Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2011, 09:23 AM
maestrochase maestrochase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1
Default Problems with New Fast Track C400

The Fast Track C400 came out and I immediately thought it would be perfect for my set up. Unfortunately after downloading/installing the latest drivers from Avid/M Audio's website and plugging the device in, the preamp/input pots are scratchy and at the top 5% of the gain range, the self-noise is amplified exponentially. It's a gradual rise of hiss up until the final 5% then there is an audible bump and a 12db (at least) increase in noise.

I am thinking that I just received a faulty unit, but I wanted to make sure that nothing is wrong on my end. My computer/OS is Mac OSX 10.7.1 Lion on a 2011 Mac Mini Server 2.0ghz i7 with 4gig of ram and 2 internal 500gig hard drives. I installed the latest drivers from Avid's website before plugging the device in and I followed installing instructions dilligently. The audible noise is evident without any input devices plugged in, and I can both hear the noise through headphones when only using the control software or when recording with Adobe Audition or Pro Tools SE.

Any ideas? Should I return/replace for another C400 or go for another device? Thanks for any advice!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2011, 05:33 PM
northstar northstar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 15
Default Re: Problems with New Fast Track C400

What did you do? I'm waiting for mine to arrive and wondering if you replaced and still had the issue?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2012, 03:49 PM
santolini santolini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lisboa
Posts: 1
Default Re: Problems with New Fast Track C400

Hello, I have the same problem with the gain knobs. Is this normal? Waht did you do?

Thanks!!
Rui Santos
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast Track c400 issues (help) stereopole FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 8 01-11-2016 05:53 AM
Fast Track C400 Win8 Update laetidjey FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 11 10-23-2013 11:44 AM
Fast Track C400 w/ PT11 ?? sandersonc84 Pro Tools 11 1 07-05-2013 03:44 PM
PT10.3 and Fast Track C400 frcjt macOS 2 09-16-2012 10:07 AM
Fast Track c400 Suddenly Clear Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 10-29-2011 02:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com