Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-28-2015, 10:38 AM
RamblerSound RamblerSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 105
Default Re: Has PT HD 12 Upgrade Licensing Changed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostwriter View Post
What they said.
I agree with you guys. I'm surprised they are sticking so hard to these numbers. The people they are penalizing the most are the people who have purchased the most from them.

Good luck to you guys,

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-28-2015, 10:46 AM
eesn eesn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: london
Posts: 152
Default Re: Has PT HD 12 Upgrade Licensing Changed?

I still wish Avid would explain in clear speak this, from the small print down the bottom of the page.
Quote:
Please note that while Pro Tools | HD 12 can be used as standalone software, it only works with Pro Tools | HDX and Pro Tools | HD Native hardware
As in 'what the * do you mean by "works"'.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-28-2015, 10:47 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Has PT HD 12 Upgrade Licensing Changed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostwriter View Post
Everyone whom doesn't upgrade for $599 will end up getting a cheaper incentive later on.
This may very well be true next year for us 11'rs... Not to mention other deals through AVID resellers. Wait and see is at worst a $400 penalty... (hey it even rhymes)
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-28-2015, 11:16 AM
eesn eesn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: london
Posts: 152
Default Re: Has PT HD 12 Upgrade Licensing Changed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eesn View Post
I still wish Avid would explain in clear speak this, from the small print down the bottom of the page. "Please note that while Pro Tools | HD 12 can be used as standalone software, it only works with Pro Tools | HDX and Pro Tools | HD Native hardware." As in 'what the * do you mean by "works"'.
quoting from this post by @nst7.

Quote:
"Basically, it was their awkward way of letting HD TDM users know that HD11 and higher will not work with their hardware. Nothing has changed, in that HD11 and HD12 software will still continue working with any interface."
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-28-2015, 01:14 PM
Wall2Wall Wall2Wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Starling City
Posts: 766
Default Re: Has PT HD 12 Upgrade Licensing Changed?

If Avid would have rolled out these HD upgrade/support numbers with conviction back in 2014, it would have been taken better. This was the worst rollout I have ever seen by a company. Piece here, piece there. Take the pieces back, let members make stuff up as law for weeks, then give another piece, then take that back,...

$33/month is not bad at all. But what incentive do the music-only 9/10HD users have to upgrade to 12HD?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-28-2015, 01:32 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,096
Default Re: Has PT HD 12 Upgrade Licensing Changed?

If they made it a straightforward $999 to upgrade a lapsed license ongoing, a lot of the ill feeling would go away. But there's always a drip feed of info, always incomplete - they've only said what will happen if you upgrade in 2016. Given their history and the deep mistrust between the customers and the company, everyone assumes the worst, and that this might be another sword of Damocles time-limited deal, with licenses frozen forever if not upgraded by end of 2016.

It's unreasonable to commit to a price in perpetuity, but the phrasing could be a lot more reassuring. Just keep it simple - $399 if you're renewing a plan, $999 if you are jumping on from a lapsed license, don't add more limits.

On the plus side, it looks like they totally threw out their short-lived Facebook clarification. This is at least is less awful than that.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-28-2015, 02:53 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Has PT HD 12 Upgrade Licensing Changed?

Make sure you stock up on PopCorn for Sep 2nd.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-28-2015, 10:10 PM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: Has PT HD 12 Upgrade Licensing Changed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
Make sure you stock up on PopCorn for Sep 2nd.
It's going to be a firestorm….

I didn't pay for HD 11 or HD 12 - The last really good (well one with a ton of new features) HD upgrade was HD 8 - seven years ago….
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-28-2015, 10:15 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Has PT HD 12 Upgrade Licensing Changed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
Make sure you stock up on PopCorn for Sep 2nd.
What happens Sept. 2nd?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08-29-2015, 09:14 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,318
Default Re: Has PT HD 12 Upgrade Licensing Changed?

I'm glad they finally revealed how HD upgrades will work. The speculation for the months they'd been saying "details coming soon" was crazy.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Licensing dogmusic Pro Tools 11 2485 06-10-2015 09:00 AM
New Licensing wafare Pro Tools 11 11 01-23-2015 04:23 PM
How many have purchased the new licensing upgrade? Sam C Pro Tools 11 22 12-20-2014 11:44 PM
Licensing? chip88 Pro Tools 9 1 11-08-2012 09:40 AM
Strike 1.5 upgrade & Licensing guyebbs Virtual Instruments 2 04-30-2010 06:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com