Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2006, 01:31 PM
jumpnblues jumpnblues is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Midwest
Posts: 34
Default ...\"held off interrupts for too long\"...

I just recorded several back-to-back grooves from my BFD percussion software on one track in one session (about 65 minutes worth). When I try to bounce to disc I get the error message that my doohicky held off interrupts for too long and I should increase my buffer size which is already maxed out to 1024 samples. I chose AIFF as the format. Is this correct? I want to burn off a CD for my drummer buddy but I can't get the recorded samples bounced to disc. What am I doing wrong? I'm running a Digi 002R, Dual Power Mac G-5, OS 10.4.5, and Protools 7.1. Any suggestions? Thank you.

Tom
__________________
jumpnblues
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2006, 02:02 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: ...\"held off interrupts for too long\"...

Are your BFD samples on a separate drive from the one you're trying to bounce to? If you're using the same drive for recording and streaming samples, it might be too much for the system to keep up with.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2006, 03:44 PM
jumpnblues jumpnblues is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Midwest
Posts: 34
Default Re: ...\"held off interrupts for too long\"...

Yes, my sessions are on a separate drive from my operating system.

Tom
__________________
jumpnblues
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2006, 05:46 PM
NotRude NotRude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 43
Default Re: ...\"held off interrupts for too long\"...

I've been sporadically getting the same error message, I don't get why. My computer is dual processor G5 1.8 with 3 gig ram and a 150 gig system 250 gig media drive OSX.4.5 PTLE 7.1. The sessions this has happened to me are not at all taxing to the system and leave me baffled as to why anything at all should be happening.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2006, 06:46 PM
bassntreble bassntreble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 448
Default Re: ...\"held off interrupts for too long\"...

your best bet is to contact FXpansion, the makers of BFD...I've seen this problem as well and i think the plug isn't optimized for PT7 and is causing the RTAS engine to spike the processor. Happens with a lot of 3rd party plugs out there it seems.

I don't know if it's the dev's fault for not following the spec or Digi's fault for churning out a half-baked but multi-threaded RTAS engine.
__________________
G5 1.8X2/3gigRAM/Mbox/7.4 (retired)
MBP C2D 2.4/4GigRAM/Mbox/8.0.1
iMac i7 3.4/16GigRAM/10.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2006, 04:25 PM
Hype Hype is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 228
Default Re: ...\"held off interrupts for too long\"...

I just posted a thread about installing (as recommended by FXpansion) BFD lite on another drive....but to no avail. the installer is forcing me to install it on the System drive???
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-24-2006, 05:20 PM
shanabit shanabit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 506
Default Re: ...\"held off interrupts for too long\"...

Your not alone with this issue. Ive tried EVERYTHING with my setup. NO GO!!
I gave up completely. Waste of time till they get it fixed. Try DKHS, I bet it works better
__________________
MacPro 8 Core,2.4, 14 Gig Ram.
OSX 10.8.2
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-27-2006, 12:16 AM
Earthling Earthling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 58
Default Re: ...\"held off interrupts for too long\"...

Quote:
I just recorded several back-to-back grooves from my BFD percussion software on one track in one session (about 65 minutes worth). When I try to bounce to disc I get the error message that my doohicky held off interrupts for too long and I should increase my buffer size which is already maxed out to 1024 samples. I chose AIFF as the format. Is this correct? I want to burn off a CD for my drummer buddy but I can't get the recorded samples bounced to disc. What am I doing wrong? I'm running a Digi 002R, Dual Power Mac G-5, OS 10.4.5, and Protools 7.1. Any suggestions? Thank you.

Tom
Well I don't know what you mean by your "Doohicky"...LOL! But try this - In PT, go to Setup/Playback Engine, and set the RTAS Processors to "1" ( even thought you have 2 in your G5 ). I had a similar problem a couple times with Kontakt2, and this resolved it for me. I know that the latest version of K2 is not yet optimized for PT 7. So there could be a chance that the BFD version you are using, is not optimized for PT 7. It's worth a shot at least trying this
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS Held off interrupts for too long? wfenlon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-29-2013 04:12 AM
OS Held Off Interrupts for Too Long! Nsufera 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-01-2007 08:35 AM
OS held of interrupts for too long... Norcaldude2003 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-20-2006 02:25 PM
OS held of interrupts for too long... Norcaldude2003 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-16-2006 12:42 PM
held off interrupts for too long...!!!...What?!?! groovilator 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 10-13-2003 03:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com