Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-02-2015, 11:34 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Welcome FIRST!

Quote:
Originally Posted by juanjavier View Post
---I don't get it, sorry. My apologies....;-) @1,4 Ghz (even 2013 @2,7 Ghz) 2014 iMac's do not mount 12 Gb RAM but 8.
The OP said he had 12 GM of RAM. Seems you highjacked this thread. I was asking him how he got to 12. Must be mismatched RAM.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-02-2015, 01:30 PM
juanjavier juanjavier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 18
Default Re: Welcome FIRST!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Park Seward View Post
The OP said he had 12 GM of RAM. Seems you highjacked this thread. I was asking him how he got to 12. Must be mismatched RAM.
---I don't agree, sorry. I did not hijack anything, since hijacking a thread is changing completely the initial subject to that of the exclusive interest of the hijacker, which I honestly think is not the case.

This thread is called Welcome FIRST!, and is related to PT | First discussion.
The OP begins making questions about hardware. Instead of opening a new post on the same subject (hardware) and discussing about pt | first, I saw only natural to continue the same thread. Plus, if you answer right after a Juanjavier comment without targeting your comment to the OP, obviously Juanjavier thinks you are addressing to him. Anyway there is nothing wrong with it, everything's ok.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Park Seward
Don't see where Avid is listing the OS. You might want to do some searching on your own.
---By joining a PT | First software/discussion forum, that is what I am doing.

Anyway thanks for your help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by junkgear View Post
You can sign up to be notified when it is available here: ProTools First - Register
---I did so already, about a week ago. Still waiting. But I thought that maybe in the forums someone would know something...

Thank you all for your comments, but I see I joined the wrong place.

My comments are not to be taken or intended as an offense. I simply thought that perhaps I would find some help to my questions.

Regards to everyone. Peace.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-02-2015, 02:20 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,669
Default Re: Welcome FIRST!

Your guess is as good as mine as far as when ProTools first and ProTools 12 will debut
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-07-2015, 04:35 AM
JLiRD808 JLiRD808 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Honolulu,HI
Posts: 87
Default Re: Welcome FIRST!

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Your guess is as good as mine as far as when ProTools first and ProTools 12 will debut
Long time Cubase user looking to buy a new interface. Was gonna grab an Mbox or Fast Track Duo to give Pro Tools another shot.

This could be interesting though....hope it comes out soon. Wondering now if I should just buy a Focusrite or MOTU.

***Wait....will PTF be compatible with 3rd party interfaces??
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-07-2015, 08:48 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,096
Default Re: Welcome FIRST!

Pro Tools 9 and later are compatible with 3rd party interfaces
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-07-2015, 08:48 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,669
Default Welcome FIRST!

I would say yes, but to be honest we don't know yet

Because I don't believe there is any documentation on it yet
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-07-2015, 09:30 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,908
Default Re: Welcome FIRST!

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
I would say yes, but to be honest we don't know yet

Because I don't believe there is any documentation on it yet
Of course you can use it with 3rd party interfaces, Avid may be a bit "slow" with information but they sure ain't gonna start going backwards with the new versions.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-07-2015, 09:33 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,661
Default Re: Welcome FIRST!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Of course you can use it with 3rd party interfaces, Avid may be a bit "slow" with information but they sure ain't gonna start going backwards with the new versions.
Correct.

Avid does state this in the Pro Tools | First Demo video
http://connect.avid.com/Pro-Tools-First-NAAM-Demo
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-07-2015, 10:48 AM
JLiRD808 JLiRD808 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Honolulu,HI
Posts: 87
Default Re: Welcome FIRST!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Pro Tools 9 and later are compatible with 3rd party interfaces
I realize that, but licenses for PT 9 seem to still be around $200-300 and are not all that easy to find.

PLEASE correct me if I'm wrong; I've scoured ebay/CL/Gearslutz but only a little bit on the DUC.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-07-2015, 10:53 AM
JLiRD808 JLiRD808 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Honolulu,HI
Posts: 87
Default Re: Welcome FIRST!

Also...could it b true that PTF is "only a few weeks away"? A mod posted that in my other thread, but didnt say where he heard/read that.

Thought no one had a clue...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com