Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2017, 05:08 PM
Gordon Hookailo's Avatar
Gordon Hookailo Gordon Hookailo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 115
Default Anyone notice 12.81 takes twice as long to load big sessions?

Hello great minds out there...

I've just updated to Sierra and everything is way snappier than Yosemite if I stay on PTs 12.61. On 12.81 it takes about twice as long to load big sessions.

Has anyone else noticed this and or might there be a fix coming down the line? 12.81 seems stable other than that.

Thanks in advance for any observations.

Mac Pro 5,1 12 core 3.33Ghz 32 Gigs RAM, 2 Samsung 500 Gig SSDs, internal 4TB Raid, Core audio using Motu Ultralite mk3. Eucon 3.6 S3 PTs Dock, PTs HD 12.61 and 12.81
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2017, 06:02 PM
Macsearcher Macsearcher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 190
Default Re: Anyone notice 12.81 takes twice as long to load big sessions?

Load times are significantly longer for me as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2017, 04:35 AM
jarekb jarekb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ehv
Posts: 2
Default Re: Anyone notice 12.81 takes twice as long to load big sessions?

same here...
PT HD on HDX 12.8.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2017, 12:16 PM
xylie6 xylie6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 97
Default Re: Anyone notice 12.81 takes twice as long to load big sessions?

Hello All.

One thing I suggest from time to time is consider resetting the PRAM and possibly the SMC on macs with the weird issues. For me, it makes a difference on speed. Bootup, internet page load time, restart, overall responsiveness - all snappier.

Research, and decide if it's something you may want to try. Let others know how it worked out for you. This is a simple thing to do before major surgery or just living with it.

As usual, if you don't back up your important files to at least two or three locations, you will eventually have that horrible feeling of irretrievably losing your stuff. Ask me how I know. . It's to the point that I use a completely separate SSD drive to try new/upgraded software prior to going more permanent.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-2017, 01:18 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,697
Default Re: Anyone notice 12.81 takes twice as long to load big sessions?

Me too on Windows....
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2017, 02:02 PM
Gordon Hookailo's Avatar
Gordon Hookailo Gordon Hookailo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 115
Default Re: Anyone notice 12.81 takes twice as long to load big sessions?

Update on loading times and GUI screen updates:

Now on 12.82 HDN and am seeing the same long session loading times as 12.81. Also seeing in both 81 / 82 lags on GUI screen updates (edit / mix).

I mix all day and rely on edit screen scrolling to know what is coming up. The problem is causing headaches because the scrolling is no longer smooth. In fact the timecode counter and everything else stutters like it used to on older versions.

I love that they fixed some bugs and added some nice new features but until fixed, I can't see using anything other than 12.61 for regular 5.1 LtRt mixing.

Does anyone else find the extra load times and GUI slow down a deal breaker for them?

I hope Avid will seriously look into this issue. It feels like the system is polling for new items on session loads and also polling for something I'm not using when mixing.

Thanks in advance for any feedback!

Mac Pro 5,1 12 core 3.33Ghz 32 Gigs RAM, 2 Samsung 500 Gig SSDs, internal 4TB Raid, Core audio using Motu Ultralite mk3. Eucon 3.7 S3 PTs Dock, PTs HD Native 12.61 and 12.82
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-22-2017, 05:10 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 584
Default Re: Anyone notice 12.81 takes twice as long to load big sessions?

I've noticed this slowdown in loading big sessions here on 12.8.2 and Sierra.
No GUI lag apart from when trimming occasionally.
I turned off overlap shadows and transparency, they caused me a lot of problems and I don't really need them.

I find that with big film sessions if you make a 'find' selection in the region list to reduce the number of visible regions and then save the session in that state, when you open it again it can be up to twice as fast. Surely a good case for the 'folders in the region list' request which has been asked for since the late bronze age.

I also found sessions with a large number of video regions are much slower to load.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.12.5, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.5, PT 2019.5
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2017, 05:16 AM
Macsearcher Macsearcher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 190
Default Re: Anyone notice 12.81 takes twice as long to load big sessions?

Confirmed GUI lag here.
12.8.2
PT HD native
Sierra
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-22-2017, 08:28 AM
Rockman413 Rockman413 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default Re: Anyone notice 12.81 takes twice as long to load big sessions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesehead View Post
I've noticed this slowdown in loading big sessions here on 12.8.2 and Sierra.
No GUI lag apart from when trimming occasionally.
I turned off overlap shadows and transparency, they caused me a lot of problems and I don't really need them.

Where is the button to turn off overlap shadows and transparency?
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0G 8 Cores PT HD use with Ensemble Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-22-2017, 11:40 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 584
Default Re: Anyone notice 12.81 takes twice as long to load big sessions?

W
Quote:
Where is the button to turn off overlap shadows and transparency?
I'm not in front of PT but I think its the view menu under regions.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.12.5, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.5, PT 2019.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Takes long time to Load? Big Fate 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-07-2011 06:26 AM
Pro Tools takes a very long time to load / startup (and quits unexpectedly often) kingtinker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 19 03-04-2011 11:20 AM
ProTools takes long time to load in 6.9 insanesounds Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 06-09-2005 02:17 AM
takes entirely TOO LONG to open sessions rickbryant305 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-14-2005 06:01 PM
HOW LONG DO YOUR SESSIONS TAKE TO LOAD? uno1234 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 04-02-2000 06:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com