Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-28-2017, 04:52 AM

Default Mac Pro - higher Single Core Speed or more Cores

Hey,

I am new here ;-)
I need a new mac and think about getting a Mac Pro.
I have large Sessions @96kHz, my main job is arranging and producing. (not mixing)

Would you go for the 6 Core 3,5 or for the 10 Core 3,0??

Thanks
Bern
Old 11-28-2017, 05:09 AM

Default Re: Mac Pro - higher Single Core Speed or more Cores

Working with Pro Tools for some time now, I can see that it is a multicore application that will use all the cores you throw at it...
As a systems engineer I can tell you that we no longer look at CPU sockets and cores, but rather at all available compute power.
In your case you are thinking about 6 x 3.5GHz or 10 x 3Ghz...
Math here is very simple... with 6 core systems you get the total compute power of 21Ghz while with the 10 core system it is 30GHz.
Just my 2 cents.

- Mac Pro (Mid 2010) - OSX 10.13
- Pro Tools 2018.4
- Apogee Ensemble - Firewire
- Eleven Rack
Old 11-28-2017, 05:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Horns-Up View Post
it is a multicore application that will use all the cores you throw at it...
Well you wouldn't know sometimes, e.g. the excruciating amount of time it takes to render X-Form elastic audio.
Old 11-28-2017, 06:34 AM

You are right...
I am not sure if all functions of PT are multicore "aware"... I based my comment on what I can see while using it.

- Mac Pro (Mid 2010) - OSX 10.13
- Pro Tools 2018.4
- Apogee Ensemble - Firewire
- Eleven Rack
Old 11-28-2017, 07:12 AM

Split the difference. Get an 8-core. That's what I did for our new workstation at the theatre. Especially if you are using HDX, I don't think your native processing is going to be the bottle neck. .

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools Ultimate 2023.6 / HD|Native-TB