Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2015, 02:10 PM
thierryhenry thierryhenry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London
Posts: 118
Default Can you still make customized shortcuts on PT12?

Trying to setup a couple keyboard shortcuts on PT12 but it's not coming up on the application list- only PT10 is coming up. Does anyone know if this still works or if maybe they haven't built this in as a feature yet?

To clarify, it's the feature where I can make my F16-F19 buttons shortcut to a menu item in Pro Tools (and any other app)

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2015, 08:14 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,747
Default Re: Can you still make customized shortcuts on PT12?

AFAIK, Pro Tools has never had the ability to customize shortcuts, but you might be able to create custom key commands from outside of PT, or some Macros with a 3rd party macro editor
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2015, 01:27 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,266
Default Re: Can you still make customized shortcuts on PT12?

Working fine with 12.2.1/ Yosemite 10.10.5 here (see attached) [Keyboard shortcut commmand set up in preferences for "Save Copy In..."]
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 09.25.20.jpg (50.6 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2015, 05:31 AM
thierryhenry thierryhenry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London
Posts: 118
Default Re: Can you still make customized shortcuts on PT12?

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
Working fine with 12.2.1/ Yosemite 10.10.5 here (see attached) [Keyboard shortcut commmand set up in preferences for "Save Copy In..."]
Ye I also got it working on my MacbookPro last night will try again on the desktop today when I get to the studio. It just wasn't coming up in the apps list at the time- must of been something I was doing wrong
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2015, 07:55 AM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: Can you still make customized shortcuts on PT12?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thierryhenry View Post
Trying to setup a couple keyboard shortcuts on PT12 but it's not coming up on the application list- only PT10 is coming up. Does anyone know if this still works or if maybe they haven't built this in as a feature yet?

To clarify, it's the feature where I can make my F16-F19 buttons shortcut to a menu item in Pro Tools (and any other app)

buy a Cherry USB keyboard and you can program 144 custom shortcuts on it ….
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2015, 03:36 PM
thierryhenry thierryhenry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London
Posts: 118
Default Re: Can you still make customized shortcuts on PT12?

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
Working fine with 12.2.1/ Yosemite 10.10.5 here (see attached) [Keyboard shortcut commmand set up in preferences for "Save Copy In..."]
Still not working on the Desktop (as in not coming up on the apps list) but I think I know what the problem is. I have both PT10 and PT12 installed on this system whereas the laptop just has PT12 on it.

I think the desktop only shows the PT10 shortcuts because they would clash with PT12 due to them having the same application name.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-20-2015, 02:36 PM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 168
Default Re: Can you still make customized shortcuts on PT12?

I've solved this in the past by simply renaming the (then) PT 11 app.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2015, 01:31 PM
thierryhenry thierryhenry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London
Posts: 118
Default Re: Can you still make customized shortcuts on PT12?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farhoof View Post
I've solved this in the past by simply renaming the (then) PT 11 app.
Oh really? What shall I rename it to? Anything? This won't have any side-effects will it?

thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT12, Win 7 - Frequently lose keyboard shortcuts Eric Klinger Pro Tools 12 7 06-28-2015 12:21 PM
Customized Windows XP March314 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 06-13-2010 07:21 PM
Shortcuts including ] and [ (can't make it work) grinwarm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 10-03-2009 07:23 AM
Customized mouse on an Intel mac? mrhawkinson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-19-2007 09:08 AM
Make your own shortcuts. the_dr38 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-21-2005 07:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com