Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2002, 03:59 AM
flohrianderl flohrianderl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 12
Default IBM Harddisk good for recording ?

Hi there, today i bought an IBM Harddisk
( 7200rpm, 60 GB, Cache 2mb )
Would it be good for recording ( faster ) ? [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2002, 05:08 AM
Gr0und_Zer0 Gr0und_Zer0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 240
Default Re: IBM Harddisk good for recording ?

If it is a Deskstar (some call them Deathstars, because a lot of them die young) 60GXP or 75GXP, then you've got a drive that has enough performance (provided you turn on DMA). If it can do 10 mb/sec it's ok, and these babyies can do triple that speed. Access times are a more important factor though... I think they should b 9< ms, could be another value though.

I've got 2 Deathstars and they are still alive and kicking.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2002, 07:15 PM
Mr_Seven Mr_Seven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: IBM Harddisk good for recording ?

It's been my main audio drive for over a year!
__________________
Darren Valen
Cyberdream Studios
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2002, 10:21 PM
GP's Avatar
GP GP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 98
Default Re: IBM Harddisk good for recording ?

I've got 3 of'm and still spinning away. I keep my fingers crossed everytime I boot up! [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
DzDUltra Sound Works
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2002, 10:27 PM
GP's Avatar
GP GP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 98
Default Re: IBM Harddisk good for recording ?

BTW, anyone using one of these bad boys? http://www.scsipro.com/catalog/index.htm
I'm considering getting one and using a 60gxp deathstar in it....need a way to move work from here to the big studios.
__________________
DzDUltra Sound Works
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2002, 08:03 AM
omikron omikron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Luxembourg
Posts: 19
Default Re: IBM Harddisk good for recording ?

Hi there,

here's just a warning: my Deathstar just crashed ( < 6 months), I worked day & night to recover my sessions with drive rescue software, and could finally recover only a part of my sessions [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img]

IBM will send me a new one by warranty, but I'll use it for backup purposes only.

CU,

Omikron
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-11-2002, 09:08 AM
Dreamware Dreamware is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 484
Default Re: IBM Harddisk good for recording ?

The 75GXP series are the ones with problems, we have been using the 60GXP drives in our systems without any problems. So if you go for a new audio drive go for a 60GXP model or one of the new 120GXP drives.
__________________
Alex

www.dreamware.ca
Have something to brag about...Own a Dreamware Audio PC...

My Rig:

AMD Athlon XP 1700+
512MB PC2700C2 Corsair
MSI KT3ULTRA ARU
2x 80GB Seagate Barracuda 4 in RAID 0
GeForce 2 Ti 64MB
Lite-On 40x12x40 CD-RW
16x Pioneer DVD
Intel Pro/100 +
SB Audigy
Digi 001
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-11-2002, 03:34 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: IBM Harddisk good for recording ?

Backing up to a not so reliable harddisk....hmmmm. [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-11-2002, 10:01 PM
GP's Avatar
GP GP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 98
Default Re: IBM Harddisk good for recording ?

I'm using the 60GXP's. So I geuss there's nothing to worry about. No problems as of yet with them.
__________________
DzDUltra Sound Works
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-12-2002, 05:16 AM
Hogleg Hogleg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Talking Rock, Ga.
Posts: 59
Default Re: IBM Harddisk good for recording ?

I just had a 40g Deskstar die on me. Had it 3 months. Luckily it is the system drive. I didn't get to de-authorize Dverb though-just wondering if that will be a problem
__________________
Talking Rock Sound
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good harddisk for M-box kasperbraae 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-15-2010 10:40 AM
Which Harddisk Ruudje 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 02-25-2007 09:23 PM
New harddisk Bobbers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-03-2006 12:01 AM
Recording to external Harddisk Mac/Pc partitioned? kaladun 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-23-2005 09:10 AM
harddisk for recording flohrianderl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-28-2002 04:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com