well it most certainly is... & No prob

As for that processor, thatz out of my league... Can't be candid on that 1
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-16-2009, 01:44 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Hardware Recommendations

If you are familiar with the Dverb test(a stress test to benchmark a Pro Tools LE system), then I can tell you my older AMD 6000+ (dual 3 GHz) topped out at 104. My new intel i7 quad more than doubles that number(other users are doing triple that number). You absolutely must record to a separate hard drive(not a partition of the system drive). USB drives are NOT supported. Firewire drives need an Oxford chipset. Firewire ports(either on the motherboard or on a card) should have a TI chipset(some others work and some others don't). eSATA also works fine but adding an internal drive is the cheapest and best performing setup(nothing beats a good SATA drive at 7200 rpm with 32 meg cache). 10K drives are not worth the extra money(my opinion only) as they offer no real performance boost over 7200 rpm. Poke around the Windows section of the DUC to see opinions on the Phenom quads. Also, check the manufacturer's website for your motherboard to see if its compatible with the newer Phenom II cpu's.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Unable to locate M-Audio hardware. Make sure your hardware is connected and turned o MerryD Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 8 08-02-2012 12:59 AM
unable to locate m-audio hardware. make sure your hardware is..works fine in ableton? pein Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 10-07-2009 12:01 AM
hardware recommendations for getting a MBPro to work with DIGI003 wishesonaplane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 05-05-2009 05:23 AM
Hardware recommendations? Kleekoh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-23-2003 08:19 AM
Hardware Recommendations For 002 August Heat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-20-2002 12:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com