Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2006, 03:29 PM
fhqwhgads fhqwhgads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 15
Default Macbook 1.83ghz Core 2 Duo and Mbox2/Mbox2 Pro

Hi all...

A friend of mine is considering dumping his PC-based Digi001 setup for a Mac-based rig. I'm Mac-based, but not sure how to advise him since I'm running an iMac G5 with PTLE 6.7 (I know, I know) and haven't been following all the changes that have been happening recently.

Anyway, he's looking at the most basic MacBook 1.83ghz with the Core 2 Duo processor, and either an Mbox2 or Mbox2 Pro.

My simple question is - will this work? The compatibility info on the main Digi page seems to indicate yes, but after doing a few DUC searches, I'm not sure if it will work well on a practical level.

I would greatly appreciate any advice. Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2006, 04:39 PM
James Drake James Drake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 592
Default Re: Macbook 1.83ghz Core 2 Duo and Mbox2/Mbox2 Pro

The recurring theme with friends who have PTLE on the new Intel Macs is that they are un-able to make the software fall over.
__________________
Waves Plugins FOR SALE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2006, 09:35 AM
fhqwhgads fhqwhgads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 15
Default Re: Macbook 1.83ghz Core 2 Duo and Mbox2/Mbox2 Pro

So, in other words, the regular Intel-based Macbook works fine?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2006, 11:12 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Macbook 1.83ghz Core 2 Duo and Mbox2/Mbox2 Pro

Quote:
The recurring theme with friends who have PTLE on the new Intel Macs is that they are un-able to make the software fall over.
If they can get it to work at all.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2006, 01:43 PM
fhqwhgads fhqwhgads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 15
Default Re: Macbook 1.83ghz Core 2 Duo and Mbox2/Mbox2 Pro

Quote:
The recurring theme with friends who have PTLE on the new Intel Macs is that they are un-able to make the software fall over.
Quote:
If they can get it to work at all.

Sorry, don't mean to be dense, but these seem like conflicting statements. Is the consensus that the Intel-based Macbook (not the Pro) is a bad choice if you want to use an Mbox2?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2006, 02:22 AM
outofblu outofblu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 27
Default Re: Macbook 1.83ghz Core 2 Duo and Mbox2/Mbox2 Pro

I have just bought an Mbox 2 Pro, and have a MAC Mini 1.83Ghz Intel Dual Core.

With 520megs of RAM it don't work.

I have now bought 2 gigs of ram yet to be installed I will let you know what happens . If it don't work I will be getting on to Digi with a huge complaint.

Fortunately I also have Logic.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-08-2006, 02:22 AM
outofblu outofblu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 27
Default Re: Macbook 1.83ghz Core 2 Duo and Mbox2/Mbox2 Pro

I have just bought an Mbox 2 Pro, and have a MAC Mini 1.83Ghz Intel Dual Core.

With 520megs of RAM it don't work.

I have now bought 2 gigs of ram yet to be installed I will let you know what happens . If it don't work I will be getting on to Digi with a huge complaint.

Fortunately I also have Logic.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-08-2006, 07:31 AM
fhqwhgads fhqwhgads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 15
Default Re: Macbook 1.83ghz Core 2 Duo and Mbox2/Mbox2 Pro

Quote:
I have just bought an Mbox 2 Pro, and have a MAC Mini 1.83Ghz Intel Dual Core.

With 520megs of RAM it don't work.

I have now bought 2 gigs of ram yet to be installed I will let you know what happens . If it don't work I will be getting on to Digi with a huge complaint.

Fortunately I also have Logic.
Thanks for the responses. Given the issues that PTLE seems to be having with the Intel-based Macs, maybe the best course of action is for my friend to wait a month or two and see if Digi releases an update.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-12-2006, 10:45 AM
James Drake James Drake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 592
Default Re: Macbook 1.83ghz Core 2 Duo and Mbox2/Mbox2 Pro

Quote:
I have just bought an Mbox 2 Pro, and have a MAC Mini 1.83Ghz Intel Dual Core. With 520megs of RAM it don't work.
Have you read the following?
http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...5&itemid=24156

Quote:
Sorry, don't mean to be dense, but these seem like conflicting statements. Is the consensus that the Intel-based Macbook (not the Pro) is a bad choice if you want to use an Mbox2?
I trust my friends who have used Intel Macs with PTLE. Again, they have reported excellent results, specifically with the MacBook.

Regarding the RAM issue, I believe the the guys I mention have a sensible amount of RAM in their systems.

This is the support page for LE 7.3 on a MacBook:
http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...5&itemid=24152
If you run LE on a MacBook with 500MB of RAM you cannot expect it to work and Digi are not obliged to help you if it doesn't.
__________________
Waves Plugins FOR SALE
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-12-2006, 12:42 PM
therecordinghouse therecordinghouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN.
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: Macbook 1.83ghz Core 2 Duo and Mbox2/Mbox2 Pro

just got a macbook 2.0ghz with 1 gig ram along with an mbox 2 pro. this thing is rock solid. we are even recording to the internal drive. 4 tracks for 50+ minutes.


mbox 2 pro requires:
protools le 7.1.3
osx 10.4.8


i would say you need a minimum of 1 gig of ram. dont skimp here. the 1.83ghz processor should be fine.
__________________
Lynn Graber
Studio and Mobile Recording, Fort Wayne, IN.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox2 USB, Macbook Pro core i7 and PT 8.0.3 Becharax 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-01-2010 05:08 PM
Macbook with Mbox2 pro Papawhitehead 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-28-2008 09:45 PM
002r with macbook core duo performs worse than mbox2... Tommy Fobia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-14-2007 05:27 AM
Mbox2 + MacBook Pro + DP dan wool 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-01-2006 11:25 AM
Mac Mini 1.83GHz Intel Dual Core with MBox2? Guy Staley 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-26-2006 11:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com