Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2012, 01:33 PM
petesteen petesteen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 32
Default Anybody switched to a Macbook Pro Thunderbolt Native from Mac Pro Native?

I'm thinking of downsizing my 8 core Mac Pro 2.26 24GB RAM HD Native Omni setup for a Macbook based setup with an external thunderbolt chassis or an Avid Thunderbolt interface if they'll ever allow purchasing by itself. Has anybody switched to this kind of setup? My main concern is not having enough RAM and the 8 Cores that my Mac Pro has. I would be using a Macbook Pro Core i7 2.4. I think the RAM maxes out at 8GB. Is this enough? I generally don't use more than 24 tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2012, 02:04 PM
CHD CHD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Russia
Posts: 131
Default

Recently transferred my 95 minute TV drama stereo mix from HD3 Accel MacPro2.1 8 core 3GHz 12 GB RAM to a 2011 MacBookPro quadcore (8 cores seen in ProTools) 2.3 GHz 8GB RAM Metric Halo ULN-8. HD had 166 voices occupied, Sonnox or DMG audio EQ and compression in every track, 6 stereo Altiverbs, de-essers and so on, quicktime video. Everything runs smoothly on the MacBookPro, but the fan noise is unbearable for serious mixing, which disappointed me very much.
__________________
Dmitri A. Chernov
re-recording mixer/supervising sound editor/studio owner
Moscow, Russia
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2555539/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2012, 08:28 PM
SmokinBaldMonkey SmokinBaldMonkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 132
Default Re: Anybody switched to a Macbook Pro Thunderbolt Native from Mac Pro Native?

I cant speak to your RAM but this isnt a good idea yet. I made that jump to a 16GB Retina MBP, only to find my TDM cards wont work in a thunderbolt chassis (FU Avid), and so then today I bought a Native card, and While PT launches and plays, you dont get more than 2 minutes in before getting a 9171 error.

I was running 88.2, 8 tracks, no effects, no plugs. I am so sick of the fail coming out of this place lately.
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Funki - I came, I saw, I laid the stank down

System 1: Retina MBP 512SSD/16RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
System 2: Mac Mini - 512SSD/8RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
OSX 10.8.5
Pro Tools 10 HD
Pro Tools 11 HD
SYNC HD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2012, 09:14 AM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 707
Default Re: Anybody switched to a Macbook Pro Thunderbolt Native from Mac Pro Native?

I swapped my second rig from a 2008 8-core Mac Pro w/Native Card to a 2012 MBP (non retina) with the Helios thunderbolt chassis and it works great.

Only 2 issues: 1) The Helios cooling fan is a bit loud, it wouldn't be good if you wanted to do tracking anywhere near it. I do editing so not an issue for me. 2) Since it's a laptop rig I unplug it from the Thunderbolt chain ever night to take the laptop home. Sometimes the next morning I have to restart the system to get it to see the Helios after plugging it all back in. Always works fine again after a restart though.

As far as performance it's at least on par with what it replaced, possibly even a little more power on hand with the laptop. The 15" MBP can hold 16gb of RAM which is what I have in there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2012, 10:01 AM
acstctws acstctws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 53
Default Re: Anybody switched to a Macbook Pro Thunderbolt Native from Mac Pro Native?

KMcK, what OS and version of PT are you running? I have a 2012 retina MBP and my two year old Hackintosh with 002 and PTLE seems to out-power it at low buffer settings. Even with fairly light sessions with a moderate amount of plugins where my CPU is sitting at <50%, I'll get frequent spikes (I can see them in PT's system usage window) that cause errors, mostly 9171. It's solid with higher buffer settings, but I'm trying to eliminate variables and hash out what's causing these spikes. Seems some people are having the same issues with HDX, I really think it might be an issue with PT on ML, so any info about your system would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

-Evan
__________________
Evan Bradford
Echo Mountain Recording
Asheville, NC
evanbradford.com
echomountain.net

MBPR 2.6 Ghz 16 GBs RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.0
Pro Tools 10.3 HD
HD|Native + Lynx Aurora 16 LTHD
OWC Helios Thunderbolt Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-16-2012, 08:33 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 707
Default Re: Anybody switched to a Macbook Pro Thunderbolt Native from Mac Pro Native?

I'm running PTHD 10.3.2 with 10.8.2 OS. My MBP is non-retina though, and I'm using an HD OMNI, but other than that everything seems pretty similar. I never really had any issues with any versions to prior to this current setup though, other than the automation-follows-edit bug.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2012, 03:04 PM
Jazzbass56 Jazzbass56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 405
Default

I'm using a MBP 2011 quad core ,16 gig ram,with thunderbolt OWC hellios , Avid HD native card with 192 I/O sync I/O
And the system rocks
I also use my MBP with a Apollo Quad with thunderbolt which also kicks ass
I use the HD Native card in my editing room, and use the Apollo for my record mixing rig
__________________
Intel Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5 GHz Processor
ASUS X99-PRO/USB 3.1 Motherboard,64 gb crucial DDR4 ram
Thunderbolt EX 2
Windows 10 Pro
................................
2013 MacBook Pro Retina i7 Quad core, 16gb ram.
Mac OSX 10.11.6
...........
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
2.7 Ghz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
Memory 128 GB 1866 MHZ DDR3
Graphics AMD FirePro D700 6144 MB

PT Ultimate 2019.6 on Mac
PT Ultimate 2019.6 on Windows
Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Nuendo 10.1
...........
Apollo X8 and Apollo X6 Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-17-2012, 03:21 PM
Jazzbass56 Jazzbass56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 405
Default

Forgot to mention I'm using PT HD 10.3.2 and Lion OS 10.7.4,I also use a sonnet tempo sata pro express card34
for my hard drives. I now have a free FireWire 800 port to use as I need.
Also I use DVI adaptor running threw the second thunderbolt port to run a 23" monitor as my 2nd monitor and EVERY thing runs smoothly,thunderbolt is amazing technology :)
__________________
Intel Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5 GHz Processor
ASUS X99-PRO/USB 3.1 Motherboard,64 gb crucial DDR4 ram
Thunderbolt EX 2
Windows 10 Pro
................................
2013 MacBook Pro Retina i7 Quad core, 16gb ram.
Mac OSX 10.11.6
...........
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
2.7 Ghz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
Memory 128 GB 1866 MHZ DDR3
Graphics AMD FirePro D700 6144 MB

PT Ultimate 2019.6 on Mac
PT Ultimate 2019.6 on Windows
Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Nuendo 10.1
...........
Apollo X8 and Apollo X6 Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 05:49 PM
Exchange HD Native PCI-e for HD native Thunderbolt sinewavz Buy & Sell 0 06-25-2013 08:26 AM
HD Native Thunderbolt EAPEntertainment CO Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 05-21-2013 12:14 PM
2012 Macbook Pro Retina and Hd Native Thunderbolt erniepaul21 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 10-14-2012 02:54 PM
Who has switched from TDM to HD Native? Drew Mazurek Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 74 07-03-2011 01:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com