Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #251  
Old 02-27-2015, 05:36 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,307
Default Re: Download-Links in my user account not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElevenPlayer View Post
I just got my Eleven Rack in the mail, and all the official files at Avid.com are unavailable!

Editor, drivers, manuals - nothing works! All lead to a 404 Error page!
We did report this again to our IT Dept to investigate to see if something can be done. It's not actually limited to Avid... https://www.google.com/search?q=server+not+found

Changing your DNS settings to use Google/OpenDNS should take care of it (it does for me at home using Comcast). http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/E...en-downloading
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 02-27-2015, 05:50 PM
ElevenPlayer ElevenPlayer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Respect privacy, Avid!
Posts: 3
Default Re: Download-Links in my user account not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
We did report this again to our IT Dept to investigate to see if something can be done. It's not actually limited to Avid... https://www.google.com/search?q=server+not+found

Changing your DNS settings to use Google/OpenDNS should take care of it (it does for me at home using Comcast). http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/E...en-downloading
Thanks. I'll give it a shot, but please let us know what IT does.

Just FYI, I think when DNS settings have to be tweaked at the client level, something is not right with the server..
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 02-27-2015, 06:06 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,307
Default Re: Download-Links in my user account not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElevenPlayer View Post
Thanks. I'll give it a shot, but please let us know what IT does.
Will do.
Quote:
Just FYI, I think when DNS settings have to be tweaked at the client level, something is not right with the server..
Don't necessarily disagree with you. This is a strange one as file downloads have been working for years and these reports started around July and the failures are intermittent. Definitely want to solve this - changing DNS settings is just a workaround for now.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 02-28-2015, 09:55 AM
flautista's Avatar
flautista flautista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chile
Posts: 1,609
Default Re: Download-Links in my user account not working

Real
Solution must come from house (Avid)
DNS NOT WORKING FOR MOST����
__________________
Jascha Koneffke flutist
www.prodmusica.cl
GA-X58A-UD3R[/
I7 950
RAM 24Gb corsair 1600 (3 sticks)
9-9-9-24
MAC
MacBookPro i7 2,3 15"
RAM 16gb
PT 11.3
003 Rack
MBox 3 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 03-19-2015, 04:14 AM
antoinemasson antoinemasson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bagneux
Posts: 20
Default Re: Download-Links in my user account not working

same problem


Server error I hope
__________________
iMac late 2009, Mac OS 10.7, Pro Tools 11
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old 03-21-2015, 08:54 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Download-Links in my user account not working

- the Pro tools demo page has been out to lunch for days
- hiding the the protools downloads in your avid account
- having to log in to get the downloads now.
- the most convoluted method for downloading authorizing and installing Pro tools in the 20 years - and perhaps the most convoluted way of download installing and authorizing any software I have ever installed in the last 35 years of me using computers in the studio

MEET AVID'S WEB DEVELOPMENT TEAM …..
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 03-22-2015, 05:10 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,412
Default Re: Download-Links in my user account not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
- the Pro tools demo page has been out to lunch for days
- hiding the the protools downloads in your avid account
- having to log in to get the downloads now.
- the most convoluted method for downloading authorizing and installing Pro tools in the 20 years - and perhaps the most convoluted way of download installing and authorizing any software I have ever installed in the last 35 years of me using computers in the studio
The demo page problems are an issue I'll grant that. But the other things are not a problem for me. So the downloads are in my Avid account - big deal. You have to log in to get the downloads - same as a lot of other developers and again no big deal. And what's so convoluted about the download/authorization/install of PT? Simple enough if you have the patience and take the time and that (authorization) only happens once. Updates? Login/download/install - simple. NI Service Center is the same way.

If you have so much animus against PT why aren't you using something else that doesn't give you heartburn and drop PT?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 03-22-2015, 01:24 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Download-Links in my user account not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
The demo page problems are an issue I'll grant that. But the other things are not a problem for me. So the downloads are in my Avid account - big deal. You have to log in to get the downloads - same as a lot of other developers and again no big deal. And what's so convoluted about the download/authorization/install of PT? Simple enough if you have the patience and take the time and that (authorization) only happens once. Updates? Login/download/install - simple. NI Service Center is the same way.

