Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2015, 07:19 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default FAQ Mixed messages

A
That said, you can trade in your old system and interfaces towards a new Pro Tools | HDX system, which includes Pro Tools | HD 12

B
Please note that new Pro Tools (e.g. Eleven Rack) and Pro Tools | HD hardware system purchases do not come with an upgrade and support plan (do not include a free v12 Upgrade), but a separate plan can be purchased.


These Quotes were copied direct from this page
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/f...censing-FAQ#13
The FAQ section seems to add to confusion …



================================================
Q: If I have a Pro Tools perpetual license and my upgrade and support plan expires, what are my options if I want to upgrade later on?
A: You will have two options to get access to the latest version of Pro Tools:
Subscribe to Pro Tools software on a monthly or annual basis
Purchase a new Pro Tools perpetual license (full product) that includes an annual upgrade and support plan

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So If I have an HDX system with HD 10 and I don't upgrade by the End of 2015….
So waiting to upgrade in 2016 - I have buy a new HDX to get HD software to get a upgrade for Pro Tools HD?
this makes zero sense to me…..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2015, 10:43 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: FAQ Mixed messages

is anyone going to chime in here on this?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2015, 11:12 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: FAQ Mixed messages

Nobody else knows anything more than you my friend.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2015, 11:14 PM
lexaudio lexaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: FAQ Mixed messages

I've been saying this for months. Their FAQ contradicts itself a lot.

Almost like each part was written by separate people and put together without being read as a whole.

Something I think AVID is now. too many departments of cash generation, and no one proof reading anything.

I've asked for clarification for months now and have been ignored. I even fought for a question thread that NO ONE FROM AVID has even bothered to respond to.

Marianna is the Customer Advocate? No. That is a title. She has had time to answer and respond and has not. Neither has David.
That is how AVID is doing things now.

I am not allowed to make analogies here anymore, because some mods read them beyond their meaning and create their own analogy.

So, I guess we will continue to get fractured information or no information.

They didn't even let the board, or the users via email know of a policy adjustment in the FAQ.
Ironically, it is vague, just like the rest of it.
__________________
Ultimate 2018.7
MacPro 12 Core 3.46 - 10.13.6
128 Gigs RAM
EFI flashed 580 GPU
3 card PCI-e expansion chassis.
Avid Artist Control
Apollo 8 Quad, Satellite Quad, Octo Card
Cranesong Avocet Monitor System.
WireWorld ProAudio Cables
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2015, 05:35 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: FAQ Mixed messages

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
is anyone going to chime in here on this?
I've been chiming in in a few other threads regularly, as a soon to be former PT HDX owner. Nice to know I can 'trade in' my old outdated hardware for the same hardware but with a new version of PT that I don't or may not want.

Now that I think about it, I haven't seen bullet point A you referenced, that is probably what AVID plans on offering as a remedy for the conundrum of not being able to purchase HD software without associated hardware.
i.e. if you allow your service contract to lapse or you don't buy one, you can still get any new version in the future by 'trading in' your old system for a new one...much like the TDM to HD upgrade offer that is still going on...

If that's the case, this is getting more ludicrous by the day.

As for point B. If that's going to be the way forward, what is the new product warranty for? They USED to have a 1 year materials and workmanship warranty, and Sweetwater (where I purchased my TDM to HDX upgrade) gave me 2 years through them. So, if I were to purchase OR upgrade to new HD hardware why would I HAVE to purchase a service contract if it's already covered for the first year?

What a morass...
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2015, 08:17 AM
Mattiasnyc Mattiasnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nyc
Posts: 155
Default Re: FAQ Mixed messages

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
is anyone going to chime in here on this?
I don't see a mixed message at all. It's just that they still haven't told users what a new HD purchase entails if you already have hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2015, 08:31 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,611
Default Re: FAQ Mixed messages

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
...These Quotes were copied direct from this page
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/f...censing-FAQ#13
The FAQ section seems to add to confusion …
Sorry for the confusion. I'll look into this and it clarified.

Regards,
JC
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-18-2015, 08:38 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,611
Default Re: FAQ Mixed messages

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaudio View Post
...I even fought for a question thread that NO ONE FROM AVID has even bothered to respond to...
We did respond - added on to the FAQ, added links to the posts, then replied to the thread (so anyone that subscribed to the thread should have been notified). Additional answers are in progress. You even posted after my post, so I'm not sure why you didn't see that.

Regards,
JC
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-18-2015, 10:14 AM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 608
Default Re: FAQ Mixed messages

Sorry JC nothing we have seen from Avid with regard to this has been any clearer than the FAQ.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-18-2015, 11:28 PM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: FAQ Mixed messages

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattiasnyc View Post
I don't see a mixed message at all. It's just that they still haven't told users what a new HD purchase entails if you already have hardware.
THE FAQ section says a NEW HDX system I purchased last week does not come with a support plan or HD 12 I need to buy a $599 in addition to $8000.00 I already spent.
That seems a little out of line and over the top.
Then If decide not to buy a annual plan (Before Dec 31, 2015) I can never upgrade my HD software.
I would say that qualifies as a mixed message
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Many different error messages, Pro Tools aborting or unable to click messages off riffmachine Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 10-05-2010 04:15 AM
Mixed Messages With Vista 64 Bit Compatability Roy Lee IV Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 12-16-2008 08:58 AM
what is the mixed ch. ? lowam16 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 04-16-2007 08:13 PM
Mixed Up! dowejonez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-13-2005 03:43 AM
Mixed in the box? Scott Wood Post - Surround - Video 29 11-09-2004 10:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com