Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-16-2015, 05:34 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,582
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanstewartguitar View Post
I type with 11! Thinking about upgrading to 12...

I don't want to think myself as having 12 fingers...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-16-2015, 05:35 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,582
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

I could downgrade to 6 fingers and still type faster than most
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-16-2015, 05:52 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
I actually never used "suspend all groups", but pressing ctrl lets me adjust faders at least, overriding the group enable. That's on mac, PT10.

Same here,but if you're adjusting automation in different passes, it's just easier.....

I hate seeing that pop up window
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-16-2015, 06:38 AM
ryanstewartguitar ryanstewartguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 71
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I could downgrade to 6 fingers and still type faster than most
Careful, I hear there are some issues with delay compensation and 6-finger mixing.
__________________
- Ryan Stewart
www.ryanstewartguitar.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-16-2015, 07:53 AM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
I actually never used "suspend all groups", but pressing ctrl lets me adjust faders at least, overriding the group enable. That's on mac, PT10.
and you get a gold star for reading the manual ….
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-19-2015, 04:24 PM
spenedit spenedit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Burbank
Posts: 28
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I myself find it intuitive, but opinions do vary
I find it intuitive, I just don't find it convenient for my fingers

If there was an edit focus key command, it would be easier. But obviously there can't be one key commands for everything.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-19-2015, 04:29 PM
spenedit spenedit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Burbank
Posts: 28
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
I actually never used "suspend all groups", but pressing ctrl lets me adjust faders at least, overriding the group enable. That's on mac, PT10.
I should have clarified, I'm using this in the edit window not the mixer. I'm editing stems grouped and individually. If that makes sense.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-19-2015, 04:35 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Better key command for suspend all groups?

It still works (CNTRL) but it's even more limiting b/c one finger is now effectively occupied

It however is still nice for making a quick adjustment
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-20-2015, 04:34 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,266
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

I use shift-command-g frequently. Never had a problem with it. Maybe it's because I'm left handed?!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-20-2015, 04:49 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,237
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

Key commands doesn't scare me, I play guitar
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command 8 and groups freakhouse ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 07-22-2014 10:09 AM
Way to temporally suspend VCA groups/auto? postprosound Post - Surround - Video 4 02-10-2011 05:14 PM
Suspend Groups command-where is it? hybridd Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 11-29-2007 04:51 AM
Custom Groups, Can it be don on an 8 Fader D-Command? laki ICON & C|24 2 07-26-2007 04:53 AM
D-Command, delete active groups? Where? rbeggs ICON & C|24 5 02-12-2007 08:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com