Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2014, 06:40 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,073
Default Artist Series Reliable Setup?

Our studio just bought an Artist Control and an Artist Mix. We're in the middle of a busy period of time. I know this is a tricky question, but can these be setup reliably without crashing in front of clients?

I configured them for about an hour and a half, and by the end of that time they'd crashed 5 times and I uninstalled the software out of frustration. If there's a way to make them work, I'll stick with them. If not, I'm going to return them and go back to our old controller.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2014, 07:09 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Artist Series Reliable Setup?

I bought one cheap expecting the worst from all the reports in here. Using Eucon 3.1.2 on Windows, on a "tech" lan with static IP addresses, all stable. Make sure your network doesn't blip out and dynamically resassign an IP.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2014, 07:36 AM
ianmiller ianmiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 216
Default Re: Artist Series Reliable Setup?

If you are on a Mac, I have achieved a decent level of stability by using the Eucon preferences. I have a static IP in my 4 units. I do not allow the Mac to sleep. I turn on the Artist units, and then start up the Eucon app from the preferences pane. Once it connects I kick off Pro Tools. This now works most of the time. When I have finished a session I go back into preferences and stop Eucon services. Do this before turning off the units as that almost always causes a crash. Once Eucon services are stopped (you enter your system password to stop and start them) you can turn the units off.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2014, 07:50 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,073
Default Re: Artist Series Reliable Setup?

Thanks everyone. I will reinstall and give these units a fair test. I love their size, so it would be great if they worked out.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2014, 11:03 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Artist Series Reliable Setup?

I have to say that since using an Artist Control I have fallen in love and am using the controller far more than I anticipated. Eucon is also surprisingly stable and intuitive.

In the UK, a Bafta Sound award winning show was 99% mix on one Artist Control. I can see exactly how that was possible now - it's incredibly powerful.

I bought one expecting to have to spend hours every day sorting it out, if you go by a lot of the loudest shouters on here. Mind you if you believed any of them you'd still be running PT 7 on a PPC....
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2014, 11:23 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,650
Default Re: Artist Series Reliable Setup?

Well hell, I might just get one before I drop 8k on a C|24 then !!!

Aren't the prices dropping ?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2014, 06:35 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 628
Default Re: Artist Series Reliable Setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
Thanks everyone. I will reinstall and give these units a fair test. I love their size, so it would be great if they worked out.
Definitely set fixed IP's for all of them, that helped a lot for me, also if on mac disable app nap for the eucontrol app and the other in the folder there.

I do wish avid would whole heartedly take notice of your comment about the size.

Even the S3 studio or whatever it will be called is looking on the too big size for me, personally workflow trumps client wow factor by a huge margin, and I'm not giving up having my qwerty and midi keyboard in front of me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-15-2014, 11:19 PM
ALSTUDIOS ALSTUDIOS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: REGENSDORF
Posts: 67
Default Re: Artist Series Reliable Setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanC View Post
Definitely set fixed IP's for all of them....
Hi

Does read a lot about this issue - I'm a Win7 64Bit user and does not really care about it.
It just does work - so probably just a MAC issue?


Cheers
__________________
****************************************
ALSTUDIOS REGENSDORF SWITZERLAND
a.l.recordingstudio.ch@gmail.com
https://sites.google.com/site/alrecordingstudio/
1pc AVID Artist Control and 1pc Euphonix MC Mix
Win7 64Bit, Cubase Pro 10.0.20
****************************************
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-18-2014, 08:06 AM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,191
Default Re: Artist Series Reliable Setup?

A couple of things. First, make sure you check 'Prevent App Nap' by getting info on the app itself, and check that box. It keeps EuCon running at full speed even in the background.

Second, 3.12 appears for many of us very buggy. I've gone back to 3.1 and my setup has been very stable.

The Artist stuff certainly can get confused with IP addresses and all that, especially in a big network environment. I have a situation where someone's computer on the Universal lot would grab control of my Artists, and NOTHING I could do could wrangle control. I had no idea where on the lot they even were! So figuring out the best way to connect ethernet to them can sometimes be tricky.

At my home setup, it's not a problem since no one else is on the network running EuCon.

So yes, trying static IPs might also increase their stability, I haven't had to try that myself.

The EuCon support is pretty shameful from Avid at the moment, all their focus is clearly on S6 and they don't seem to give a damn about the Artist series. That said, once you get used to them and get it stable, they're quite powerful and very useful.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-06-2014, 08:45 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,073
Default Re: Artist Series Reliable Setup?

Our studio tech put everything on static IPs, and we connected the Artist series to its own switch and to the 2nd ethernet connection on the Mac.

It's finally working, but if I copy a big file in the background over the network, PT beachballs frequently and Eucon starts to feel shaky.

We'll put these to the test in front of clients soon, and I'm optimistic that they'll work. But even so, they're nowhere near the bullet-proof consistency I experienced with Pro Control/Control|24/003. I've only logged a few days on a D-Control, but that also felt very solid.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Artist series with S5? microRichardsLuvSUVs System 5 3 07-22-2013 09:35 AM
artist series and mac osx 10.8? trock Artist Series 2 09-07-2012 05:01 AM
Artist Series vs C|24 Bill Denton Artist Series 2 01-30-2011 01:37 PM
CSCooper MCS Series vs EU Artist Series? GrievousAngel Artist Series 1 12-01-2010 01:10 PM
Artist Series On PC With HUI Only? Bill Denton Artist Series 1 11-30-2010 10:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com