Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-17-2007, 11:04 AM
casperfun casperfun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 489
Default Re: Pro Tools LE Vista

Quote:
Maybe I should buy it soon so everyone will have the update eh?
By all means yes. We all should be so lucky!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-17-2007, 02:56 PM
epu epu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 932
Default Re: Pro Tools LE Vista

What the hell did you do to your 2002 laptop that everything is falling apart. Sheesh, I have a 2003 laptop that looks just as good as the day when I purchased it!!!
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" (Mid 2014)
16GB RAM
512GB SSD
Pro-Tools 12
2.5GHz i7 Quad Core
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-18-2007, 03:07 AM
casperfun casperfun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 489
Default Re: Pro Tools LE Vista

#1 The Dvd drive never could record dvd's from the get go. Well known Toshiba issue since it was supposedly the first dvd recorders in the laptop market. 5205-S703 series. I didnt find out til couple of years later since I never really recorded dvd's. Just this year the dvd/cd player recently failed.

The heat generated from my pro tools session made the laptop very hot, I speculate that it caused the bracket to deform a bit until it broke.

Finally, the battery no longer charges. Typical.

.... I am a electronics person all my life to a point of being anal. I use a light touch, computer wipes, little vacuums, cushioned cases, dust free environment. You can only do so much until some things just fail.

Anyways, electronics eventually break down. No biggie. But do you think Digi would still recommend a 5 yr old laptop to run their precious PTLE 7.3?

It be nice if we can use our dual 2 core vista laptops "as per promise" this summer by Digi.

OO2R & Mbox2 owner
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-29-2007, 05:57 AM
FERGY FERGY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 41
Default Re: Pro Tools LE Vista

Quote:
Casper, Casper, Casper.
You're worse than my grandson.
"Are we there yet???"
You and your Grandson ......

Seriously, this is a pain in the anus.
I've had MBox 2 Pro since January and have not used it once.

Like Casper said, it's well into Summer at this stage and ALL OTHER MUSIC SOFTWARE HAS BEEN VISTA COMPATIBLE SINCE DAY 1. Whats the problem with Pro-tools?

I don't want to dual boot cos I don't want to f*** with my computer. Even if I wanted to I don't know how to partition my drive + reinstall XP.

Starting to feel like I wasted alot of money
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-29-2007, 06:25 PM
casperfun casperfun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 489
Default Re: Pro Tools LE Vista

It's not a waste of money once Mbox2Pro & PTLE is compatibile with Vista. Partitioning is easy with Norton Partition magic.

Personally, I am waiting patiently for Vista Comaptibility. Heck summer is almost over, so it should be be any day now.

No way in hell do I wish to partition my Vista laptop and put the XP operating system on it and make it more bloatware than Windows already is. Especially when the hardware is optimized for Vista.

.......Come on Music Industry leader. Don't make promises you can't keep.

OO2R & Mbox2 owner.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-03-2007, 08:12 PM
mtnman mtnman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 76
Default Re: Pro Tools LE Vista

So, the M-Audio BETA drivers are out...

http://www.rainrecording.com/vista/

How soon until we see Digidesign drivers and ProTools LE compatibility?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-04-2007, 12:40 AM
Gons Deejay Gons Deejay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 91
Default Re: Pro Tools LE Vista

Hey Casper!





Mean while! you can take the OS of your Laptop from 2002, Copy the serial from the top and install it on your new one!,


Cheers!
__________________
DJ Since 1984, and Producer Since 1999
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-04-2007, 08:35 AM
LSW LSW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 342
Default Re: Pro Tools LE Vista

We're barely halfway through summer, so I don't mind that so much. But they could tell us some of the details. For example - Will it be a paid upgrade, or free? Depending on what version you're upgrading from? Will the same installer work on both XP and Vista? Stuff like that.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-05-2007, 03:02 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,601
Default Re: Pro Tools LE Vista

And the next question, I'm sure there will be a discontinuation of XP support, now that it seems for the most part to be nice and stable? I remember my first install from 98SE to Xp was a nightmare and we ended up reverting to old, tried and true stuff for another six months. Don't think I'll be jumping on the Vista bandwagon any too early.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-06-2007, 04:26 AM
FERGY FERGY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 41
Default Re: Pro Tools LE Vista

Where I'm from Summer is officially over
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 7 and Vista takeovertom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-01-2010 08:14 AM
Pro Tools 8 and Vista 64 Bit? zionchild 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 69 12-13-2009 03:09 PM
Vista 64 and Pro tools? digifriend 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 07-27-2008 05:56 PM
Pro Tools 7.3 Vista visualvideo Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 06-25-2007 09:07 PM
PRO TOOLS ON VISTA anemicrock Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 09-23-2006 06:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com