If you have so much animus against PT why aren't you using something else that doesn't give you heartburn and drop PT?
Updates Once?
We are on 11.3.1 or is it 11.3.2???
I have updated 11 alone no less than 15 times since it's release.
Installs maybe simple for you. but if you've never done it.
Never used an ilok - don't even know what an ilok is.
If you don;t have ilok accounts or Avid accounts they you have to create them
Then if your address is not perfect with a properly formatted zip code even - you can't install Pro Tools!
Is very hard for the new user it's 30 Steps to install and authorize Pro Tools 11
vs. Pro Tools 9 can on a pre-auth'd ilok. plug in your ilok and and install pro tools off the dvd's nothing to download - nothing to authorize it was so simple.
Like I said the Avid web site is nothing short of joke and it's Disneyland web Development team...
If you want more examples of the Avid sloppy web site I could list 3 pages of issues with it. ( But I will will charge you you my web dev. consulting fee to do a detailed report
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 03-22-2015, 02:20 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,412
Default Re: Download-Links in my user account not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
Updates Once?
We are on 11.3.1 or is it 11.3.2???
I have updated 11 alone no less than 15 times since it's release.
Installs maybe simple for you. but if you've never done it.
Never used an ilok - don't even know what an ilok is.
If you don;t have ilok accounts or Avid accounts they you have to create them
Then if your address is not perfect with a properly formatted zip code even - you can't install Pro Tools!
Is very hard for the new user it's 30 Steps to install and authorize Pro Tools 11
vs. Pro Tools 9 can on a pre-auth'd ilok. plug in your ilok and and install pro tools off the dvd's nothing to download - nothing to authorize it was so simple.
Like I said the Avid web site is nothing short of joke and it's Disneyland web Development team...
If you want more examples of the Avid sloppy web site I could list 3 pages of issues with it. ( But I will will charge you you my web dev. consulting fee to do a detailed report
Well what can I say but you are definitely having issues with PT but again - why waste your time with it? Move on to another daw.

Installs are easy if you take your time to truly understand what's going on. This is not, and never has been, plug and lay software. There are specific ways of doing things with PT.

The reason you don't just have a dvd with a pre-authorized iLok is the software on the dvd would be out of date. Companies don't burn just one dvd at a time for a person; they bulk burn and you WILL end up with out of date s/w. It's always been that way.

There have not been 15 updates since PT11 was released.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 03-22-2015, 07:58 PM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: Download-Links in my user account not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post

There have not been 15 updates since PT11 was released.
Well there have been 12 so far and if you use a Co-Install of PT 10
That puts it well over 15

02/09/2015 11.3.1
12/19/2014 11.3
11/20/2014 11.2.2
08/14/2014 11.2.1
06/30/2014 11.2
05/01/2014 11.1.3
01/23/2014 11.1.2
01/06/2014 11.1.1
12/23/2013 11.1
11/12/2013 11.0.3
09/14/2013 11.0.2
06/29/2013 11.0.1
06/21/2013 11.0

Instead of slamming people you should take a pill and READ what they are saying.
For the NOVICE user ( i.e. NOT YOU) Pro tools 11 is more difficult to install and activate. vs. Pro tools 9
Yes DVD's got out of date but downloading an updater was easy back then.
IE NO logging in to you account ( another password to remember )
and searching in your Avid Account for the downloads.
Because believe it or not that is pain to do for "some" people
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trial Download Links? Chingy Pro Tools 11 4 06-22-2013 03:13 AM
AAX DSP download links??? Camilo Orozco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-01-2012 05:33 AM
expired download links dodgeuk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-07-2012 05:19 AM
my structure download links are gone !!! Dirk Reinking Virtual Instruments 3 03-25-2010 11:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com