Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2009, 12:04 AM
Jeff E Jeff E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aptos California
Posts: 177
Default 192 output Dither.. output to Aviom/Hear Monitor System - Ideas????

Is there any way to get the ADAT output to dither down? We do most of our sessions in 88 or 96 and are trying to hook up a HEAR Tech system through the ADAT. The Hear system input is 44.1 and 48k but doesnt say at all what it can take in.

Has any one attempted this or have any solutions?

Thanks

jeff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2009, 02:59 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,606
Default Re: 192 output Dither.. output to Hear System

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff E View Post
Is there any way to get the ADAT output to dither down? We do most of our sessions in 88 or 96 and are trying to hook up a HEAR Tech system through the ADAT. The Hear system input is 44.1 and 48k but doesnt say at all what it can take in.

Has any one attempted this or have any solutions?

Thanks

jeff
Hi,

Don't think there's any way to do this as to get those sample rates out of an ADAT optical connection they would have to be smux into 4 channels per ADAT link so to get 8 channels out of the 192 would take 2 adat outputs! and the 192 would have to have the smux ability.
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2009, 05:04 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: 192 output Dither.. output to Hear System

The 192I/O does support SRC on the ADAT I/O on the digital card (not the secondary ADAT), however I "think" it only supports this on input---not output. However, do not fully quote me on this. You might want to consider adding a cheap 8-channel D/A converter and use that to get into the Hearback hub by going analog being that you're working at higher sampling rates.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2009, 08:36 AM
hummerZ hummerZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 264
Default Re: 192 output Dither.. output to Hear System

SRC isn't dither.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2009, 05:26 PM
Jeff E Jeff E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aptos California
Posts: 177
Default Re: 192 output Dither.. output to Hear System

OK Thanks..

Another thought on this is to get a MOTU 2408 or 8 channel ADAT to analogue converter and use it to convert the ADAT Signals. But it still doesnt really deal with the 96K issue. We almost need to get back one of our 192s with the out put cards in it.

At this point we are re-considering these issues as we are a little hesitant with the HEAR system and possibly going with option 2 and the Aviom system. We can do 16 channels out instead of being limited to 8 forever. The inital our lay will be more , but in the long run we will have more options in the "MORE ME" issues.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2009, 07:02 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: 192 output Dither.. output to Hear System

Quote:
Originally Posted by hummerZ View Post
SRC isn't dither.
Right---but the issue here isn't dithering, it's sample-rate conversion. Dithering would have to do whether this is 24-bit or 16-bit.

Back to the HEAR System---ADAT is 8-channels, are you using (2) hubs where you need (2) banks of 8-channels? If you only need (8) channels for now, then you should go analog----do a cheap 8-ch D/A converter. If you need (16) channels, then you're going to need a whole new interface anyway as that will eat up your master outputs.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2009, 07:03 PM
Jeff E Jeff E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aptos California
Posts: 177
Default Re: 192 output Dither.. output to Hear System

What about a legacy DIGI unit? Are there any that have 16 outs?

J
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-22-2009, 10:04 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: 192 output Dither.. output to Hear System

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff E View Post
What about a legacy DIGI unit? Are there any that have 16 outs?

J
and do nothing at 88~192kHz
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-23-2009, 10:18 AM
Jeff E Jeff E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aptos California
Posts: 177
Default Re: 192 output Dither.. output to Hear System

Yeah I have since learned all that :) so. Back to getting another output card and maybe even another 192...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-22-2009, 10:34 AM
SpongeBob SpongeBob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central VA
Posts: 87
Default Re: 192 output Dither.. output to Hear System

I'd like to learn know how are you getting talkback onto each of the Hearback's 8 channels?
__________________
Bob

PT10 HD Native (10.2.0), 96 I/Os, C24, Mac Pro (10.6.8 / 16GB)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot Hear Output Chief Technician Pro Tools 9 1 11-28-2012 05:06 PM
Apply Dither When BTD From 16-Bit Session To 16-Bit Output? Alan Brownstein 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-25-2008 07:23 PM
Cant hear output omons2273 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-16-2007 07:46 PM
Cant hear output omons2273 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-16-2007 07:08 PM
Can't record, or hear any output Hobby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-29-2007 06:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com