Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2016, 08:39 PM
philgrab philgrab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Posts: 128
Default Avid website displaying in Chinese

It's all Chinese tonight. I think it's Chinese.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2016, 08:50 PM
JuanPC JuanPC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 600
Default Re: Did the Avid site get hacked?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philgrab View Post
It's all Chinese tonight. I think it's Chinese.
No, you Got HAcked...

some browsers use a Proxy...
for example Puffin Browser for iPad has a Proxy in California...

everytime i try to login to Hotmail or Google or eBay with Puffin, i get a Red Flag...

this means your IP address is routed through a Chinese server, and AVID web server automatically detects that "you are in China", and Displays Chinese Characters for you...

try http://www.malwarebytes.org
__________________
--->If you don't like what i wrote:
Click: JuanPC
Click: View Public Profile
Click: User lists^
Click: Add to ignore list.
Solved.

Last edited by JuanPC; 05-14-2016 at 09:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2016, 09:22 PM
philgrab philgrab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Posts: 128
Default Re: Did the Avid site get hacked?

Pretty sure I did not get hacked because this occurs no where else but on the Avid site. Now my account there may have been hacked. But not seeing this behavior on any other web page or site. Also I am using IE latest version. Security levels set to high.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-14-2016, 09:29 PM
JuanPC JuanPC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 600
Default Re: Did the Avid site get hacked?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philgrab View Post
Pretty sure I did not get hacked because this occurs no where else but on the Avid site. Now my account there may have been hacked. But not seeing this behavior on any other web page or site. Also I am using IE latest version. Security levels set to high.
Latest Internet Explorer is Microsoft EDGE for Windows10, and is amazing fast..
Windows has a free Anti-Virus Called: Defender.

Defender for Windows7 is useless...
my father had 6000 virus, Windows Defender didn´t detect 1.

Also eats CPU & Slows Down the System...

Disable Defender, install Malwarebytes.
/Start/Control Panel/Search Control Panel: Defender.
.
__________________
--->If you don't like what i wrote:
Click: JuanPC
Click: View Public Profile
Click: User lists^
Click: Add to ignore list.
Solved.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-14-2016, 09:32 PM
philgrab philgrab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Posts: 128
Default Re: Did the Avid site get hacked?

Yeah, I don't use Edge I use IE. But yes, in windows 10. Edge was not my cup of tea.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-14-2016, 10:37 PM
philgrab philgrab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Posts: 128
Default Re: Did the Avid site get hacked?

Suddenly, after about an hour, it flipped back to English. Weird.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-18-2019, 06:39 AM
ubxf ubxf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 30
Default Avid.com in chinese

After i log in on Avid.com everything switches to Chinese. It's a funny metaphor for the fact i don't understand anymore what's going on with this company :)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-18-2019, 09:19 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,914
Default Re: Avid.com in chinese

This has happened before. At the bottom of the first page on Avid.com you can switch languages. For some reason, a cookie gets stored in a user’s computer to switch to Chinese. You just have to switch it back. Of course it is Chinese so it is impossible to tell which is “Language.” I think it is the 4th option from the left. It is the only one that when you click on it you get a drop down menu.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-18-2019, 09:38 AM
ubxf ubxf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 30
Default Re: Avid.com in chinese

Thanks, i figured out how to switch it back but it keeps changing back every couple of minutes really annoying
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-18-2019, 09:40 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,914
Default Re: Avid.com in chinese

Do you have any cookie blockers (or other ad/tracking blockers) on your browser? Check through them — they may be preventing the website from storing the cookie.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow graphics when displaying Avid plug-ins Paul Maunder Pro Tools 12 48 09-23-2016 11:09 AM
Avid website displaying in Chinese Ryan Young General Discussion 3 04-20-2016 08:38 AM
All Avid Programs Displaying AAAAA instead of Text Columbarius Pro Tools 12 7 08-12-2015 12:13 PM
Avid website clausiii General Discussion 3 01-24-2015 04:31 PM
AVID Website | Pros & Cons | Dedicated to the AVID Web Crew 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 07-28-2010 08:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com