Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2012, 09:20 PM
cary chilton cary chilton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CANADA
Posts: 786
Default Which ver OSX

What version is most stable with PTLE, snow leopard, lion or mountain lion?

BTW is it worth keeping my music prod toolkit 1st and 2nd gen when I upgrade to PT10?

Also, I have an old , 1st gen iLok, should I upgrade to iLok2?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2012, 04:59 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,271
Default Re: Which ver OSX

Quote:
Originally Posted by cary chilton View Post
What version is most stable with PTLE, snow leopard, lion or mountain lion?

BTW is it worth keeping my music prod toolkit 1st and 2nd gen when I upgrade to PT10?

Also, I have an old , 1st gen iLok, should I upgrade to iLok2?
There is no PT10le, only regular PT10 and PT10HD.

As to stable OSX versions, they all have their warts, although Lion and Mountain Lion are doing quite well. Snow Leopard? Not worth it to stick with.

You could go with an iLok2 but why? PT10 works okay on the older iLok. Now there's a few plugins that need the second gen iLok (McDSP for one) so that's something to think about.

MPTK? Don't use one.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2013, 03:37 PM
BohoProAudio BohoProAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 39
Default Re: Which ver OSX

I know I'm probably late to this party, but what's the best way to upgrade to Mountain Lion from Lion? Do I uninstall PT10, upgrade and then reinstall PT? Or am I okay just upgrading OSX and hitting the road?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2013, 03:15 AM
mix109 mix109 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 618
Default Re: Which ver OSX

Safest of all imho would be to do a Clean System Install (drive formatting etc).
The other way would be to do an OS Upgrade:ML over Lion, and in such case i doubt if it will make any difference to uninstall PT and install on top again
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2013, 05:58 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Exclamation Re: Which ver OSX

Quote:
Originally Posted by mix109 View Post
Safest of all imho would be to do a Clean System Install (drive formatting etc).
Agree.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mix109 View Post
The other way would be to do an OS Upgrade:ML over Lion, and in such case i doubt if it will make any difference to uninstall PT and install on top again
Disagree. Do a Clean Uninstall of Pro Tools, then install v10.3.3.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2013, 12:11 PM
BohoProAudio BohoProAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 39
Default Re: Which ver OSX

I've never done a clean OSX install. Is it pretty easy with Time Machine?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2013, 12:24 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,684
Default Which ver OSX

No you are not recovering your backed up system, time machine us not what you use. Get the original install media and reinstall the OS from scratch. On current generation Macs you can use the recovery partition. http://www.apple.com/osx/recovery/. Then apply any needed OS X updates and reinstall all the apps you need from their installers (not from time machine).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-24-2013, 12:39 PM
BohoProAudio BohoProAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 39
Default Re: Which ver OSX

Ah, no easy way, huh? I will save this for when I have a good long while to take with it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-24-2013, 01:32 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,684
Default Re: Which ver OSX

Quote:
Originally Posted by BohoProAudio View Post
Ah, no easy way, huh? I will save this for when I have a good long while to take with it.
There is nothing very hard here. The important thing is to have a full backup before starting so you can roll back if there is a problem. I would use an image backup tool like Carbon Copy Cloner for that, not Time Machine. And if you are thinking of adding a drive, now is the time to do that and just install on the blank drive.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-24-2013, 01:55 PM
BohoProAudio BohoProAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 39
Default Re: Which ver OSX

But I will have to reinstall every program and all of my plug-ins after the system is back up and running, right? That will take some time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com